We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shows its age, but nicer than expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lion's Gate Pine Lodge

Lion's Gate Pine Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winter Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lion's Gate Pine Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shows its age, but nicer than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for one week on the side of the building facing the train tracks (mentioned by everyone else). Never got woken up by it and really didn't find it to be that loud at all, even during the day when trains are more frequent. One of the toilets got backed up, but they fixed it within 15 minutes (probably because we stayed at an off-peak time). They change towels on Tuesdays, but otherwise it's up to you for cleaning. There are also some travel-size toiletries provided (shampoo, conditioner, lotion). The living room furniture also seemed to be fairly new, comfy couches for after the slopes. Overall it exceeded my expectations (though they were pretty low given some of the reviews on here). Certainly not 5 star accommodation, but also not nearly as bad some reviews suggest.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TnnsBrvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My biggest complaint was the age of the building, and that it has very thin walls. The resort was pretty full and kids were running around all the time. The train is an issue, but if you are going to stay in Winter Park, the train tracks runs all along the west side of US-40, or Main Street. We stayed one hall way away from the tracks and the passing train woke everyone in our unit at least once.

The resort itself is nice. Good hot tub (2 actually), working outdoor pool in the dead of winter, sauna, and the kids loved the rec room, which had a pool table, ping pong, fussball, and air hockey. The kitchen is better stocked with cooking utensils than any other resort I have stayed at. Gas fireplace was a great bonus. As others have mentioned, the location is great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lib88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Nice furniture and decent location...BUT limited parking in dirt and gravel lot. Had to climb 3 flights of stairs with heavy luggage and supplies...Trains with whistles come by about avery 30 minutes at night (like midnight on) toilet broke...they wanted us to clean up the carpet, etc...we told them they could it. Broke again later that night...Chip, the after hours guy,had to be called twice - he asked if we couldn;t wait until morning. Stairs and floors creaked, only 1 tv for 6 of us...pool did not work and the gas fireplaces could not be used...Fitness center was 2 miles away...no one to help on premises..had to go several blocks to a storefront. Try another place....I would NOT go here!!!

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cassie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winter Park hotels

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Best place to y if your ever in winter park, also easy access to the alpine slide( just down the road)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jerm1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

i like that it was close enough to main st. to go for a walk w/ a stroller, the people were pleasant, the room was just fine, & if there was a train, i didnt really notice it. i like how close the room was to the pool, i loved the hot tub room. im going to look into purchasing a time share there because my family & i had a good time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deirdre2833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

My parents have a timeshare condo here that they get for 1 week every year (same week every year) and they've had it since before I was born (they probably bought into the timeshare in about 1980 or so). We've gone up almost every year for at least the weekend, though usually not much more than that. I have always enjoyed it. It isn't the nicest place, but it's comfortable - they updated the living room furniture a couple of years ago ('07 or '08, I think) which definitely made it look a bit homier and less outdated.

They have a game room, which my brother and I used to use constantly, but I haven't been in it for a few years. The hot tubs and pool are great - outdoor pool, so make sure to cover it up when you're done! - but I don't like saunas so I can't tell you how it is. They didn't used to have a DVD player but they added one about 5 years ago (they do at least attempt to stay up-to-date) and while the TV isn't massive and flat-panel, it does the job, so we enjoy watching movies in the comfy couches next to the fireplace :). One of our favorite things is pulling out board games/cards & playing on the dining room table - this is the perfect atmosphere for that!

I saw lots of complaints about train noise - that must be just on certain sides of the building, because it really surprised me! I have NEVER noticed a train while staying there - maybe I heard it and didn't register it, but it has certainly never been enough to bother me! We have an inside room (balcony to the pool), so maybe that makes a difference.

This is definitely a good place for families with kids and young teens as well as travelers who aren't picky about lodging - when we go elsewhere with friends we like to find places with nice entertainment centers and that are fairly up-to-date, bu

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Song7_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Grove, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2007

We found Lions Gate an excellent experience. Convenient to Winter Park shopping and dining, just a block from Hwy 40 and all that Winter Park has to offer. The Winter Park shuttle system stops directly in front of the property and is staffed by friendly and helpful drivers. The facility is clean, our unit well appointed, spacious, and the gas fireplace a wonderful addition to the total experience. Occaisional passing trains added to the ambience of the total high country western experience. We recommend this property to skiers and vacationers seeking comfort and convenience.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Noisy exhaust fans in bathroom
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank docjdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.8 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 15 in Winter Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
#3 of 25 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Gate Pine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Gate Pine Lodge

Property: Lion's Gate Pine Lodge
Address: 55 North Lions Gate Drive, Winter Park, CO 80482
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion's Gate Pines is a private, self-contained condominium complex, ideally located in the center of downtown Winter Park, just one block from Main Street and the free shuttle pick up. This 25-unit property consists primarily of 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom condos, and some 2-bedroom, 1-bedroom units. Common area amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool. Inside, guests can enjoy two hot-tubs, saunas, game room and a coin-operated laundry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lion`s Gate Pine Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing