We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winter Park Chateau
Ranked #2 of 3 Winter Park B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I have been to numerous B&B's and we rarely come back a second time for different reasons. We just came back for our second time to winter park chateau. We were very impressed when we.came out last fall and did want to try the skiing . We were so delighted with our first stay which included the wonderful accommodating staff, clean spacious rooms, delicious breakfast, happy hour treats and more that we wanted to again experience this ambiance. They did tell us about the skiing when we were there the first time but thankfully they did because we got our lift tickets half price if we booked through them in October and then got a good deal on ski rentals which included bringing them to us , making sure they fit and then coming back to get them when we were done. Plus being able to take the bus to the ski resort right out the front door of the chateau. Being we were the only ones there the first day the owner took us up to make sure we found where to get set up for lessons and where to catch the bus so we could enjoy our day. If you stay at B&B's enough you do get the feel for what you like and don't like and the chateau met all of our expectations. Winter park is a beautiful town anytime of the year to enjoy.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell there is no bad rooms they are all tastefully decorated
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jofirebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Winter Park Chateau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

This bed an breakfast is the cutest little place in the world! My girlfriend and I took a three night vacay here and didn't want to leave. Though we didn't ski, it is not far from the slopes at all. It's location is just the perfect combination of being tucked away off the main road and being able to walk around town comfortably. The breakfast in the morning is delicious and the entire atmosphere is unbelievably homey from the decor to the smell of the establishment. We stayed in the Breckinridge room and it had a nice beautiful view of the snow capped mountains. The only negative thing about this place is that we couldn't stay longer! Hot tub, bathrooms, etc, were extremely clean and newer and I highly recommend this place for your getaway stays! We are already planning our next adventure.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agodino2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I have read the other reviews of this place and on trip advisor I ALWAYS read the subpar and terrible reviews to see if its an actual problem or just people complaining because they, #1 didn't do their research and were expecting something different #2 had one problem and let that cloud their entire trip #3 just want to complain to complain or #4 most importantly their is an actual problem. So that being said, We were greeted the moment we got there and since this is a bed and breakfast with only 9 rooms you are NOT going to get a front desk attendent or any of the things you expect at an INPERSONAL motel/hotel. Laura and the rest of the family are all wonderful, We were there as part of our honeymoon skiing at winter park resort. and got to the chateau in time for hors d'ouerves and wine. We then went across the street to The Library and we saw the family having dinner and they bought us a drink. That would never happen anywhere else. Breakfast is a nice touch and everyone is very friendly and cordial and always willing to give you advice and pointers for first timers in winter park. I saw the train that others talk about and it goes right through town in fact it goes right next to the ski resort. I like the ambiance of it, gives it a small town western feel. as for at night, I was never woken up by it and I can't say I ever heard it in my room.

Room Tip: Remember this is a bed and breakfast and if you are looking for the impersonal privacy of a hotel/mo...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thePooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

First, before I begin this review, I completely understand that every traveler has a certain taste for what they look to encounter when they travel. It is the sum total of events and perceptions that ultimately determine the final outcome of their travel.

Second, this had the "feel" of staying at somebody's house and not that of a typical bed and breakfast. Do you know that awkward feeling when you are staying at the wifes long lost friends place from high school after your car breaks down? To start, the owners live on the property. In fact, they were in the room right below us and you could hear the TV on loud at night. Also, if you come out to the "common" living area expect to visit with the owners dad and relatives. We really saw no other guests.

Upon sitting down for breakfast everyday we were asked to move from our initial location where we would sit down. What disturbs me is that there was not anybody greeting us and showed us where to sit... and there was nobody else even sitting down! Once I can understand... but again?

I traveled here with my wife and it is her company I really want to be with. I do not appreciate when the owner comes over and sits down and makes small talk... interesting sometimes the owner seemed overly happy others just upset. Yeah.... moving on.

If you decide to stay here beware of the owners trying to up sell you one various items (ski rentals, food etc). Obviously, he has people he works with but when you say, "not interested" and he continues a sales pitch... can you saw awkward? This isn't a used car lot. We will decide how to spend our money. Thanks.

Pros

Breakfast (usually eggs and starch with a plate of fruit)
5pm hors d'oeurves
Big screen TV in rooms with Direct TV (this is a plus when you are woken up at night by the trains and ambient Chateau noise)

Cons

Carpeted bathrooms (disgusting!)
Nightly trains
Loud
Paper mache walls
Cramped
Decor for the Chateau looks like it is out of a thrift store
Odd protrusion in our shower that could decapitate you
Sheer see through draping on window. This is a problem when you are trying to keep light out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train tracks. They WILL wake you up at night. We overheard some travele...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RemembertheAlamo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wpchateau, Manager at Winter Park Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

We are very sorry that this guest didn't enjoy their stay. Most of our guests appreciate guidance and information regarding restaurant options and rental equipment. As we know the best deals and best restaurant options, we are surely a great resource. We try to be aware and respect guests privicy, but sometimes we get mixed signals. This guest was only here two nights and at the same time we had a very large party that we were trying to seat together. We didn't realize that asking them to move tables would have upset them. If so, we certainly would have welcome them to, either sit together or made other arrangements. We welcome input and try to accommodate special requests or needs. We are sorry that maybe being overly attentive might have been misconstrued.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Great hosts, beautiful rooms, excellent cooking - breakfast and hors d'oeurves are perfect ( wine and snacks). Big screen TV, some rooms with fireplaces, fall colors are here and there's snow in the mountains - don't wait!

Room Tip: Don't forget to take your swimsuits - the hottub offers a great view of the valley.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoomersGoingGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I imagine most readers of TripAdvisor would find staying at the Winter Park Chateau to be a pleasant experience.

It has a nice location and the staff is friendly--especially the managers (the owners also live there, which is a bit strange). The rooms are not large, but they are clean, and they have flat-screen tv's. The bed we had was good. We received a bottle of champaign with our room, which was a nice touch. The breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it was fine. They serve only between 8:00 and 8:30, however, so don't dwaddle.

There are a couple of drawbacks to the Chateau. The train runs behind it and might wake you up at night, and the parking a tight. We were also put off by the owner, who railed against the President during the social hour and went on at length about the NFL officials' strike. If you dislike Obama and think that unions are always wrong, however, you will have no problems with him.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plainsrefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a beautiful inn! My girlfriend and I can't wait to go back! It's a little pricey, but the town of Winter Park is not as high-priced as Vail, Breckenridge, Aspen, etc., so you can afford to splurge on the accommodations! It's a great area, a great place to stay, and the innkeepers are very friendly! If you like B&Bs and are visiting Winter Park, don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
3.3 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 14 in Winter Park
512 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#3 of 25 in Winter Park
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 14 in Winter Park
539 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
0.5 mi away
The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
#4 of 25 in Winter Park
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Park Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Park Chateau

Address: 405 Lions Gate Drive, Winter Park, CO 80482
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Winter Park
Price Range: £91 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winter Park Chateau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Winter Park, Winter Park Chateau is an upscale B&B Inn offering contemporary style with a Victorian Flair. All guest rooms offer flat screen high definition T.V's, free wifi,designer furnishings and more. Some feature jetted tubs, patios and fireplaces. Only 5 minutes to the ski resort with free shuttle right in front of the property and walking distance to all restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Winter Park Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing