We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a getaway, value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed overnight with friends twice in the spring for overnight ski getaways from Denver. It's got what you want, a good reservation system, fair price, good location, free breakfast and helpful staff. The hot tub worked and was uncrowded, the soaps in the bathroom are nice, and the front desk staff was very helpful, even recommended a place nearby for a burger and beer. We had no problems and would stay again.

Room Tip: When you reserve online, the system for some reason books you into a 'pet friendly' room. Yo...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChaseSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located right on the Main Street that goes through Winter Park, so it is close to lots of restaurants. Also, the stop for the free bus to the Winter Park Ski Resort is right across the street. The room is rather small, but the beds are comfortable, and there is plenty of room to relax on the comfortable sofa and chairs in the lobby. There is also a very good hot breakfast to get your day off to a good start. Winter Park is at an elevation of 9,100 feet; so if you are not used to being at high elevations, be sure to read up on "altitude sickness" before you arrive so that you can take the right precautions and enjoy your stay!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank teacherkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Best Western Alpenglo was very good. Warm breakfast was very good, room and bed were very good, staff were very friendly, hot tub was very good, rate was very good. Location was safe and central. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank MikeMcAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Came to this hotel on a school trip for a week and the staff here couldn't say no to your requests. They are so good at their job and very polite! The breakfast that was served was good but I think it could change on a daily basis. I also liked the scheme were the hotel will provide you with complimentary items that you may have left at home like a toothbrush or shower gel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MatthewBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

If you don't have a dog, you skip through the first paragraph. We have two dogs and travel with them often. We normally stay at the Vintage Hotel, but they were booked, and Best Western Alpenglo website said they took dogs. I've been to a lot of hotels where they make you sign a waiver, but none like the one they had me sign. It was almost threatening in its language, and basically said if your dog made one peep (or bark), or one guest made any kind of complaint, you would immediately be asked to leave, with no refunds or questions asked. We were terrified to even leave the dogs in the room while we went to our car to get out the luggage.

Again, if you don't have dogs, you might like this policy, but if you do have dogs, I would skip this place.

Ok, rest of review -- room was ok, bed mattress felt worn out, not very comfortable. Breakfast was ok, powdered eggs, frozen sausage patties, waffles. Not enough seating for breakfast, we had to carry food back to our room.

The morning staff attending the breakfast area was very pleasant and cheerful -- kudos to them. The evening front desk staff seemed bored, like they didn't want to be there.

Particularly because of the issues with our dogs, but even without them, I wouldn't stay here again. Just average in my opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesliegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We made a last minute Ski trip and found last minute reservations at the Best Western Alpenglo Lodge. We were impressed at how nice and clean things were and how it was a convenient a location. The front desk and others were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay and would Definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pendav_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel was recently renovated. Rooms were clean had everything we needed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice and convenient and the gentlemen over seeing it was always asking people how they were doing and if we needed anything. The shuttle running to the ski resort is very convenient and easy. They have a ski rental place right in the same parking lot which made it go very smoothly. The only thing was they don't have a pool but definatly not a deal breaker since they do have a nice hot tub. Plenty of restaraunts in the same area and easy to get to. would stay again on our next ski trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank mollys461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Park
2.8 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 14 in Winter Park
512 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 14 in Winter Park
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 14 in Winter Park
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Alpenglo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Alpenglo Lodge

Address: 78665 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range: £76 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Alpenglo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Alpenglo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpenglo Hotel Winter Park
Best Western Winter Park
Winter Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing