We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Cheap, and Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Aurora
1 review
“Great, Cheap, and Excellent Service”
Reviewed 26 March 2009

I visited Winter Park for the first time in years, the staff was very helpful reffering me to all the great restuarants and other businesses in the area. I even found out the best nightlife spots due to a great manager. My room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Overall the best value in Winter Park.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missessmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    38
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
34
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Family owned/managed motel. I don't give it 5 stars because the owner is very rude and unhelpful but the room, bath, hottub area is EXCELLENT. It's worth every dollar you pay for your stay.

  • Liked — Cheap price
  • Disliked — Rude staff
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatoweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2008

Very good service, very clean rooms, great location close to slopes and shopping, excellent bed, excellent bathroom amenities. Very very pleased with the experience. It has great access to the lift bus and the bus to Winter Parks so we didn't have to drive to the ski resort. the unit was quite spacious and well kept. It's a comfy, cozy place that I'd go back to again. Helpful motel staff!!! 10 of 10 :)

  • Liked — Close to ski area!!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AdamChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2008

Great location, nice clean rooms, good service, all at a great price. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zdzisek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2008

Clean room, accommodating owners. Convenient location. Would stay again.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank Eichbaumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEBRASKA
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2008

Better than great location. Easy to get anywhere in Winter Park or Fraser. Comfortable beds. Clean. Bathroom has no heat vent or space heater. Heat shut off in room when we arrived. Temp according to space heater was 45 degrees. Took seven hours to warm up. Drafty by the door. Has baseboard heat but not enough. Space heater works ok but does not heat bathroom at all. Plumbing was very poor. Toilet constantly ran unless you jiggled the handle. Shower was either just right, to hot or to cold all within 30 seconds. If someone took a shower in another room pipes banged in your room. I know you get what you pay for but this all with a little care could have been a great experience. I would not go back.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — HVAC
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RBIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2008

You can't pick a better location to stay for a trip to Winter Park than the Sundowner. On the surface (and deep below the surface, as well) it doesn't look like much, but this place has all the usual hotel amenities...coffeemaker, tv, fridge. The hot tub/heated pool is rather nice and relaxing after a day on the slopes. Just a minute's walk puts you at a great coffee shop, and the shuttle stop to the resort is not much further away (easy walk even in ski boots). What makes this location especially great is that it is on all but one of the resort's many shuttles (that means you can catch practically any of the shuttles from the resort back to town without having to wait!). There are also nice restaurants nearby (we liked the Untamed Brewery...or something like that...it had great steaks and decent brews). The only downside is the heat. We arrived to find that our room was a balmy 40 something degrees...not exactly what I was hoping for! However, after finding the space heater, we were able to warm up the room to a comfortable temperature (although a large temperature gradient from one end of the room to the other remained due to poor insulation of the window area!). I brought my own coffee to brew (remember to bring some small basket filters!!!). The seven eleven across the street will keep you well-stocked with snacks, milk, etc. We would definitely stay here again in the future!!!!

  • Liked — location near the shuttle to the slopes
  • Disliked — the heating was weak, but if you are out on the slopes or out to dinner all the time, it doesn't matter
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jml_virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.6 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
504 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#8 of 15 in Winter Park
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winter Park
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valley Hi Motel
Valley Hi Motel
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#2 of 25 in Winter Park
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel

Property: Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Address: 78869 US Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Sundowner Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing