We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Typical Bar and Grill” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Ute Inn

Historic Ute Inn
Ranked #10 of 45 Restaurants in Woodland Park
Price range: US$1 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Southwestern, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Historic Ute Inn is Teller County's oldest continuously operating Bar and Grill/Inn (Restaurant)since 1942. There is a family friendly dining room that is open from 10 a.m. til 9 p.m. The bar is open from 11 a.m. until 2.a.m. Open Mic Wednesdays, Cards Against Humanity on Thursdays Karaoke Fridays, Live Music Saturdays, pool tournament on Sundays kicks off again March 13th. Great American cuisine to include wild game burgers, venison, elk, hand cut steaks, and chicken fried steaks/pork/chicken. The pulled pork, brisket, tri-tip, ribs, and turkey is smoked on premises (some are speciels only and availability is limited due to popularity). Everything is as fresh as it can be. Active duty and retired military receive 10% discount, seniors receive 10% discount. Senior special discount is 20% Sunday through Thursday 4p.m.-6p.m.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Typical Bar and Grill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

After a long morning of driving, we needed a little refresher. The Ute Inn was a good place to stop on a Sunday afternoon. The prices are good and I really enjoyed the rustic atmosphere. The game was on so it was really loud, even sitting in the dining room which is separate from the main bar. My husband had the grilled cheese burger which he really liked and I had the fish and chips. The fish and chips weren't bad, but I've definitely had better.

If you are looking for the typical bar fare, this place will do just fine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    33
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indian Hills, Colorado
Level Contributor
213 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Off Season?:”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Lunch was on the agenda of today. I decided to try Ute Inn and Bar based on TA reviews. I chose to eat in the bar area.
Parking in the back was easy. The lot was pretty much empty. The rear entrance is clearly marked. This leads to a back bar/patio that looks like it is a lot of fun in the warmer months. In the door, and down a ramp to a split. One side is dining, one side is bar. I really appreciated the sign above the bar entrance that said people under 21 could not enter the bar after 7:00p.m. I could see video games, tables, and the bar.
I sat at the bar and asked for a lunch menu. I chose the Rueben sandwich with fries. I selected a tap beer to drink. The sandwich was sadly very average in appearance and flavor. The fries were very good, and there were enough to compliment the small sandwich. Beer is always good with this type of food.
The service was amazingly fast. The bartender gave me water and the menu quickly. I ordered, and the beer was there. Moments later, here came the sandwich, hot and fresh. I have never seen faster service in a bar and with that quality.
The atmosphere was that of a typical bar. It was extremely quiet in the bar area. I thought they were getting ready for church or something. There was one other person that the bartender was quietly chatting with. The noon hour should have seen more people in my opinion. Maybe it was the chilly wind, or just too late in the season for walk-in traffic.
I would recommend at least one visit here. It was an acceptable value for the money. I do think summer would be a better time to visit here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qnodmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
216 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Exceptional service with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Right on the main road through town with parking behind the restaurant and bar. Good prices, great food and exceptional service. Delicious "bottomless" serving of French fries comes with sandwiches. Enjoyed the pulled pork sandwich which had lots of meat and a tasty sauce.
Some restaurants make a person feel right at home and comfortable and Ute Inn is certainly one of those places. Will definitely go back again when we are in the area and tell our friends what a great place this is for a meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wildlime92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving but go in anyway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This place looks like a biker bar but once in the restaurant side it takes on a different feel. The food was very good and the service was top notch. Lots of food for the money, prepared with care and served by a server with personality. The actual correct name by the way is "The Historic Ute Inn".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldantexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old West Look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

It looked old west authentic. The service was prompt, friendly & the food tasty!! The bar side of the restaurant was what looked most like it did originally. The other side has been updated in the last 4-5 years our waitress told us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 223Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Ute Inn also viewed

 

Been to Historic Ute Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing