We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pikes Peak Paradise Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After a very difficult week of loss, my husband and I needed to get away ... and quick. We were lucky to get the last room at Pikes Peak Paradise Bed and Breakfast.

We arrived well after dark, and since I was relying on gps instead of Ron's emailed directions. We got lost. After a 30-minute adventure, we pulled up to the B&B. We were greeted warmly by Ron, who offered us yummy dessert and wine. He had our hot tub ready to go.

The room was quite comfortable. (Although the pillow choices weren't to my taste--either firm and flat or squishy. I travel with my own pillow because I'm picky like that.) The hot tub was a great touch. We picked a DVD from the collection that looked like the inventory of Blockbuster and got a great night's sleep.

We enjoyed breakfast on both mornings of our stay. I generally eat gluten free (except when faced with brownies), and Ron was kind enough to make me a crustless quiche, and offered gluten free waffles. The fruit and yogurt parfait was yummy. The B&B was full, but we didn't feel obligated to socialize. Ron was as involved as we wanted him to be, and that's a nuance that many proprietors don't understand.

We spent the day relaxing on the wide porch that overlooks the Pikes Peak and also down on our private balcony and walking around the beautiful property. (Our chairs were terribly uncomfortable there--old metal things. Other rooms seem to have comfier options.) We also drove to the top of Pikes Peak (a first for two Colorado natives!), then grabbing lunch in Woodland Park (stay away from Casa Grande. It was downright NASTY). We picked up dinner at City Market, then headed back to our room for more reading, relaxing, etc.

There are details Pikes Peak Paradise could improve that would make me feel like we got a luxurious accommodation (which, when paying $225 a night, is what I expect):

* Our room seemed to be in the middle of a renovation of sorts. The paint was mismatched and there were a few areas that definitely look DIY vs professionally done.

*The bathroom is not horrible (it's clean) but it's not nice either. The soap dispenser felt like a gym's. It would be lovely to have soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion -- maybe from a local artisan--instead.

*The chairs on the balcony were not inviting at all.

*We never did figure out how to watch regular TV. Not that it was a bad thing, necessarily. But a set of instructions would be nice to have (we didn't find one but it may have been there).

Again, little details (but little details are what take things up a level). Honestly, the changing view of Pikes Peak from our room made up for every one of these.

The trip was just what we needed. It was a pleasure.

Room Tip: I doubt there's a bad view in the whole place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Absolutely the most relaxing escape we have had to date - I sincerely wish we had stayed another week. It was just total peace and quiet. Incomparable view. Amazing hospitality. Located close to town and to local tourist attractions. Every morning we were greeted with a breakfast that we still talk about weeks later. We are actively searching for a waffle maker that will make heart shaped waffles, just so we can have a keepsake of our time at PPP. We can't wait until next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a great hideaway for a weekend treat! The view is unbelievable! Colorado has a lot to offer in the area like the nearby fossil beds and historic gold mines along with hiking.

Ron is a wonderful, welcoming host and he definitely keeps you well fed (from the fabulous breakfasts to the afternoon snacks to the anytime ice cream). We truly enjoyed our stay in woodland park at Pike's Peak Paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn_B33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pikespeakparadise, Owner at Pikes Peak Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. Glad you loved Pikes Peak Paradise and the wonderful view of Pikes Peak of course. Hope to see you both back again soon. Take Care, Ron of Pikes Peak Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We chose it due to it's location close to the peak. After a somewhat harrowing ride down that unpaved dirt road...( come on we are city folk after all, give us a break, don't hate ) . We turned into a very beautiful space with a home that looks like a mini Tara from Gone With The Wind ...Ron the proprietor..was just exiting the door and came to our car to greet us , like we were old friends. We felt immediately comfortable and welcomed. We went inside and Ron saw that I was having a bit of altitude sickness after riding to the top of Pikes Peak...he went into help mode and got me two big glasses of water with some liquid Oxygen drops ( I highly recommend them and ended up buying a bottle at "Hole in the Wall " natural supplements shop in town ) and I felt better soon enough to take a tour . The house is beautiful with big windows looking out on the most amazing views. Our room was beautiful with Jacuzzi and larger bathroom , tv ,lots of films to watch on the dvd player ...very very comfortable. breakfast is a FEAST !!! Ron does not know when to stop ...lol ..we marveled at the variety and amounts of food ..all fresh and deliciously prepared and served by Ron himself in front of the windows overlooking a glorious view of the mountains. Despite the road, which GPS makes fast work of ....it is so worth staying at. Ron makes sure you have every convenience, and his knowledge of the area , dining, sights etc made our trip so easy .You will meet all kinds of great guests staying there also and breakfast the last day we were there was so much fun from all the talk and singing ! We hated to part ..but alas we had to fly back home to New Jersey that afternoon from Denver so we had to leave . But it wasn't easy as it is a little bit of heaven on earth ..living up to it's name it is truly a slice of Paradise to stay there . Things are changing for the better , and when you finally go or we do get back there to stay the room we had will be all different and even more beautiful than it was already . Looking forward to a next time we go....

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the first floor facing the Peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ursousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pikespeakparadise, Owner at Pikes Peak Paradise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

So glad you had a true mountain experience. Thanks for the compliments about breakfast and your stay here at Pikes Peak Paradise.

Glad Whole in the Wall Herb Shoppe was able to help you with more Oxygen drops. The altitude can really affect anyone. Hope to see you both again as well. Ron of Pikes Peak Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Perhaps it's because we're from the East coast but we could not get enough of the view from PPP...Pike's Peak is just amazing (snow in August at the top of the mountain) Ron and his mother Billie Jean (visiting) we're perfect hosts and great with my two boys (11 & 13). Ron's breakfast was unsurpassed and kept us going all day. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrKnowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Amazing place! We will definitely come back! Service and hospitality was incredible. Very clean rooms, delicious breakfast prepared by the owner. Get the rooms with a hot tub, a nice treat. And beautiful views of Pikes Peak from the main room as well as our own balcony off our room. Perfect place for a nice little couples get away. I took my girlfriend here for her birthday and she loved it! Very romantic!

Joe P

Room Tip: Get the rooms with a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Pike's Peak Paradise and enjoyed everything about this unique B & B. The rooms are designed with comfort in mind, with every wish or whim anticipated. Big comfy beds, fluffy pillows, most rooms have either a private hot tub or jacuzzi, even private balconies or patios! The breakfast is lavish yet healthy, featuring organic or local fruit, melt-in-your mouth waffles, inventive quiches, perfectly sizzled bacon, and the best shredded potato and carrot pancakes I've ever eaten! Ron is eager to tailor the breakfast to his guests' dietary tastes and is the perfect host. We hope to make Pike's Peak Paradise a regular stop on future trips!

Room Tip: They're all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodland Park
13.0 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
861 reviews
16.4 mi away
Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park
2.3 mi away
Woodland Park Country Lodge
Woodland Park Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Woodland Park
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
230 reviews
14.4 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,136 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eagle Fire Lodge & Cabins
Eagle Fire Lodge & Cabins
#3 of 6 in Woodland Park
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pikes Peak Paradise Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pikes Peak Paradise Bed and Breakfast

Address: 236 Pinecrest Rd, Woodland Park, CO 80863-8432
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Woodland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Woodland Park
Price Range: £140 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pikes Peak Paradise Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury modern updated suites with in-room private hot tubs and fireplaces. We offer Wifi, Flat Screens, DVD Players and DVDs. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast, snacks and soft drinks, and 4 hours of complimentary beer/wine! All rooms have the best 9000 foot secluded view of Pikes Peak and 1 million acres of Pikes National Forest. Pikes Peak Paradise is an ideal setting for a honeymoon, anniversary, romantic getaway, or wedding. 25 minutes to Colorado Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pikes Peak Paradise Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing