We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wheat Ridge-Denver West
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Wheat Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I have been travelling widely in the US (as visitors from Australia) - we mostly stay in hotels and prefer Holiday Inns, thus we have had a fair exposure of what to expect.
The Wheat Ridge-Denver West was not as good as we had come to expect, for the following reasons:

1) the room was very small and rathe "weary", furniture scuffed and old
2) the gym equipment was not top-line as we have usually found in sister hotels
3) the room doors tend to slam loudly (? because the spring closure system is tweaked too high), with the result there is a lot of noise at odd hours

Thus, in comparison with other Holiday Inns this hotel was "a little disappointing"

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murraygray69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENWR, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wheat Ridge-Denver West, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for providing a review of our hotel following your most recent stay. We want all of our guests to have a positive experience while staying with us and I am certainly disappointed that we did not meet not only our standards, but more importantly yours as well. You may have noticed that we are in the midst of an entire property upgrade with a scheduled completion in early 2014. Many of the items you raised are being completed on a daily basis. I hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future and experience many of the exciting changes.

Happy New Year!

Todd
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We recently stayed her for four nights. The hotel is right off the highway, so close and convenient to everything in Denver and not far from Boulder either. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast had a great variety of items and a comfortable setting. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENWR, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wheat Ridge-Denver West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

CWBERG - Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. As you mentioned we are conveniently located on the west side of Denver allowing for easy access to many areas of Metro Denver, including Boulder. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future. Happy Holidays!

Todd
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel while in Denver for a wedding. This is by far the most pleasant Holiday Inn Express we have stayed. The staff were extremely accommodating from the reservation to check out. The hot breakfast is a wonderful way to begin the day. We definitely will stay at this location when visiting the Denver area again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We recently had to be in Denver for a funeral. This is a great place to relax after a stressful day. The staff was friendly and Linda and Gordon were great. They bent over backwords to make our stay special. The room was clean and quiet even with a major remodeling being done. I will deflinately be staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We showed up at this hotel without reservations and just tired from driving all day, the staff was very friendly and helpful and a pleasure to talk to. They were very prompt about finding us a room and at a very good rate. The building was in very good shape, clean and well kept. The grounds were landscaped very nice and taken very good care of. The room was very modern and clean. The hotel was very quiet and peacfull. We went to bed pretty early and was not woken up by any noisy doors or anything. The breakfast selection was very good and looked pretty fresh, the coffee was hot, fresh and tasted like a good quality coffee. What a great stay and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Situated right next to I-70, this HI Express is so convenient for a traveling-through sleepover. We had no problem with checking in or out. The bed was very comfortable, hot water plentiful, and the décor was above standard for Interstate motels. Linda, in their guest services department, took exceptionally good care of me when I misplaced something in my rush to get back on the road. We didn't have time to try the breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was adjacent to the Interstate, but I didn't really hear the noise because I took a sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed at this property with a colleague on a business trip due to it location near our meeting. The staff was courteous and helpful during check-in and I was recognized as a Priority Club member. The common areas seem well kept and clean but there was a noticable musty odor on the second floor. Overall the room was clean, the bed comfortable and the usual dicey HIE pillows. The internet worked fine. The HVAC is one of those second-rate window units and luckily due to the temperent weather was not needed. The room lighting is adequate but the room could use some additional electrical outlets.
Morning breakfast was standard HIE. Biscuits, gravy, scrambled eggs, sausage, cereal and signature cinnamon rolls, nothing spectacular but certainly free.
Overall, good for a nights stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheat Ridge
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 8 in Wheat Ridge
148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arvada Denver
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hyatt House Denver/Lakewood at Belmar
6.2 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,126 reviews
4.1 mi away
Denver Marriott West
Denver Marriott West
#5 of 18 in Golden
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wheat Ridge-Denver West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wheat Ridge-Denver West

Address: 10101 West 48th Ave, South I-70 Service Rd, Wheat Ridge, CO 80033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Wheat Ridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Wheat Ridge
Price Range: £89 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wheat Ridge-Denver West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wheat Ridge-Denver West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Wheat Ridge
Super Eight Wheat Ridge
Wheat Ridge Super 8
Wheat Ridge Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing