We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great early-season value in Winter Park”
Review of Iron Horse Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iron Horse Resort
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great early-season value in Winter Park”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was our first trip to Winter Park. There may be better options that the regulars know of, but based on our experience we liked the Iron Horse. Is it a luxury resort? No. Is it easy ski in-ski out for all levels? No. But for a last-minute get away to do some early season skiing with two snowboard-novice kids, it was perfect, and a great value.
Overall/room: We stayed 2 nights early the week of Thanksgiving in a 1-bed/1-bath and the price included 2 adult lift tickets. If you deduct the cost of the lift tickets, we spent about $70/per night. It was one of rooms owned by the resort, as opposed to a 3rd party owner. No issues at check in with the room, but we did have to go to the village to get our lift tickets. They have an on-site ski rental shop but we ended up just getting everything in the village. Be warned you can't walk to the village or the parking area (that has a gondola to the village). It is a 2 min drive to the parking lot, or they have shuttles. This wasn't a big deal for us as being early season the hotel and mountain wasn't packed. Might be an issue during the weekends later in the season. The room we were assigned had a small bedroom with one large bed, a full size Murphy bed, and a sofa sleeper. Worked great for us taking 2 kids along, as they both had their own bed. The main bed was comfortable, though the pillows were way too large. Plenty of blankets though for the three beds, and a nice gas fireplace for heat and ambiance. The room also had a kitchen with fridge, oven, microwave, dishwasher, so very convenient for making dinner the night after we skied. We were also given a spot in the parking garage, so that was nice. Not sure how that would work when its busy though--the garage is tiny. There was a flatscreen TV in the main room, and a small one in the bedroom that wasn't hooked into cable. So plan on watching in the main room.
Amenities: Dinner at the onsite Bistro the first night was great. Food and service were exemplary, and the prices were not bad for a ski town. Nice, smallish indoor/outdoor pool the kids loved. And two large hot tubs as well (only one was open). Also has a nice work-out facility if you didn't get enough on the slopes. Our room was really far away from these, and to stay indoors you had to go up and around to access the skyway. Not the worst thing in the world, but made for a chilly walk back after the hot tub.
Etc.: Only real issue with the room was that it was next to the washer/dryer room, and someone was using it til about 10 at night. After a long day of skiing that noise next to the bedroom wasn't appreciated. So if you can, request a room away from that (we didn't know until we go to the room). I'd worry a bit that the thin walls would mean lots of noise if the hotel was fuller--there were not many people at the resort this time of year. I'd would imagine that the place could be a little cramped on weekends if they are full (the parking garage, small pool, small restaurant...)
Verdict: If you can get it for the right price and you don't mind not being right on the mountain this is good option in Winter Park, especially in the non-peak times when you are more likely to have the amenities to yourself.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms that the Iron Horse owns (as opposed to an outside owner). Based on ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramblin_Dan_1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    35
    15
    12
    12
See reviews for
43
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Let me start with the conclusion: if you have reservations to stay at the Iron Horse Resort in summer, then cancel them.
We arrived slightly after 6 p.m. at the ‘resort’ to check in. Nobody was there. The check-in desk was deserted, no people, no computers, no keys. A waiter from the adjacent restaurant told us we needed to go to town to check in and then come back. No check-in service at the place itself. ‘Yeah, I know it weird, but I can’t help you,’ were her famous last words.
So we drove to town to a place called the Clock Tower, a dilapidated building next to a 7-11. Nobody was there… There was, however, a phone, a lock box, and an ‘after-hours’ phone number (mind you, by this time it was 6:20 p.m.). When we called the number somebody with a distinct and difficult to understand accent answered the phone. He gave us the combination of the lock box; we would find our keys in there. The combination didn’t work (or there was something wrong with the lock). Anyway, this after-hours guy refused to come and assist us. We were on our own. After hammering away at the lock for almost half an hour, we finally managed to pry it open. We finally had our keys.
Once we got back to the Iron Horse, we discovered that the condos were privately owned and that some new corporation, Allegiant Management / Alpine Resort Management, had taken over recently. Apparently, Allegiant Management does not much care about its customers.
The room was old, dated, and it reeked. It took the entire night sleeping with open windows to get the stale smell out of the place.
The guest directory said there was wireless Internet in the room. And technically speaking, there was. The password, however, necessary to connect to it wasn’t available. So we tried ringing this after-hours guy again. At first he tried to convince us he didn’t know what Internet was (alas, I’m not exaggerating), then he said he didn’t know the rooms even had wifi, and finally he came clean and said he couldn’t find the password. But not to worry, he would look for it and call us back. Needless to say, we’re still waiting for his call.
In the morning we were woken up a few minutes past seven by builders doing god knows what but making a lot of noise in the process. A fitting end to horrible stay. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank johan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winter Park hotels

Hampton, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We really liked the location, easy to ski out of...but hard to ski in with beginners as the run leading to it is a steep blue. So if you have small children plan to take the bus back from the WP base area. Very nice unit we stayed in, fresh towels daily. Easy access to the hot tub and indoor/outdoor pool.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c3pon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Rated this average because as hotels go it was average (I'm in one 100+ nights a year) . First time stay at Iron Horse. 12th trip to WP. have also stayed at the WP Chateau, Founders, Frasers, Viking, and the Olympia. Based on that sample for Winter Park it's better than avaerage. Although we rented a private unit thru VRBO the front desk was very helpful with parking issues and a minor maintenance issue. The rooms are small and we have now seen the inside of four of the studio units. Decor ranged from pretty tired early 80s to very nice updated with granite and stainless kitchen, Every studio unit has basically the same Murphy queen but each owner has a different type foldout sleeper couch. So it's a crap shoot there. The Murphy we had was okay, the couch queen was not. Odd thing about the room layout is that you can't see the TV laying in the bed with your head towards the headboard. So we just tore the sheets off and slept with our heads at the foot of the bed.

The Bistro was open every night and for breakfast while we were there. Steve the bartender is great (I think he may be a part owner), The evening food was pretty okay for ski resort food and breakfast was nice. Pizza better than average. Had a different singer guitar player in there each night and I have heard far worse in Marriotts from coast to coast. I give the Bistro a solid 4 stars for effort at least.

it was spring break so we paid nearly $200/night. renting thru Iron Horse website would have been cheaper by about $60/night. That is what we plan to try next.

the ski shop is pretty small if you want to purchase clothing and gear but the staff was very friendly. Their rental process looke pretty smooth. We were there to just bum tools and they were very nice about that.

as to the ski in and ski out access. to get out you walk out the back of the resort on the fifth floor and you are on the lower corridor trail. With good wax, and holding a tuck, I can barely make it to the main base area and I've been skiing for 35 years. Add a headwind, or a fresh snow you'll be poling or skating a bit for about 25 yards. beats walking a hundred yards from Founders lugging your gear in my book. Getting in is cake IF you can handle the trails to get to the Maryjane side of the mtn. Winter Park has not watered down there trail ratings excessively and there are blues that are a bit steep, but groomed , i.e. real blue trails. if you can snowplow you can get there ( or heel slip a snow board), it may take a while. Beginning boarders or skiiers may want to jump on the shuttle.
Staying there again this weekend, because it's very convenient, so will let you know second impression

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank McChevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I went last week with a few friends of mine. We had a great time! The ski in/out access was awesome! Just a walk down the hall and your on on the slopes! Comfortable and cozy rooms.
We went to the Bistro downstairs 3 out of our 4 nights and had dinner. Great drinks and amazing food! Steve was the best bartender. Friendly and great service! Will def go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zwicka0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

This was our first visit to Winter Park and this location was perfect for us. The unit (Bldg D 5094) we stayed in was wonderful, had everything we needed and very clean and well kept. The location to the Base of Winter Park was ideal for either the shuttle or a walk. The ski rental shop is right down stairs ; simple and easy to rent . The hot tubs and pool are heated for the winter...very relaxing. The bar and restaurant are nice to have so close if you don't want to drive and enjoyable. I've read a few complaints about this place and we had no problems at all. We rented through an owner of the unit with VRBO anh the process was very easy. This is a great place for families or singles. Highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stefnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We have stayed in the Iron Horse many times over the last two decades to ski Winter Park, but will likely not be going back soon after this next trip. They used to run their own reservations. Now they have Apline Resort Properties (on the website) / Allegiant Management LLC (on the Visa statement) doing it and they play pricing games worse than the airlines.

You are supposed to get better prices reserving in advance. When I called in late Nov 2010 to book two trips - one for Dec 11-18 2011 and one for Jan 29-Feb 5 2011. On the first , they had a special "late booking" deal - $59/night. For the second, they quoted $298.50 / night. for a 2-bedroom - over 2 months in advance. This was supposedly a "special deal with a big discount - for booking two trips at the same time and for having stayed there many times in the past. I took it though (what a fool!). It was all marketing BS. It is now Jan 11 and this morning, the price for anyone on the internet was $275/night - before a 20% discount. Tonight, it is$551/night - for the same type of unit, on the same floor in the same building.

If booking through Alpine Resort Gougers, do it as late as possible - and DEMAND a *MAJOR* discount from anything they quote (sale or otherwise). Adding in taxes and fees, our 2-bedroom condo is costing us $340/night. It should probably be about $200-240.

The untis themselves are quite variable, but typically worn and dated. The last one we stayed in (Dec 2010) was dark as a tomb even with all the lights on, the bed was seriously uncomfortable and there were very few dishes. The ski-in/out access is iffy at best. To ski out, you have to pole down Corridor to WP base. To ski in, you either have to ski down Mary Jane late in the day (usually black and icy at the top, but OK half-way down) or walk uphill 100 yards or so at May Jane base. You can also ski down Lower Arrowhead loop, but the Pony Express lift is almost never open these days, so you can;t get to it without skiing seriious blacks fromt he top of MJ.

The Zeyphr is *WAY* better these days - and significantly less expensive. The Iron Horse used to be one of our favorites, but is surviving strictly on (past) reputation now. If shuttling or driving is OK, then there are a lot of better AND far cheaper places in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thisisacrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Snowblaze Athletic Club
Snowblaze Athletic Club
#10 of 15 in Winter Park
13 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crestview Place
Crestview Place
#11 of 15 in Winter Park
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#2 of 25 in Winter Park
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Resort

Property: Iron Horse Resort
Address: 101 Iron Horse Way, Winter Park, CO 80482
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Iron Horse Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance to the ski lifts at Winter Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iron Horse Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iron Horse Hotel Winter Park
Iron Horse Resort Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing