We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised and Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprised and Impressed”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

You drive past this place without giving it a second look. The place down the street didn't have a pool for my kids and this one had good reviews so we gave it a shot.

We got a 2 room, 3 bed suite for $79 (middle of the week in August) - awesome.

Also - the playground half a block down the street is top-notch and has a skate park.

Room was clean, had a fridge.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMA_CPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    36
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
32
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Was a clean room and solid bed and great water pressure.
Yes it is an older motel, but is kept in great shape
Family run and they also live on property
Pool and hot tub clean and working
Only draw back is small breakfast offering
Went to Micky'd for breakfast right across the street
Will stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg107e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Good clean rooms and nice facility. A little pricy at $109 per night. An average hotel for the travels. To make the Wi Fi work had to be outside the room! Walking distance to food and beer. A nice stop in the Rockies.

Room Tip: First floor rooms ,walk out to vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

THE GOOD
-Place was clean. Able to walk in and get a nice room on the 1st floor (after request) right away.
-Great location - in town near Subway, McDonalds, and shopping. Just up the street from the Idelwild mountain bike trails.

THE BAD
-Their free breakfast was minimal.

-THE UGLY
The owners (I assume owners) were somewhat short and almost to the point of being rude.

SUMMARY
-I was happy with what we got for the $$$$.....Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Went to book online for $88 (Expedia and Travelocity had same price) but walked in before booking an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trailblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

An older 60's style motel with clean rooms. Water at the shower was hot. Beds were ok, but not great. The "free" breakfast was some packaged danishes and that's it. You will wnat to eat breakfast at "Carvers" anyway, so no loss there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Tied for the cheapest room I could find in WP. Same amenities as any chain. Oldish, but not run down. Clean. Fridge, small microwave. Very hot water. The hot tub was indoors. Holds a dozen people. Not quite hot enough. The pool is small, but OK enough for kids. The pastry for breakfast was packaged. The wi-fi was OK.

The room was a bit cold. I monkeyed with the heating unit, but it didn't get warmer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyinBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here one night while waiting for our condo to be ready. I'm glad it was only one night. The room was small with 2 queen beds. It was clean, but dated with some old (I hope) carpet stains. It wasn't a roach motel, but it is certainly an old motel in need of a facelift. Courteous staff but his english was not very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mydogisfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Park
2.6 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crestview Place
Crestview Place
#11 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Littletree Inn
Littletree Inn
#5 of 8 in Granby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.6 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#3 of 25 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel

Property: Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Address: 78869 US Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Sundowner Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing