We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not great”
Review of Valley Hi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valley Hi Motel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Traveling up the stairs to our second floor room, it was dark and the stairs were steep. The room was clean, dated but clean. Loved the big changing area and double sinks outside the bathroom. However, not all of the outlets worked, which we didn't find out until trying to use the microwave and coffeepot. A little strange, no phone at all in the room. I had to call the front desk from my cell phone and the staff seemed surprised.
We decided we would tay here again after all, just not have high expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    39
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
44
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McComb, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stopped on the way to RMNP and it was fine for one night. Rooms are large but furniture us old and worn. We also found our room had no AC which is understandable being they cater to winter guests. The problem was the room was 80 degrees plus when we walked in.

A small breakfast served in the morning with limited selection. If I ever pass here again I would not stay a second time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Guy at front desk was super helpful and friendly when we were looking for places to hike. He ended up recommending a great place to go. Rooms were clean an bigger than expected. Nice little hot tub too. The place looks a little old but it is a nice building. Great experience overall

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Putnut00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed a night here after a long day in Rocky Mountain Park. Arrived late, but warmly welcomed by Joe, the owner. The double queen room was spacious, with a large dining table and comfy chairs, fridge, microwave. We appreciated the huge closet/dressing area, and the double sinks outside of the bathroom. Breakfast is continental style, but with abundant good pastries and croissants, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee - quite ample for our needs. Easy to find, on the main road. Extremely clean and beautifully maintained.

Room Tip: No elevator - ask for a first floor room if you can't carry luggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Valley Hi for 1 night during the Winter Park Jazz Festival. It was a very close walk to Hideaway Park. We stayed in a Double Queen that was very spacious. There was a couch and 2 chairs with a pretty expansive closet area, microwave and fridge. The room was very clean. The bathroom was suitable. The only complaint...and this is very picky...is that the rooms should have some cooling. Maybe a fan if you don't invest in a/c. We just so happened to be in Winter Park on one of the hottest weekends of the year. We opened the window but since it Valley Hi is right on Hwy 40, we heard traffic all night. I know most times people are trying to stay warm up there. Other than that, the staff was friendly and helpful. It works nicely for a stopover or weekend trip for sure.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kblinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

If we hadn't check with TripAdvisor for a recommendation, we'd have passed this place up in favor of one of the national chains - that would have been a mistake. As noted by other reviews, this is a find and they have captured our experience nicely. I would add that I thought the proprietor (Joe, I believe) made the stay even better - he obviously takes care of the place and his pride of ownership is reflected throughout. He was putting the finishing touches on some landscaping while we were there - he was doing all the work and it looked great!

We had dinner at Dino's - highly recommend considering.

Great place - great location in the heart of the town and an easy drive to the ski area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddyjackeddy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Booked this motel online for July wkend.. Arrived to find Joe the manager very pleasant and helpful for information on the area. Room was very spacious and well kept. Plenty of room for guests, and extra space for winter gear when here for snow activities. Fridge and microwave in room with separated bath, changing area. Good sound insallation between rooms, no neighbor noises. Well appointed rooms for being a locally owned establishment. Best for walking to restaurants, shopping, and city park and skate park. Very well kept. Will stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the road, will have some traffic noise, but minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
490 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
2.4 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#2 of 25 in Winter Park
320 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Hi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hi Motel

Property: Valley Hi Motel
Address: 79025 US 40, P.O. Box 947, Winter Park, CO 80482
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Valley Hi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley Hi Motel is in a central location, right in the middle of beautiful Winter Park, Colorado. The best skiing is right down the road. The best mountain biking is also right outside our door. There are all sorts of activities, entertainment, restaurants and shopping just a few steps away. Summer or winter check into the Valley Hi Motel and experience all Winter Park has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Valley Hi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hi Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing