We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lodge Updated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodland Park Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodland Park
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Lodge Updated”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I've reviewed the Country Lodge before, as I often visit Woodland Park. Now, though, they have added the amenities of a pub and outdoor patio. The pub is cozy and staff friendly and accommodating. The patio is small but offers a pretty mountain view. There is a limited menu from which to order food. I don't know about prices during high summer times, but during most of the year The Lodge is quite affordable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent M, Public Relations Manager at Woodland Park Country Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again here under the Colorado skies. We'll keep you posted here on our ever expanding facility, including our menu, indoor pub and outdoor patio which this summer will be able to host as many as 200+ people. Check back here for pictures and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    69
    31
    20
    19
See reviews for
75
61
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hole was clean, beds comfortable, and the staff and nice and helpful as they come. The outdoor patio with the view of Pike's Peak while enjoying dinner and drinks with my motorcycle group was just plain great. It was a test way to spend the end of our motorcycle tour across the West. I would recommend everyone stop and spend a night or two. I already miss it!!!

Even a clean pool which I did not use.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dblankenship1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent M, Public Relations Manager at Woodland Park Country Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your fond experience with us here at the Country Lodge. We are confident your trip through this part of the Rocky Mountains was equally enjoyable. Thanks and be safe! Come again, please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

In previous reviews you will notice several references to noise problems. Brent M's (spokesperson for the hotel) response was to extol the virtues of their new 5 star, 250 person patio and pub...and to mention the hotel's quiet hour policy was to ensure a peaceful night's stay for their hotel patrons. Well, the noise problems persist and they offer no warning to guests prior to putting them into rooms that face the patio and who thus must endure the noise til almost midnight. When I complained about the noise, rather than asking their patio patrons to knock it off, they tell me my only option is to move - pack up my stuff and move to another room, after myself and my wife have turned in for the night. When I raised the issue with the manager in the morning, her response was that I could move - no apology, no "you're right, we should be more sensitive to our guests" - just that I could move to another room for the rest of my stay. And certainly no offer to compensate me for the miserable night I had just endured.

This hotel is clearly more interested in catering to it's new restaurant and bar business than they are to ensuring their hotel guests get a decent night's sleep and are treated with respect. There aren't many lodging options in Woodland Park and this, unfortunately, is the best of what's available beyond Manitou Springs, 25 minutes away. That said, I can't recommend you stay here unless you have no choice. It's a shame really because it's not a bad place - but they have their priorities messed up and their hotel guests don't come first at the moment.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from their patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sixstringflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent M, Public Relations Manager at Woodland Park Country Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your questions and comments. We understand the importance of not just hearing, but listening to each guest.

Our summer policy allows for live music in our indoor pub to end well before midnight. While many hope entertainment will go into the wee hours of the morning, we have negotiated with entertainers to start earlier and end earlier than what is often seen as "normal hours". It is proving to be the right thing to do as we are able to meet the needs of our guests in both the hotel and the restaurant/pub.

Guest services will always allow a guest to change rooms to accommodate individual needs and desires. Quiet time in the lobby and hallways is 10:00. Please report violations or abuse to guest services.

Woodland Park generally, and the Country Lodge specifically, are quiet family-oriented places serving the needs of business and vacation travelers as well as the Pike's Peak community. While this is a diverse family of friends, we strive to consider the interests and needs of each guest with the greatest fondness and respect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Woodland Park hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I've stayed at the Country Lodge numerous times. It's a completely average hotel. I never have major complaints, but there's nothing especially memorable about it, either. The hotel recently went through a major renovation, but you wouldn't necessarily know it. Everything still feels a little dated and a bit cheap.

The rooms are fine. They are fairly clean, although they don't provide the most relaxing atmosphere. It just feels like the furnishings were bought at bargain-basement prices. The beds aren't very comfortable and the pillows are quite bad. I never sleep very well here.

There is a pool, but no workout room. There's a breakfast in the morning, but it's slightly below the average hotel breakfast, so I usually skip it. They have free coffee in the morning, but again, it's not that great.

The service is hit or miss. I've had wonderful staff who are friendly and courteous, I've had others who stare at me when I enter the building without any kind of greeting. The night staff seems to be more friendly than the day staff.

If you are trying to stay in the area, your choices are really limited. I wouldn't worry too much- there's nothing especially bad about the Country Lodge. It's just your average, run-of-the-mill hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegreatone3182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent M, Public Relations Manager at Woodland Park Country Lodge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you both for your patronage and your willingness to take time to review your stays with us. I am quickly reminded of our most recent staff meeting where staff themselves were put in charge of reviewing the things we want and need to do so that we are continually meeting the needs of each and every guest.

Our changes in staff reflect our constant attention to excellence and opportunity in staffing. Our people are often the first and last impression a guest will take with them, and to us this is serious, and fun business.

As of June 2014, a plethora of exciting changes are in the works at the Country Lodge including room upgrades, more facility improvements as well as wonderful additions including: new rooms, larger recreation area, additional real estate, larger indoor restaurant and restrooms. We are excited to share our plans, but more-so to share the finished product coming over the next 6-24 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Noisy neighbors, the bar down stairs people were loud and shouting, lots of doors slamming. The walls are paper thin, expect to hear everything.

The pool and hot tub were cold. If you like best western you'll like this place. The toilet was dirty when we checked in.

The breakfast had cereal, coffee and fruit. A pretty terrible breakfast considering the price. No gluten free friendly

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent M, Public Relations Manager at Woodland Park Country Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your concerns. Our new 250 person 5 star patio with bar and food service, along with our recently completed indoor pub is certainly a popular place with guests and locals. Hence, we enforce a noise policy to insure our guests will enjoy a peaceful nights rest.

Our free breakfast room includes, waffles, eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, several cereal and granola choices along with muffins, pastries and bagels. Our guest services is always available outside of the breakfast room to offer assistance.

Our apologies if you were not notified by guest services regarding any pool and spa change of water. This cleaning process is part of our commitment to excellence and requires 6-8 hours before normal temperatures return.

We are excited to always be planning and completing new construction projects to make Woodland Country Lodge a destination that guests will look forward to enjoying time after time.

We hope you'll consider a stay with us next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were in town Apr 20/21 for a wedding/party and the Country Lodge was the nearest to the location. We weren't expecting much because Woodland Park is a small town, but we were pleasantly surprised. Nice size rooms, comfortable beds, and free delicious cookies for guests. They had a nice little Pub and patio. While enjoying an late afternoon cocktail, we saw a family of seven (7) deer and a red fox only about 15-20 feet from the patio. Debbie at the front desk was very pleasant. The late night clerk wasn't as friendly when we requested to use a few plates from the breakfast area, but if that's our biggest complaint, then it was a very good stay overall. By the way, the room included a fridge and microwave which was nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent M, Public Relations Manager at Woodland Park Country Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your review. We'll look forward to hosting you in the future if you are in the Pike's Peak area. We take each word and comment seriously, and will use your words to improve and maintain a standard of excellence in hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I travel for business.....a lot! I am very picky and demanding in my hotel choices. This place is excellent.

My room was very clean. The view from the outdoor patio/pub was amazing and the food was above average. I will stay here again.

Not sure what the 1 bad review was referencing. I guess every place could have a bad day....sounds to me like a local competitor trying to affect business. Try it yourself. You'll agree it's a great place!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Barlowgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent M, Public Relations Manager at Woodland Park Country Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your visit with us at the Woodland Country Lodge. It's funny how offering clean, comfortable rooms along with good food and fun help to build a friends-and-family type of relationship with our guests. We hope to see you soon back here at home away from home! Thanks again for your kind words and patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodland Park
11.8 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
12.7 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
12.8 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#44 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
12.6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eagle Fire Lodge & Cabins
Eagle Fire Lodge & Cabins
#4 of 6 in Woodland Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Park Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Park Country Lodge

Property: Woodland Park Country Lodge
Address: 723 W US Highway 24, Woodland Park, CO 80863-4003
Region: United States > Colorado > Woodland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Woodland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Woodland Park Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled hotel. Very comfortable rooms including pillow top beds, 32" HD LCD TV's, free HBO, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board and hair dryer in every room. WiFi is complimentary throughout the hotel. We also offer rooms to accommodate 30-40 people for business meetings, retreats and social gatherings. We have a business center that includes a guest computer, printing, fax and copy services. Our indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub is open daily from 7am to 10pm, with the last hour being for adults only. Start your day with our free continental breakfast, then relax on our beautiful patio and enjoy the great view of Pikes Peak! Also, explore what the city of Woodland Park has to offer. Many great attractions and unique shops - all within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Woodland Park Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Woodland Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing