We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your credit card”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cottonwood Suites Westminster
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Westminster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Watch your credit card”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights. After I checked out I found that I had been charged a $200 fee because I had "Smoked in the room." I don't smoke and never have. When I went to the front desk the manager said that there had been a strong smell of cigarettes when the maids went to clean. By the time I could get a hold of Bob (the GM) that had turned into that there were cigarette butts left in a coffee cup. I said that that was ridiculous and that there must have been a mistake. Bob (paraphrasing) told me I was out of luck.
I'm going to let the credit card company handle it. (looks to be a recurring theme with this place)

Room was fine, staff was polite, management not so much

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank machandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Westminster, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry that your experience was less than expected. We receive many positive reviews about our location and
most importantly our warm and friendly staff. We are under new management in just the last couple of months and your feedback is extremely important to us. In fact I have shared it with our staff so that we can provide the best customer service possible. In the mean time should you wish to speak with a member of management please feel free to contact us directly so that we can resolve the issue you had during your stay. Again thank you for choosing Cottonwood Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    24
    23
    26
    33
See reviews for
43
23
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

If all you are looking for is a clean room and comfortable bed, then you will be ok here. If you want anything more than that, stay somewhere else. The decor is very dated. There is no breakfast or anywhere to congregate on the main floor. There is no place to print tickets for a flight. There are kitchenette type areas in the rooms, but they just consist of an apt. size fridge, microwave, and sink. There were a couple of pans, but I don't know why because there wasn't a hotplate. There weren't any regular plates either. It is supposed to be a non smoking hotel, but our room smelled like smoke. The faucet on the tub was loose. And last but not least, our door didn't shut properly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Weissfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Westminster, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Mr/Mrs Weiss, on behalf of the entire Cottonwood Suites team, we would like to offer an apology for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. I can imagine how disappointed you were with your room and or the services you received, and we would love to hear how we can better improve on our guest experience, so that the next time you stay with us your stay will be outstanding. Please feel free to contact us at any time to make it right. Thank you for staying Cottonwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were in town for a softball tournament and were required to stay and tournament approved lodging. We got a late start on lodging this hotel showed up late and for $100.00 a night for about 8 nights we took it. The staff was quite nice. The rooms with two beds are doubles. They have no queen rooms and we knew that, but some of our parents were not happy about that. The room was clean when we arrived, however, the bathroom looked like it had a leak at one time and it was repaired but not fixed cosmetically. Looks like the tub enclosure was taken out for repair and then put back up without fixing the paint that was torn off when removed. There was also a huge chunk of paint that was still hanging on the shower head. On the outside wall from the bathroom right where the shower head is it was re-painted in another color. We had four people in our room and had to ask for extra towels each and every day even after the front desk said they would let housekeeping know. There was also supposed to be free internet, and it was free, however, for at least four days of our stay we were not able to connect and all the front desk staff would say is that everything was working just fine. We also called before we stayed to see if there was breakfast of any kind. They stated that they had not yet started breakfast, but that they had plans to start soon. At one point when I went down to ask a question, the signs they put up for breakfast were laying on the desk. I wonder if, with a full hotel, they just didn't want to bother, or if they really weren't serving breakfast yet. There is no lobby and no place to relax in the hotel except in your room. We had one family that had black mold in their bathroom. Another family, had not checked out of their room, but went and stayed with family for a night. Housekeeping came in the next morning and because their luggage was gone, "assumed" that they had left and forgotten to check out. When they got back their room had been given to someone else and all of their food thrown out or employees took it home. They were given another room but it was a single handicapped room and then they moved them again the next day. For a short overnight stay it would meet the need, but not for a long term stay. No pool and no restaurant.

Room Tip: We were told that the corner rooms are bigger, so would recommend requesting a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank defkolors23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Westminster, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry that your experience was less than expected. We receive many positive reviews about our location and most importantly our warm and friendly staff. We are under new management in just the last couple of months and your feedback is extremely important to us. In fact I have shared it with our staff so that we can provide the best customer service possible. In the meantime should you wish to speak with a member of management please feel free to contact us directly so that we can resolve the issue you had during your stay. Again thank you for choosing Cottonwood Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We found this hotel before we even arrived in Westminster through a hotel website. We then checked Cottonwood's actual website and found a great price ($69.99). When we finally arrive, we find the price is $79.99 plus all the taxes and whatnot. No big deal, we get a kitchen and a bed after a 14 hour drive. The front desk clerk checked us in and allowed us an early check-in time since we had driven so long. It all goes downhill from here. We go to check in early at a room we were told was ready, it wasn't. No made bed, dirty silverware from last guest, towels all over the floor. We go back down (after having hauled all our luggage up to the room) and explain what happened to a new clerk. She's very nice but not really attentive to your needs, just kind of spaces out and tries to solve the problem. She apologizes, gives us a new room (after about 15 minutes of staring at the computer). We try to go get our luggage out of the first dirty room, and the keys had been turned off. Go back down, get new keys. Go back up, switch rooms to what we were told was a "room on the end with an extra window and no noise". It's not. It's a room right in the middle with one window and the walls are super thin. The lady next to us did not have an indoor voice but that's not the hotel's problem. The hotel cleaning staff though, they need to find inside voices. Also, a tip to the hotel staff, change out the mattresses either faster, or at night when no one will see them. We know hotel mattresses are gross, but we don't want to see them. After all the room switching, and two terrible nights sleep, we checked out. Packed the car at 10:30, checkout is 11:00. Keys got turned off before we could re-enter our room. All in all, we went through 4 sets of room keys. Unbelievable. Front desk ladies are nice, but that doesn't mean anything when the rest of the place is junk.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can help it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Westminster, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry that your experience was less than expected. We receive many positive reviews about our location and most importantly our warm and friendly staff. We are under new management in just the last couple of months and your feedback is extremely important to us. In fact I have shared it with our staff so that we can provide the best customer service possible. In the meantime should you wish to speak with a member of management please feel free to contact us directly so that we can resolve the issue you had during your stay. Again thank you for choosing Cottonwood Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goochland, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We checked around 8 pm, exhausted from a long ride.we were pleasantly surprised to find a kitchenette in the room! Unfortunately there was no ice in the room, after calling the front desk, we were told to go to the 7-11 to get some! After driving to get ice we discovered there were no glasses in the room! I won't stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scampsm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Westminster, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry that your experience was less than expected. We receive many positive reviews about our location and most importantly our warm and friendly staff. We are under new management in just the last couple of months and your feedback is extremely important to us. In fact I have shared it with our staff so that we can provide the best customer service possible. Since yur last stay with us we have gotten a brand new ice machiene in the building and we do offer cups in all of our rooms. Thank you for takint the time to let us know how we can better serve our guest needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The room was so clean! The customer service was incredible! i could not believe how nice everything was for such a great price. the bed was so comfortable. i was so excited that i was able to bring my dog! i was also so excited that the hotel is close to everything i could need.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank short2chick0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Westminster, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for posting such a positive review about our hotel, and our hotel staff. We strive to deliver the best guest experience possible, and we are very greatful for you taking the time to let us know what we do so well, thank you for staying here at the Cottonwood suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I'm bummed to write this, but feel the need to let others know to beware. I reported the following issues to the staff. They were very apologetic and provided a refund, yet there were things that I'm not sure can be fixed. 1) Someone came to our room door at 1 a.m., rattled and shook the door handle. I could hear this happening all down the hallway....checking to see if anyone hadn't locked their door? 2) People propped open their room doors and blasted loud music. 3) People moved belongings in and out of their rooms between the room window and parking lot. 4) People tried to get in card-code-locked outside doors without a room key. 5) Black mold was present in our bathroom. 6) A group of people were consistently in and out of their car smoking drugs. I don't know much about that stuff, but I do know that it doesn't take a hand torch to light a cigarette.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Westminster, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Good afternoon, on behalf of the entire Cottonwood Suites staff, I would like to offer an apology for the issues listed in your review. We here at Cottonwood Suites strive to provide a world class environment, for our guest which includes being a drug and smoke free property, as well as numerous security measures that are in place to ensure your safety while staying here with us. I would love to personally handle your future reservations with us to ensure your stay goes off without a hitch. Again thank you so much for letting us know what we can do better, we will strive to make sure your next stay is AWESOME! Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westminster
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Westminster Denver North
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Denver - Westminster
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Denver Northglenn
La Quinta Inn Denver Northglenn
#14 of 19 in Westminster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Thornton
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Denver North/Westminster
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Denver North/Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Suites Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Suites Westminster

Property: Cottonwood Suites Westminster
Address: 12095 Mariposa St, Westminster, CO 80234-3413 (Formerly Savannah Suites Denver N)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Westminster
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cottonwood Suites Westminster 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottonwood Suites is located centrally in Westminster, Colorado, and is accessible from downtown Denver and the city of Boulder. Close by are attractions such as the Water World, Butterfly Pavilion, Elitch Gardens, Pepsi Center, and Coors Field. All studios offer free high speed Internet access, kitchenettes, satellite TVs and daily housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cottonwood Suites Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing