We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well kept and comfy.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley Hi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valley Hi Motel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
151 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Well kept and comfy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Joe runs a tidy operation and it was easy to see the care that goes into maintaining the place, which really contributed to a comfortable feeling. My one night stay was quiet and restful and, given the location, priced reasonably. It was the perfect stop for a weary traveler who needed to get clean, charge electrics, and sleep in a bed.
During the first night of my stay the wifi didn't seem to be working but by the next morning it did seem to be working OK. My room was initially quite stuffy and I should have asked for a fan. With two windows open the room cooled considerably and by morning I was under the blankets.
For breakfast, head down the the Mountain Rose cafe for a great breakfast burrito.

Room Tip: If the weather that day has been hot it might be good to ask for a fan to help you get to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    38
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
44
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting Winter Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. The rooms are large, clean, beds comfortable, and linens/towels of good quality. The breakfast was adequate. Good cereal, fruit, juice and croissants. This can be found in the back hall area. We enjoyed eating in the deck in the rear of the building. There is no air conditioning, but did not need it with windows open and a fan. It is also conveniently located to shops and restaurants. The one negative was the lack of the local TV stations. The owners are very friendly. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aroldill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

On the first day of a 5 day bicycle ride, my friends and I encountered snow riding down Berthoud Pass. We arrived at Valley Hi Motel frozen, almost unable to move our hands. Joe (the manager/owner) took control, got us warmed up, carried our bikes and backpacks into our room, then suggested we get into the shower and stay there until we were back to our normal temperatures. A couple of hours later, he offered to drive us through town to find a friends bicycle (who had received a drive down from the top). He actually closed the motel in order to help us. Unbelievable graciousness and generosity. Joes heart is huge, he really came through for us.
The rooms are spacious, clean, and easy walking distance from great restaurants. You will have a great experience if you stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here and the staff was very friendly - told us all about the local area and various attractions nearby. Room was clean and spacious. Our room didn't have air conditioning and it was a bit warm on the 4th of July weekend, but other than that - great place to stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DENVER
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights during the blues weekend. It was my first time not staying at Beaver Village Condominiums and it was perfectly adequate. The owner was very friendly and the room was nice. There was a mini-fridge and a microwave. No major networks on the TV - FOX and CW only. Everything was clean. I'd definitely consider staying here again.

Towels 2/5
Toilet paper 2/5
Internet 1/5 - When it worked it was excellent. Unfortunately it was not reliable at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brentholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pratt, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We went for a late ski trip in April, it is definitely the best deal in Winter Park. We were on the ground floor and traffic noise was not noticeable at all. Rooms were very spacious and very clean! Joe was very helpful in all our questions about the area and where to eat! Will definitely stay here again!!! It was our first trip to Winter Park. Hot Tub was great after a day of skiing! Good restaurants within walking distance. Beds were very comfortable. It is an older property but don't let that keep you from staying at the Valley Hi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GwenM1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

What everyone says about this being a really nice hotel is true!
We called ahead a few hours to reserve 2 rooms arriving very late & not sure what kind of place it would be. Well rooms were huge, beds great, rooms immaculate, bathroom had its own huge dressing room. A great deal for the price and a great location right in the middle of the mountains! Do yourself a favor, stay there! We will return when back in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crestview Place
Crestview Place
#11 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Hi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hi Motel

Property: Valley Hi Motel
Address: 79025 US 40, P.O. Box 947, Winter Park, CO 80482
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Valley Hi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley Hi Motel is in a central location, right in the middle of beautiful Winter Park, Colorado. The best skiing is right down the road. The best mountain biking is also right outside our door. There are all sorts of activities, entertainment, restaurants and shopping just a few steps away. Summer or winter check into the Valley Hi Motel and experience all Winter Park has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Valley Hi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hi Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing