We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Iron Horse Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iron Horse Resort
Reviewed 19 January 2011

This was our first visit to Winter Park and this location was perfect for us. The unit (Bldg D 5094) we stayed in was wonderful, had everything we needed and very clean and well kept. The location to the Base of Winter Park was ideal for either the shuttle or a walk. The ski rental shop is right down stairs ; simple and easy to rent . The hot tubs and pool are heated for the winter...very relaxing. The bar and restaurant are nice to have so close if you don't want to drive and enjoyable. I've read a few complaints about this place and we had no problems at all. We rented through an owner of the unit with VRBO anh the process was very easy. This is a great place for families or singles. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stefnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

We have stayed in the Iron Horse many times over the last two decades to ski Winter Park, but will likely not be going back soon after this next trip. They used to run their own reservations. Now they have Apline Resort Properties (on the website) / Allegiant Management LLC (on the Visa statement) doing it and they play pricing games worse than the airlines.

You are supposed to get better prices reserving in advance. When I called in late Nov 2010 to book two trips - one for Dec 11-18 2011 and one for Jan 29-Feb 5 2011. On the first , they had a special "late booking" deal - $59/night. For the second, they quoted $298.50 / night. for a 2-bedroom - over 2 months in advance. This was supposedly a "special deal with a big discount - for booking two trips at the same time and for having stayed there many times in the past. I took it though (what a fool!). It was all marketing BS. It is now Jan 11 and this morning, the price for anyone on the internet was $275/night - before a 20% discount. Tonight, it is$551/night - for the same type of unit, on the same floor in the same building.

If booking through Alpine Resort Gougers, do it as late as possible - and DEMAND a *MAJOR* discount from anything they quote (sale or otherwise). Adding in taxes and fees, our 2-bedroom condo is costing us $340/night. It should probably be about $200-240.

The untis themselves are quite variable, but typically worn and dated. The last one we stayed in (Dec 2010) was dark as a tomb even with all the lights on, the bed was seriously uncomfortable and there were very few dishes. The ski-in/out access is iffy at best. To ski out, you have to pole down Corridor to WP base. To ski in, you either have to ski down Mary Jane late in the day (usually black and icy at the top, but OK half-way down) or walk uphill 100 yards or so at May Jane base. You can also ski down Lower Arrowhead loop, but the Pony Express lift is almost never open these days, so you can;t get to it without skiing seriious blacks fromt he top of MJ.

The Zeyphr is *WAY* better these days - and significantly less expensive. The Iron Horse used to be one of our favorites, but is surviving strictly on (past) reputation now. If shuttling or driving is OK, then there are a lot of better AND far cheaper places in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thisisacrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Stayed for 4 nights during summer.
Great location, close to Trestle Bike Park.
Cramped, but clean and comfortable.
Was a bit hot at night but was able to turn off the pilot light for the fireplace.
Bed - fold down, not the most comfortable but not bad
Plenty of linen
Good TV channels
good kitchen
Poor service - no one was there at reception almost all the time.
Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Some friends and I stayed at the Iron Horse for a few days recently and it was a disaster! There were electrical problems that were never solved. The waffle iron shot fire and burned the counter top, The beds didn't have sheets on them when we arrived, the faucet broke while washing dishes, house keeping came in while we were resting in our rooms and continued to work even though we were there. I'm pretty sure that there was a sign that said no pets, but there were dogs there and I am very afraid of dogs. And when we called the front desk to request another room he simply suggested in so many words that we leave.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTravelerDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

This place was a huge disappointment in my book. I booked it because you could ski down to the base from a spot on the property. True enough you could, but the catwalk was so flat in places (as so many of them are at Winter Park) that it was easier to take off the skis and walk on the first morning when I let my wife use my poles until we could get her a pair at the base. The restaurant/bar was closed for the season because they couldn't come to terms on their lease with the resort. That's a deal that has to get done under all circumstances so I blame the resort for that void. There was no bellman and no ski-check. I had never been sent to a room anywhere in the world that hadn't been cleaned until this visit. As it turns out, it was already an hour after check-in and then when I informed the front desk, we waited another hour and fifteen minutes for housekeeping to get up to the room and clean it. The dated room smelled like a deep-fat fryer from the previous guests and there were dogs in seemingly every other room on our floor. The place wasn't horrible, but it has so much room for improvement. I still can't believe there wasn't a place on the property to get a meal and a drink, especially since you have to take a shuttle into town three miles away or go down to the mountain base to get to the nearest restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SCNate09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

I have attended an annual professional meeting at the Iron Horse for over 10 years. Unfortunately, this lodging is on the downhill slide. We had a studio unit (Murphy bed) which was clean and adequate. However, there was no fresh coffee (save for decaf) and linens were not changed. We had a loud unruly group for two of our four nights and our complaints to the front desk were disregarded. The hot water in the bath/shower was "spotty".

In the past, the restaurant had a good bar and decent restaurant, but at arrival, we were disappointed to learn they had "closed for the season".

The "ski in - ski out" convenience is a plus, but is the only remaining positive for this lodging. I know that the economic downturn has hit Winter Park hard, but the negatives of our stay seemed to outweigh the effects of the economy.

I probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andaltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed at the Iron Horse Resort for 6 nights 12/27/09 thru 1/2/2010. We rented a studio condo for family of 4, Unit 6014, Bldg D. My husband and I slept on the Murphy bed and our daughters (age 13 & 15) slept on the sleeper sofa. Murphy bed was surprisingly comfortable, sleeper sofa was not the greatest (lumps and bars) but the girls managed. Sleeper sofa definitely wouldn't be big enough for teenage boys. Our condo was a bit dated, could have used some minor repairs like trim pieces, cabinet door hinges, wall paper tears. It was overall clean and comfortable. Location was right at the bottom of ski run between Mary Jane & Winter Park base so you really can "ski out" to Zephyr Lift at the Winter Park base. The ski run to "ski in" is a blue run called Mary Jane and it was hard & icy when we were there, not for beginner skiers. Fitness room, pool, hot tubs & locker rooms were all operational and very nice during our visit. Hot tubs are outside so be prepared. There are steam rooms in both the men's & women's locker rooms, very nice! There are also showers that have body wash, shampoo & conditioner so we took advantage of that since there were 4 of us sharing one bathroom in condo. There is no restaurant at Iron Horse Resort at this time. We asked about it and were told the contract fell through for this season. So maybe it will be open for summer but I would call and ask. We made our reservation on-line with company called The Lodging Company and didn't realized until after I made the reservation that our reservation was booked with an off-site management called the Beavers. This wasn't a real big deal but we had to check in/out at the Beavers Inn down the road a few miles. Also had to call the Beavers Inn & Condos if we had questions or problems with the condo instead of the front desk staff located on-site at the Iron Horse Resort. We also didn't get any housekeeping services, had to take our towels back to Beavers and pick up clean ones. Iron Horse also has underground parking - very nice! The free shuttle was great to/from Winter Park base. Ski shop staff also very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Westcolotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Park
0.2 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 14 in Winter Park
516 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#3 of 25 in Winter Park
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
3.1 mi away
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 14 in Winter Park
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Resort

Address: 101 Iron Horse Way, Winter Park, CO 80482
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Winter Park
Price Range: £91 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iron Horse Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance to the ski lifts at Winter Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iron Horse Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iron Horse Hotel Winter Park
Iron Horse Resort Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing