We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than expected”
Review of Valley Hi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valley Hi Motel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even better than expected”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Listened to reviews and stayed at the Valley Hi for the first time with my kids. Extremely satisfied. Simple, super quiet extra large room. Felt like we were the only ones there. Didn't see or hear anyone the whole time except unloading and loading our things in the parking lot. Stayed Sunday night and hope future trips on any day will be the same. Would like to have this place available whenever I want.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    39
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
44
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
209 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

So many of the other reviews summed up the hotel nicely...it has a retro feel to it, but it also has some of the more spacious rooms that we've found. We had room 19 which is upstairs (no elevator so you are carrying bags upstairs) and had two beds, a foldout couch, and a kitchen. We found it to be quite roomy with 5 people in it, and sharing one bath was not a big deal. Everything was clean and comfortable, and there were lockers downstairs to stow our gear. It looked liked it had recently been painted and freshened up, so we found it to be quite. The continental breakfast included juice, milk, cereal, muffins, and some fruit. Enough to get started on for sure! It was conveniently located and walking distance to several restaurants in town, and just a short distance from the ski slopes. The owner was very helpful...we got stuck in the snow out front and he got us out even! I definitely would give this hotel a thumbs up, and would go back next time we are there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csharp59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a basic no frills hotel. That said, I will return ASAP. It is so clean, quiet, spacious & the location cannot be beat. Joe really goes out of his way to help you in any way he can- such as discount ski passes & rentals. The bus stop is literally across the street, so you always have a quick ride to the slopes. My only complaint is about the beds- pretty hard, but not unbearable. Hot tub is steaming hot, but fairly small. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone going to the WP area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluv2goaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located just as you enter Winter Park, with easy access to the ski resort. It is fairly basic. However it is clean and well-kept. The rooms are quite large, offering a nice amount of space for families, as well as space to stow ski gear. Bathroom was again basic but sufficient. There was no hairdryer available. Room did have a functional microwave and mini fridge which was convenient. There was some noise from adjoining rooms. However, despite being close to the road there was really no road noise. A modest continental breakfast was available in the morning, a pleasant surprise.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dax K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed for two nights while skiing in Winter Park. The rooms were large, beds were comfortable, very quiet. We did not hear any sounds from adjacent rooms. The motel seems older but is well maintained. Television selections are typical cable fare from Dish networks, but then again why go to Winter park to watch TV. The owner Joe and his son Simon were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is simple continental, yogurt, banana, apple, orange juice, bagel, croissant, cream cheese, milk. Is just a nice, quiet, simple, comfortable, well maintained motel at a reasonable price. Also includes ski lockers and hot tub (outdoors but close to door, did not try but seemed very warm). If you want luxury, go somewhere else but pay twice as much. The ratings ask for fitness center ( does not have one) and restaurant which it also does not have, so I rated the continentl breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I've just stayed here for the third time after ending a backpack trip in the nearby Indian Peaks Wilderness. This is a home owned motel and the owners have always been friendly and accommodating.

I don't think that you'll find a room that's as generous in size at their rates. Each room I've had has been furnished with a comfortable queen or king bed, microwave, refrigerator, generous size towels, and plenty of space. Having real (not foam) coffee cups and real glass (not plastic) drinking glasses is appreciated!

With a backpack loaded with gear for a week's outing, I like to bring it inside. The generous walk-in closet area gives me a place to park my gear without it being in the way. If you're a skier I'm sure this can be important too. Also, there are lockers in the hall for each room that lock with your room key.

Along with the usual soap and shampoo offerings that most hotels have, there are always some extras which vary from time to time. For example, there has always been a tube of tooth paste, usually a brand name hand/body lotion, and sometimes granola bars. One stay included Axe sampler products and a Gillette ProGlide razor.

You won't find breakfast included here and the room furnishings are a bit dated, but you'll be comfortable, have a clean room, and save some money along the way. If you need only a place to sleep and to relax a little after enjoying the area activities, I don't think that you'll find a better room value in Winter Park!

Room Tip: No elevator, so if stairs are a problem ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Traveling up the stairs to our second floor room, it was dark and the stairs were steep. The room was clean, dated but clean. Loved the big changing area and double sinks outside the bathroom. However, not all of the outlets worked, which we didn't find out until trying to use the microwave and coffeepot. A little strange, no phone at all in the room. I had to call the front desk from my cell phone and the staff seemed surprised.
We decided we would tay here again after all, just not have high expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
490 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
2.4 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#2 of 25 in Winter Park
320 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Hi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hi Motel

Property: Valley Hi Motel
Address: 79025 US 40, P.O. Box 947, Winter Park, CO 80482
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Valley Hi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley Hi Motel is in a central location, right in the middle of beautiful Winter Park, Colorado. The best skiing is right down the road. The best mountain biking is also right outside our door. There are all sorts of activities, entertainment, restaurants and shopping just a few steps away. Summer or winter check into the Valley Hi Motel and experience all Winter Park has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Valley Hi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hi Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing