We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Park Summer Activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, United States
1 review
“Winter Park Summer Activities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Winter Park is gorgeous and laid back -- my favorite of the Colorado "ski towns." Alpenglo was the perfect location -- right in the middle of all the summer activities we had planned -- and right near almost any kind of food you'd want! We walked everywhere. The desk clerk made thoughtful recommendations for attractions that you might not find in the travel guides, but were of definite interest. Awesome, caring staff; good, hot breakfast of sausage and eggs along with many "continental" favorites. The lobby also offerred surprisingly good coffee. The rooms were spotless and roomy; the setup was very functional. The value was exceptionally good. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    199
    70
    13
    10
See reviews for
170
180
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Craig, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The service was great from the moment we walked in. Great location, friendly employees, very clean facility, able to walk to a variety of activities and restaurants. This hotel exceeded all of my expectations and more!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Mn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were referred to Winter Park by a friend as a destination to enjoy on our family vacation. We were lucky enough to find a room on short notice, and the Alpenglo did not disappoint. Nice hotel and nice people in a great vacation spot!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our trip to Winter Park was very last minute and we looked all around before calling here. The rate was comparable to all other places and it was located so that we didn't have to drive anywhere. There was a cool park very close by and a path by the creek. The breakfast was a little crowded, but the gal kept everything stocked and it was very good with waffles, sausage and eggs as well as the usual continental stuff. The room was clean and the air conditioning worked like a champ. All in all, this is the place I will stay whenever I am in Winter Park. The only thing that would change that would be a pool elsewhere, but it seemed there wasn't really any to be had in that town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micaelasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We are thrilled to be your destination of choice in Winter Park. Many value our central location, competitive rates and expansive "hot" breakfast with protein items as well as "carbs". While we do not have a pool, our large 14 person hot tub is a welcome stop for our many guests who are outdoor enthusiasts - - - soaking their tired muscles after experiencing our vast outdoor play land. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eudora, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

It was nothing fancy, but extremely clean and up-to-date decor, with a super friendly staff. We were very happy there! The bed was comfortable as were the pillows (we had brought our pillows from home because we normally hate hotel pillows!...But we ended up not needing them.)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
I'm so pleased you had a great stay! Our beds and pillow get rave reviews to the point where guests have actually asked where we bought them so they could get their own. We are only too happy to provide that information upon request. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a good hotel for the price. It's in the heart of Winter Park, with shopping and restaurants nearby. The exterior and hallways are dated and nothing special- but the rooms are nice, and the beds, linens, and pillows are wonderful! - just what I needed after a very long day. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Our property is constantly undergoing renovation, with the focus being the comfort of our guests - - - such as newer beds, flat screen HD TVs and high thread count sheets and towels. Believe me, the hallways and exterior are "on the list", but first things first! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The maid happened to clean our room during our stay and my bracelet happened to go missing during this time while we were on a nice hike. The staff did nothing to help insisting there was nothing they could do to help. They said the manager was off and it was our fault. The maid responded sketchily and offered no insight as to her innocence. Please people do not stay here. There are much better places in this town. I will never forgive nor forget this hotel for stealing a valuable possession to me and not even offering consolation. Lock your things in the vault if you do. This hotel is not to be trusted!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westward32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
I am very sorry your bracelet went missing during your stay, but take offense to the accusations against my very loyal and hard working staff. Contrary to your comments, we did a full search for your bracelet, which included the housekeeper, our room inspector, our laundry staff (searching all laundry processed that day), but did not find your bracelet. FYI, our very professional housekeeping staff has an average tenure of 8 years and all new hires are subject to a background check. My hope is that you find your bracelet somewhere in your belongings and have the courtesy to remove this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.8 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#4 of 25 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
Address: 78665 US Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpenglo Hotel Winter Park
Best Western Winter Park
Winter Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing