We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LUNCH”
Review of Polgooth Inn

Polgooth Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Polgooth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$65
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning cosy Cornish pub situated in a beautiful valley near St Austell and the Eden Project serving great food, wine,ale, and coffee. Enjoy cosy fires in the winter months and a great pub garden in the summer
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Staff very polite and welcoming seated quickly to our booked table - great choice on menu - BUT beware it does all seem to be microwaved as our order came really quickly so nothing could have cooked from scratch - except the fried eggs on one of the meals - the fragrant chicken with the biriyani was anything but fragrant - it was tough and tasteless and obviously just come out of the microwave - so although the menu looked exciting it really is just expensive fast food - shame really as the layout of the establishment and the staff are really good - could do MUCH better with a chef instead of a MICROWAVE OPERATIVE ! Probably won't go back as Cornwall has so many other restaurant/pubs which cook with more imagination.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CORNISHGIRLXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi

Thanks for your recent review. All food is cooked to order and all the team here take great pride in their ability to deliver every element of our comprehensive menu to our customers. The speed of your food arriving is dependent on other table orders which are active (and any changes within those active orders) which can result in changes in priority for the delivery of food to your table (and other tables) to best ensure the delivery of made to order food. Our team of chefs here take great pride in their food; from our heritage kitchen garden produce, the seasonality of their ingredients and our many well respected local suppliers. Their aim is a positive customer experience. We welcome your feedback and hope you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 247 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend recently visited here and wasn’t dissapointed. Really friendly staff and good atmosphere! I had the bbq brisket which was great and she had the sweet potato tagine and she enjoyed also. Would visit again!

Thank Bythesea24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi! Great to hear you enjoyed your visit. Come and see us again soon, you should try out our breakfasts on a Friday or a Saturday morning next to the log fire! Thanks again from all of the team at The Polgooth Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely vegan meal here wih greta staff and lovely atomosphere in the pub.
We sat by a roaring fire and thoroughly enjoyed our meals which came with quick service!

Thank Greendragonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thanks for the great feedback on your recent Vegan meal here at The Polgooth Inn. Glad you enjoyed the roaring fire and warm welcome. Come and see us again soon! Thanks again from The team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We arrived here on a Sunday evening just before Christmas. The pub was quiet but we received a warm welcome. We opted to sit in near the bar instead of rattle about in the dining room although we overheard staff talking about how busy it had been so we were reassured it was a popular spot. Nicely decked out for Christmas and a surprising amount of atmosphere given it was nearly empty. I had a vegetarian tagine which was exceptionally tasty. Then we shared desserts which were really good quality too. Great selection of soft drinks which I'm always happy about. We live about an hour away but would definitely make the effort to visit here again.

Thank The_Groke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thanks for visiting us before Christmas, we are pleased that you had a warm welcome and enjoyed your visit. Great feedback on the Tagine, deserts and soft drink selection. Come back and see us again soon, perhaps come and try our lovely Sunday Lunches!


Thanks again, from all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We travelled across county for a family Boxing Day lunch. We had booked and said we had Percy, our dog (of indeterminate lineage), which meant we were seated in the very busy, but not uncomfortably so, main bar. Log fire burned, large tables of families, proper pub decor and atmosphere. The place was, as one would expect, heaving. The delightful staff - mostly young and plainly part-time - were well trained, attentive and very jolly - it was the Festive Season after all! The food arrived quickly and efficiently, as did our rather complicated drinks order (2 types of gin, a Bloody Mary, and a bottle of craft beer). The menu was high-end pub food (as opposed to Gastro-pub) and absolutely delicious, generous portions (after Christmas, may have been too generous! but who cared) and well presented. Puddings are a must. A lovely find, and a lovely situation. Sadly Boxing Day was very wet so we did not walk anywhere. But it did look like lunch could be walked off via some lovely walks nearby. Will return in the summer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HugePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Polgooth Inn! The team here work very hard to make sure that everyone enjoys our warm welcome. We are glad that you enjoyed your food and drinks selection. We look forward to welcoming you again soon when you return in the summer! You may even like to try one of our outside dining pods or taste one of our legendary breakfasts! Thanks again from all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polgooth Inn also viewed

 

Been to Polgooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing