We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent lodging”

Porter House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porter House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Windsor B&B and Inns
Delta, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent lodging”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We loved this B and B. Let us bring a cot for our son. We had the turret room which has a cute little porch to sit outside. Breakfast was amazing, coffee was great (very important!). Good location. Turret room did have some traffic noise but nothing too bad. Tom and Marnie were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fheinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Nearly every aspect of my stay was the opposite of a hotel stay.
Arrival: Parking is along the street and free. We walked up to the front door, rang the bell, and then were warmly and personally greeted with a short tour. We got the details on the workings of the rooms features and were catered to for our tastes in room temperature and food.
Stay: All necessary amenities were provided, and the quality of linens and paper products, nearly always of poor quality at hotels, was exceptional. There's something about the feel of a full-size, fluffy towel that just makes everything better. Then you get to examine all of the interesting woodwork and furnishings in the various rooms of the main house.
Breakfast: While generally unsurprising, it was simple, comforting, and extensive, with lots of great touches, like a newspaper on the table and fun wares.
Departure: Just leave the key and say goodbye. Never simpler.
Cleanliness: While most hotels provide at spotless, boring environment, the Porter House was interesting and inviting, but in need of a good cobweb sweep. It's one way to show the age, but probably not the best.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlakKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Marnie and Tom of the Porter House B&B in Windsor were so down-to-earth and accomodating! They had no problem with us arriving early and staying late (we arranged to do so). I loved hearing about their experience buying and decorating their Victorian house- it is impeccably done, and I found it really pleasant, with lots of little knick-knacks and thoughtful touches. We stayed in the Windsor Room (added on to the original house), which has a jacuzzi large enough for two (really hot water if you want!), and a gas fireplace which warms up the room. The bed was comfortable. It also has a shower, closet, toilet and free-standing sink. The other rooms in the House are beautiful, too; my favorite was the Turret Room, which has a little outside balcony to sit on, and a cute little writing desk anteroom attached to the bedroom. The Hobbit Room would be great for kids, or people who like a micro-cottage, hideaway feeling. Marnie and Tom's dog Rusty, an Irish Setter I think, is beautiful and very playful, and we loved throwing balls for him and watching him bound around the yard. We enjoyed driving to Fort Collins at night to go to a movie and restaurant, but Windsor itself offers Thai, Mexican, and Hawaiian food (!), plus an ice cream parlor. We loved the museum and arts and cultural park a block from the B&B: original buildings from the sugar beet worker days in the 1800's. Each building had vintage furnishings to illustrate the way it was back then, nicely done. Two blocks from the B&B is a great bike path around a lake, 2-3 miles all the way around, with pelicans hanging out in the water. Windsor is a nice balance of town and country, and The Porter House is a great way to relax and unwind. Thanks, Marnie and Tom!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soundheals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed at Porter House when bringing our Son to Fort Collins. Wonderful experience. So clean and Tom and Marni were so welcoming. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was wonderful, the coffee was fantastic! Looking forward to many more visits! As a bonus we were given excellent directions to and from CSU that saved us so much time. Thanks Tom.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Porter House B & B was a very nice older house filled with period furnishings. The house is located on Windsor's main street and the our room, the Turret Room, was located at the front of the house. There was some road noise, but nothing that caused us any problems. The room was a good sized room with a small sitting area to one side and its own little balcony. We were the only guests the night we were there and were treated to a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Tom and Marni were great as was their very energetic dog Rusty. We'd definitely consider Porter House again if our travels brought us through the area in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeJerky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a lovely night's stay recently. The house is all the other reviewers have stated. A beautiful, well appointed old home. We were fortunate to be the only guests that night and had the house to ourselves. It was great to relax in front of the TV on the very comfortable couch, just as if we were at home. We stayed in the Hobbit Room which was at the back of the house and very quiet. It was also very comfortable and well appointed.
Breakfast was delicious and my wife enjoyed the best coffee she has had on our trip so far.
Our hosts were very helpful and friendly. We also enjoyed a bit of time in the yard playing with their friendly Golden Retriever Rusty. That was also a little slice of home.
We would highly recommend this B&B as a place to stay if you're in this area.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank milduratravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
223 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Named for Dr. Porter the inn was built in 1893. It is on Main Street and 6th in Windsor but yet very quiet. Yes there is a bar next door but we did not hear anything. We stayed in the Porter room which has a window facing 6th street. The inn has air conditioning, the beds were comfortable, the breakfasts were amazing. Our hosts were helpful and they put out cookies every afternoon. Lovely place to stay and I would definitely come back here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Main
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGodinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
6.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 30 in Fort Collins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Windsor
Super 8 Windsor
#1 of 1 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Loveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
My Place Hotel - Loveland, CO
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Loveland
8.1 mi away
Greeley Guest House
Greeley Guest House
#5 of 13 in Greeley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porter House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porter House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Porter House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 530 Main St, Windsor, CO 80550-5132
Region: United States > Colorado > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing