We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in every way!”

Porter House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porter House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Windsor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Marnie and Tom of the Porter House B&B in Windsor were so down-to-earth and accomodating! They had no problem with us arriving early and staying late (we arranged to do so). I loved hearing about their experience buying and decorating their Victorian house- it is impeccably done, and I found it really pleasant, with lots of little knick-knacks and thoughtful touches. We stayed in the Windsor Room (added on to the original house), which has a jacuzzi large enough for two (really hot water if you want!), and a gas fireplace which warms up the room. The bed was comfortable. It also has a shower, closet, toilet and free-standing sink. The other rooms in the House are beautiful, too; my favorite was the Turret Room, which has a little outside balcony to sit on, and a cute little writing desk anteroom attached to the bedroom. The Hobbit Room would be great for kids, or people who like a micro-cottage, hideaway feeling. Marnie and Tom's dog Rusty, an Irish Setter I think, is beautiful and very playful, and we loved throwing balls for him and watching him bound around the yard. We enjoyed driving to Fort Collins at night to go to a movie and restaurant, but Windsor itself offers Thai, Mexican, and Hawaiian food (!), plus an ice cream parlor. We loved the museum and arts and cultural park a block from the B&B: original buildings from the sugar beet worker days in the 1800's. Each building had vintage furnishings to illustrate the way it was back then, nicely done. Two blocks from the B&B is a great bike path around a lake, 2-3 miles all the way around, with pelicans hanging out in the water. Windsor is a nice balance of town and country, and The Porter House is a great way to relax and unwind. Thanks, Marnie and Tom!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soundheals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Porter House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed at Porter House when bringing our Son to Fort Collins. Wonderful experience. So clean and Tom and Marni were so welcoming. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was wonderful, the coffee was fantastic! Looking forward to many more visits! As a bonus we were given excellent directions to and from CSU that saved us so much time. Thanks Tom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Porter House B & B was a very nice older house filled with period furnishings. The house is located on Windsor's main street and the our room, the Turret Room, was located at the front of the house. There was some road noise, but nothing that caused us any problems. The room was a good sized room with a small sitting area to one side and its own little balcony. We were the only guests the night we were there and were treated to a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Tom and Marni were great as was their very energetic dog Rusty. We'd definitely consider Porter House again if our travels brought us through the area in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeJerky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a lovely night's stay recently. The house is all the other reviewers have stated. A beautiful, well appointed old home. We were fortunate to be the only guests that night and had the house to ourselves. It was great to relax in front of the TV on the very comfortable couch, just as if we were at home. We stayed in the Hobbit Room which was at the back of the house and very quiet. It was also very comfortable and well appointed.
Breakfast was delicious and my wife enjoyed the best coffee she has had on our trip so far.
Our hosts were very helpful and friendly. We also enjoyed a bit of time in the yard playing with their friendly Golden Retriever Rusty. That was also a little slice of home.
We would highly recommend this B&B as a place to stay if you're in this area.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank milduratravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Named for Dr. Porter the inn was built in 1893. It is on Main Street and 6th in Windsor but yet very quiet. Yes there is a bar next door but we did not hear anything. We stayed in the Porter room which has a window facing 6th street. The inn has air conditioning, the beds were comfortable, the breakfasts were amazing. Our hosts were helpful and they put out cookies every afternoon. Lovely place to stay and I would definitely come back here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Main
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGodinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Our ladies club from Ft. Collins, CO had a lovely 'High Tea' at the Porter House B&B. The owner: Marnie did a fantastic job preparing the delicious food which included scones,2 different types of tea sandwiches, and a LARGE assortment of pastries, fruit, cakes, and of course wonderful teas. Our high tea was served on beautiful English Bone China in the beautifully furnished dining room by Marnie. She also took us on a tour of the B&B and told us the house's history. The entire afternoon was certainly a lovely experience to have this high tea in such a lovely Victorian home with such a warm and friendly hostess serving us . We all enjoyed ourselves very much and have already talked about planning another 'High Tea' at the Porter House B&B in the future!

Mona Kirkland

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monakayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2007

The Porter House B&B is a lovely 100+ year old Victorian house, lovingly restored with period furniture and decor, but very modern bathrooms, air conditioning, etc. The common rooms include a livingroom, a parlor and a dining room. The small garden is beautifully landscaped and has a koi pond that is lovely. There is a hot tub available to guests that we didn't have time to use. We stayed in the Turret Room which is a mini-suite with a tiny but pretty sitting room. The bed was excellent and the linens were high-end. The proprietors are very friendly and helpful in every way. The full cooked breakfasts are restaurant quality. One day we had a sausage and vegetable frittata that was superb, another day we had blueberry pancakes and bacon. Each breakfast was accompanied by fresh fruit and pastries (scones, muffins, etc.), The coffee was excellent. The only drawback is the location. Porter House is on the main street of Windsor which is mostly commercial, including a bar. If you are a light sleeper, be sure to book a room on the back of the house.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank Moveup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Windsor
Super 8 Windsor
#1 of 1 in Windsor
162 reviews
4.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Ft. Collins South
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Loveland - Hotel, Spa and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 31 in Fort Collins
190 reviews
5.5 mi away
My Place Hotel - Loveland, CO
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Loveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porter House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porter House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 530 Main St, Windsor, CO 80550-5132
Region: United States > Colorado > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range: £63 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing