We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1980's retro heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“1980's retro heaven”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We just returned from a weekend at the Viking Lodge. Our group of 8 people fit comfortably into the Alpine Suite. It was a really cool loft/large apartment and for $150 a night with 8 people and a full kitchen ... how could you beat that? Let's be very clear, this is a place to crash out for the time you are in Winter Park. Our room was very clean, but it was more than dated and everything from the decore to the kitchen appliances was from the early 80's. The photo posted here on tripadvisor is a shot of the mini mall across the street from the hotel, so don't be shocked when you roll up. Overall, we were happy with our stay. There was free parking, amazing location and in the heart of downtown, and we were able to utilize the full kitchen to the max. There is not a swimming pool and the hot tub was a little questionable. My vote ... I would stay here again. Only next time, I would make sure to pack my leg warmers/neon pink ski onesie and just go with it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessCO31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    32
    23
    11
    16
See reviews for
37
45
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed three nights at the Viking Lodge. The first night we were in the Nordic Queen room. The room was very small but cozy. We only spent one night in that room as there was some problems with noise from a chimney flue or duct working or something?? that hindered a good night's sleep. We talked to management and they were very very accomodating. They moved us to another room. This room was much bigger, had a king bed and a mini fridge. Very nice! The whole place is old but very clean. There could be some cosmetic work done to the rooms/building but when you are going up to ski and don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room, this place is a good stay for the money. We utilized the outdoor hot tub once but never made it to the ping pong table.

This hotel is convenient to the Winter Park Ski Resort. Also, the Crooked Creek shopping center is right next to it. We ate at the Back Country Grill one night and The Bistro another night. Both were very good and across the street!

Room Tip: Avoid the Nordic Queen - Room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBlazek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Thank you Thank you, Viking Lodge. Needed a place to rest my weary body, recouperate, then head back to the mountain.

After a night in the jacuzzi, sauna, refreshing shower, I slept like a baby, then headed back to the mountain for another day of punishment.

If you're looking for Ritz accommodations, stay @ the Ritz. If you're looking for value, cleanliness and great location, Viking Lodge is your place of choice!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNatural1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We had 4 beds for 4 of us...that was a big plus in choosing to stay at the lodge. The atmosphere is great, and the staff are top notch. With 2 beds upstairs in a loft, the size of the room left us more comfortable for space than the slightly larger hotel rooms we've used on previous ski trips at WP. There isn't enough space to eat in the room, but the office lounge is a good place to microwave sandwiches and munch a breakfast in front of a fireplace. Wifi for our laptop was good, but be sure to get the code before the office closes.

Things that would make the lodge nicer include:
- The beds have seen better years and were uncomfortable enough to interfere with sleeping. This was the biggest complaint from the kids--new beds are overdue
- A continental breakfast to go with the coffee/cocoa/tea would have been a nice perk
- Gameroom/Sauna and Microwave oven were sometimes locked too early (around 9 pm), which is the time when we wanted access
- Hot tub was adequate for 2 or 3 people, a bigger tub would be better
- Snow cleanup at 6 am was impossible to sleep through, but I doubt the city would make any change in their cleanup procedure
- Police across the street seemed to love playing with their sirens, but I doubt the cops would make any changes even if you offered them a box of donuts to quit testing their toys
- The loft has no power outlets, but we had a power cord. If you need power for games or phones, bring your own cord

Overall, I would have rated the lodge 4 (very good) if the the beds were not worn out. We'll consider coming to the lodge again next year, though an equal priced condo will probably win our vote due to the comfort concerns.

If you are looking for a Hilton type place, this isn't it. If you enjoy B&Bs, or lodging with personality, the Viking Lodge is a good place to try out.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dad_plus_three_teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I think this place must be one of the cheapest places in winter park. Yes, it is fairly basic but it is clean and has everything you need (a bed, a bathroom and a gear locker). Location is brilliant - right on Coopers Creek Square, so all shuttle buses stop nearby. Free wifi too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellywally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2009

So many good things out weigh the bad. To start, location, location, location, walking distance to most of the town. For the ski route its the last stop being picked up and the first one to be dropped off. Also there are about 5 different route buses you can take so you never have to wait when you get off the slopes. The rooms were very clean. All the staff was freadly and very helpful. For the dollar the room was great with enough room for a weeks worth of skiing and snow boarding for two people. My two complants are the hot tub needed some fix up and the drawers in the dressers were missing handles and falling appart. So to sum it up if your looking for a high class 5 star place to stay look somewhere else but if you want to a place to stay on a budget then this is the place to stay. If I make the trip out to Winter Park again I will be staying at the Viking!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windyiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2008

I was travelling alone just to ski not for 5 star amenities. The room I was in was small but only $50 when everywhere else in the area was over $100. The front desk staff was very helpful with tips about good deals for dinner and good ski stashes on the mountain. I would recommend this place to skiers who want an inexpensive no frills place and not snobs who should go to aspen anyway.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank denverblackdiamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
489 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Snowblaze Athletic Club
Snowblaze Athletic Club
#10 of 15 in Winter Park
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crestview Place
Crestview Place
#11 of 15 in Winter Park
6 reviews
2.5 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#2 of 25 in Winter Park
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop

Property: The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
Address: 78966 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You get what you pay for… Located in downtown Winter Park, the Viking Lodge and Ski Shop is an icon in Winter Park. Since 1953 we have been providing affordable lodging to guests who just want to ski and have a great time. At The Viking Lodge you get what you pay for. The carpets are old, the walls are thin, and the TV’s are not flat screen. But we won’t break your budget; we offer cheap accommodations in an old ski lodge at a great location in downtown Winter Park. We have 21 rooms; from VERY small to apartments. All rooms have private baths and color televisions; box style televisions, yes they are old TV’s, but you should be outside not sitting in your room watching TV. Pool, gym, ice sculptures, room service, robes, bell boys, 24 hour front desk, spa – this is a list of stuff we don’t have. We do have clean rooms, a great downtown location, game room, friendly staff and the best dirt parking lot in Winter Park. We don’t do daily maid service or mints on pillows, but if you ask we will clean your room and find a mint somewhere. If you’d rather be surfing the web than skiing, riding, biking, hiking, reading, chatting with friends or meeting new ones, you’ll be pleased to know that we have Wi-Fi in the lobby. I suppose some have to work anyway. You can make use of our luggage room before check-in and after check-out. Our reception is not open all day (heck we would rather be outside skiing, riding, biking or hiking too) but no fear, we will leave directions for check-in; usually at the Ski Shop or T-shirt shop. If you will be arriving after hours (like 6PM) please call. Coming soon The Viking Lodge is a work in progress; despite all attempts to the contrary we are becoming more impressive on a daily basis. Some rooms even have tile in the bathrooms, new sinks and fancy bedspreads and curtains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Lodge And Management Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing