We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Best!”
Review of Cliff’s Edge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westcliffe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliff’s Edge Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Westcliffe B&B and Inns
Portales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than Best!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Without a doubt, Over the Brim Inn is the best Bed and Breakfast I have experienced. Kathy and Bob are wonderful hosts. The decor is lovely and inviting. The gardens hide pockets of delightful surprises. So clean. The linens are lush. No detail is overlooked, including fresh flowers in the bathroom, a tiny flashlight in case of emergency beside the bed, and lightening-fast internet. Kathy is a superb cook and goes to great lengths to make sure every guest is comfortable.

Room Tip: Kathy has wonderful recommendations for meals and activities. Be sure to ask Kathy about the history...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MesquiteMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overthebriminn, Owner at Cliff’s Edge Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you, MesquiteMaMa. . . our guests (like you) are easy to serve! We hope you will come back often and enjoy the beauty of the valley in the summer time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Our stay at Over the Brim Inn was a real delight. Kathy and Bob, our hosts treated us like treasured friends with great conversation, fabulous food and genuine hospitality. When we arrived there were delicious home baked brownies and other snacks awaiting us, then Kathy served a yummy hot appetizer and wine before we headed out to dinner, and breakfast the next morning was delicious. The rooms at the Inn are comfortable, nicely decorated and immaculate. When we arrived we discoved we had a flat tire and Bob took the tire off and drove my husband to a tire store to get a new one. You won't find a greater example of Colorado hospitality than at Over the Brim Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_to_travel33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overthebriminn, Owner at Cliff’s Edge Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Nancy,
Can't believe it's been almost a year . . . and that I haven't responded. I thought for sure I had and guess not since when I went in to respond to my other guests. . .there were your wonderful comments. Time to come and relax again . . . without the stress of a wedding! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful wedding weekend for our daughter and son-in-law in Westcliffe. Our daughter is the one who suggested we look into staying at Over the Brim Inn. What a delightful and relaxing experience it was in the midst of wedding festivities! The first thing we noticed upon driving into Over the Brim was the beautiful setting, lovely gardens, and quaint home. The minute I met Kathy I could tell that she was going to be more than a hostess! During our stay, she was so friendly and accomodating. Because of the wedding, we weren't able to participate in breakfast or happy hour at the scheduled time. So, Kathy made changes in her regular time to accomodate us! I was amazed! She is a gourmet cook, but very conscious of health issues. I couldn't believe that she would even share her delicious recipes! The atmosphere in Over the Brim Inn is very friendly, relaxing, and charming. In fact, Kathy is such a perfect hostess that she made us feel like we were in our own home instead of visiting in hers. She has a genuine love for the people staying with her. Unfortunately, Bob was out of town, so we weren't able to meet him. As a side note, the rooms are beautifully decorated right down to the homemade soap by her daughter! They were very clean and well kept, as is the entire home. Kathy told us to make ourselves at home and use the home as if it were our own! It was a perfect place to relax and be refreshed in the midst of wedding activities. Thank you, Kathy, for becoming a friend and helping us to enjoy our stay in Westcliffe! It was perfection!

Room Tip: We loved Annie's room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overthebriminn, Owner at Cliff’s Edge Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review! We hope the two of you will come back soon when you can REALLY relax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have stayed at BnBs throughout the country. Over the Brim was a wonderful surprise in this quaint community. Kathy is just fantastic, and was generous in every way....accommodating the need for a gluten free menu. The food was excellent.
And her friendliness, knowledge, and genuine caring were so welcoming. Our stay started with a freak May snowstorm followed by sunny warm days. Our family loved the Inn....and we are recommending Over the Brim to everyone we know. The inn is immaculate, comfortable, and nicely appointed. And the service and friendliness are unbeatable.

Kathy, a former Mayor in Texas, knows how to run an Inn. She is great.

Room Tip: For our family, it was great to have the two connecting adjoining rooms....and the room with the big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overthebriminn, Owner at Cliff’s Edge Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Ivan, was a delight getting to know you. Thank you for your kind words and it was our pleasure to accommodate the dietary needs of your family. We hope you come again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The "OVER THE BRIM INN" is an outstanding place to stay. It is like staying at your personal Five Star Hotel. I have come to appreciate the first and most important quality for any stay are the people who run and operate the facility. Kathyand Bob wrote the book. The home was perfect with cleaniness, style, privacy and very confortable. The breakfasts, home made treats, afternoon tea with home made baked items were excellent. A home made coconut Birthday Cake was a surprise treat we shared with all the guest and even had some left to bring back to Texas. If Kathy and Bob had a BB in a tent, I would make reservation to stay with them. We hope to visit and stay at their wonderful Bed and Breaklfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielL7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overthebriminn, Owner at Cliff’s Edge Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
I am so glad we got to celebrate your birthday with you and your friends - very special for us. We look forward to having you stay with us again. . .for YOU we would even put up a tent if you really wanted us to! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The welcoming, attractive, non-cluttered decor; Kathy's delicious three-course breakfasts, home-baked afternoon treats, and wine and hors d'oeuvres at 5:30; her helpfulness in making dinner recommendations and reservations; her husband Bob's lavish gardening efforts; the views of the magnificent mountains --- all, plus more, combine to create a perfectly splendid getaway. We hope to return many times!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CsCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overthebriminn, Owner at Cliff’s Edge Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
To my new friends from OK. . .we loved having you here. . .come back again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We can't say enough good things about our stay here. Kathy was the consummate host in making us feel welcome and at home. Her attention to our restfulness was so nice; her fresh baked goodies, her warm demeanor, her lovely inn. Everything was perfect; tastefully appointed, warm, restful, everything you would want for a peaceful weekend getaway. The food she prepared was simply delicious. Souffles, fruit parfaits, lemon bars and chocolate caramel brownies. YUM! We have very special memories of our stay here. We will be returning! Brian & Kate Dolan

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianandKateDolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Cliff’s Edge Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Brian and Kate,
Thank you for the kind review. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year at this time. . . or sooner when we make it to Denver!
Take care,
Kathy and Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westcliffe
22.9 mi away
Cutty's Hayden Creek Resort - A Cruise Inn Park
23.8 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
217 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cross D Bar Trout Ranch
Cross D Bar Trout Ranch
#3 of 3 in Westcliffe
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff’s Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff’s Edge Inn

Property: Cliff’s Edge Inn
Address: 103 Main St, Westcliffe, CO 81252-9527 (Formerly Over the Brim Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Westcliffe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing