We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home, plus special Gluten Free Menu for us!”
Review of Cliff’s Edge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westcliffe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliff’s Edge Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Westcliffe B&B and Inns
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
“Home Away from Home, plus special Gluten Free Menu for us!”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have stayed at BnBs throughout the country. Over the Brim was a wonderful surprise in this quaint community. Kathy is just fantastic, and was generous in every way....accommodating the need for a gluten free menu. The food was excellent.
And her friendliness, knowledge, and genuine caring were so welcoming. Our stay started with a freak May snowstorm followed by sunny warm days. Our family loved the Inn....and we are recommending Over the Brim to everyone we know. The inn is immaculate, comfortable, and nicely appointed. And the service and friendliness are unbeatable.

Kathy, a former Mayor in Texas, knows how to run an Inn. She is great.

Room Tip: For our family, it was great to have the two connecting adjoining rooms....and the room with the big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overthebriminn, Owner at Cliff’s Edge Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Ivan, was a delight getting to know you. Thank you for your kind words and it was our pleasure to accommodate the dietary needs of your family. We hope you come again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The "OVER THE BRIM INN" is an outstanding place to stay. It is like staying at your personal Five Star Hotel. I have come to appreciate the first and most important quality for any stay are the people who run and operate the facility. Kathyand Bob wrote the book. The home was perfect with cleaniness, style, privacy and very confortable. The breakfasts, home made treats, afternoon tea with home made baked items were excellent. A home made coconut Birthday Cake was a surprise treat we shared with all the guest and even had some left to bring back to Texas. If Kathy and Bob had a BB in a tent, I would make reservation to stay with them. We hope to visit and stay at their wonderful Bed and Breaklfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielL7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overthebriminn, Owner at Cliff’s Edge Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
I am so glad we got to celebrate your birthday with you and your friends - very special for us. We look forward to having you stay with us again. . .for YOU we would even put up a tent if you really wanted us to! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The welcoming, attractive, non-cluttered decor; Kathy's delicious three-course breakfasts, home-baked afternoon treats, and wine and hors d'oeuvres at 5:30; her helpfulness in making dinner recommendations and reservations; her husband Bob's lavish gardening efforts; the views of the magnificent mountains --- all, plus more, combine to create a perfectly splendid getaway. We hope to return many times!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CsCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overthebriminn, Owner at Cliff’s Edge Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
To my new friends from OK. . .we loved having you here. . .come back again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We can't say enough good things about our stay here. Kathy was the consummate host in making us feel welcome and at home. Her attention to our restfulness was so nice; her fresh baked goodies, her warm demeanor, her lovely inn. Everything was perfect; tastefully appointed, warm, restful, everything you would want for a peaceful weekend getaway. The food she prepared was simply delicious. Souffles, fruit parfaits, lemon bars and chocolate caramel brownies. YUM! We have very special memories of our stay here. We will be returning! Brian & Kate Dolan

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianandKateDolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cliff’s Edge Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Brian and Kate,
Thank you for the kind review. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year at this time. . . or sooner when we make it to Denver!
Take care,
Kathy and Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I agree with all the other reviewers, great B & B! Kathy and Bob have put their best cooking and gardening skills on display for all to enjoy. Their attention to detail and cleanliness are evident throughout the inn. Quiet town and lovely mountain views. Do partake of the many sitting areas outside the inn. All three rooms are within its own area. Baked goodies are always available and go great with wine time. You arrive as guests and leave as friends. Thank you Kathy & Bob - we shall return.

Room Tip: One room faces the street which might not be to your liking if there's an event happening in tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyF777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overthebriminn, Owner at Cliff’s Edge Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for the kind review. . . we hope you come back many more times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2011

While journeying north through Colorado I had the pleasure of spending a few days at Over The Brim Inn in Westcliffe. Best described as peaceful and serene. I ate too much because the food was amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed to company of Kathy and Bob, as well as the other guests. If you're looking to get away for some quiet time, a little strolling though town, and some beautiful scenery... you can't do better than this!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband and I travel frequently, staying in B & Bs whenever possible. Of all those we have visited, and there are many across the U.S., Over the Brim Inn is our absolute favorite! The inn is lovely, beautifully decorated, extremely clean and a pleasure to explore. There are several indoor and more outdoor seating areas, each very inviting and comfortable. Whether we wanted a cozy corner to read or a lively meeting area to mingle with the other guests, we were able to find the perfect spot. One of the highlights of our stay was the constant suppply of delicious home baked treats, along with our choice of beverage. Kathy is quite the cook!
She really pampers her guests, from adjusting her schedule to accomodate her guests, to handmade lavender soap which gives the rooms a heavenly scent, to luxurious robes and slippers, to help with planning excursions in the area. I highly recommend Over the Brim Inn, and I can't wait to go back. Westcliffe is in a beautiful location which combined with the comfort and hospitality of Over the Brim make returning soon a must.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great,v ery quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliffe
23.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
135 reviews
22.9 mi away
Cutty's Hayden Creek Resort - A Cruise Inn Park
23.8 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff’s Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff’s Edge Inn

Property: Cliff’s Edge Inn
Address: 103 Main St, Westcliffe, CO 81252-9527 (Formerly Over the Brim Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Westcliffe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing