We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place in Town . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
“The Best Place in Town . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

In short the Best Western Aplenglo Lodge is one of the very best places you can stay in Winter Park. The lodge staff are second to none. From the property owner to the house keeping staff each member of the team shares the general managers’ goal to ensure that your stay is a comfortable one.

The lodge looks as new as the day it was built and if the team look after their hotel this well, can you imagine how the staff are going to look after you?

The lodge offers both quality and value which in my experience the others can’t match.

The lodge is the perfect base from which to vacation in the area.

The rooms are large with the most comfortable beds in town. You can even buy the bed if you like it.

Most rooms have two queen size beds, table & chairs, dresser set, large TV, microwave, fridge, wardrobe, phone, alarm clock, coffee machine with supplies of beverages, ice bucket and a decent hairdryer. There’s two dedicated handicapped rooms with single king size beds and lots of space. There’s also a family suite and interconnected rooms for larger groups.

Each room has its own AC/heater unit which you can easily control with the thermostat.

The bathrooms are clean with a mountain of towels in different sizes and endless amounts of hot water. The hotel provides soaps, shampoos etc and also has guest kits if you’ve forgotten your essentials and don’t have the energy to run to the stores.

The rooms have windows that face up the valley towards the mountains or down the valley towards Fraser. Both views are attractive so don’t worry about which side you get. It’s all good.

The breakfast is included in the price saving a small fortune. The helpful staff ensure that the stock is always fresh, well presented and abundant. They seldom seam to run out of anything. Eggs, pancakes, sausage, cereals, breads, bagels, donuts, porridge, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, jelly, peanut butter, cream cheese, juices, teas, coffees. There really is something for everyone.

Within the lodge there are vending machines filled with good quality snacks and drinks plus ice machines.

The hot tub is out the back and is large enough for 8 people. It’s open from 10am till 10pm and is the perfect way to rest the body after a hard days play.

Within the lodge there are vending machines filled with good quality snacks and drinks plus ice machines.
Location is everything and in this case you are seconds from the bus stops, car parking, shops and restaurants.

I really can’t say enough about this accommodation and the staff that work here. A home from home? You bet . . . :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are good . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crash_Rescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    199
    70
    13
    10
See reviews for
169
180
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Alpenglo for two nights as part of touring ski holiday in Colorado. Delighted! A very welcoming place and great value. Staff were really helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom had everything we needed, very clean. Buffet breakfast had plenty of choice, including waffles and other hot dishes, there was plenty for everyone - yes, it was a bit of a squeeze at certain times but never a problem.

The shuttle bus stop is just outside, about 10 minutes to Winter Park, and they run every 15 minutes or so. Winter Park offers great ski-ing, friendly atmosphere, lots of bumps if you want them, and we were lucky to have masses of fresh snow. At first we trailed through the resort from the shuttle bus stop to the lifts, but later found out that there is another shuttle called Willies, handy to know.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyAlyAly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Was assisted by Jeff who had just terrific customer service! This type of customer service should be a model for all hotel employees and what ensures guest on returning. Thanks jeff!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c42no06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for a weekend in February to snowboard in Winterpark. The hotel location was great - walking distance to a lot of bars and restaurants even in the cold. The staff were wonderful as well - they gave us good info about the area and seemed genuinely happy to help. Breakfast was nice and had a lot of options. There were a lot of people during breakfast all at once so it was busy, but that's what happens in the morns during ski season. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, hot tub was nice. All in all it was a great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suza377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Stayed here on a ski weekend. Check-in was good, room was clean. Bed was extremely comfortable, one of the better mattresses I've slept on in a hotel. Breakfast was better than expected although the seating area was very crowded. There are only three tables. Might help to open up a room for eating instead of just the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melliott001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

The only reservation we had about our stay here (two nights), were the breakfast arrangements. There was plenty of food, but the sausage patties and egg were frozen, requiring micro-waving before consuming. Same for the bisquits. IF they continue this way, the microwaves need to be accessible without blocking someone trying to fill their plate. Other motels we've visited had the sausage, eggs, bisquits already hot and kept hot over steam trays. Much more convenient, especially since this motel caters to skiers and skiers usually come in groups, making for a very busy breakfast area. The rooms are well maintained, the hot tub is great (although it could use a few more jets). The walls are a trifle thin, making for some disturbance from the noisier guests. All in all, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWW-Triker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

we have visited Winter Park for cross country skiing for the past 8 years but had not tried the Alpenglo Lodge before--it turned out to have everything we needed----recent renovation--comfortable beds, although room and bathroom were on the small side--better than average breakfast with hot items--nice hot tub--friendly helpful staff. Lobby does not have enough tables for breakfast--it would be a good idea to have a separate room for breakfast. No pool. Not sure if any exercise equipment available--we got enough exercise skiing.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cellodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.8 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#4 of 25 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
Address: 78665 US Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpenglo Hotel Winter Park
Best Western Winter Park
Winter Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing