We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for relaxation and having fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Triple B Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodland Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Triple B Ranch
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great place for relaxation and having fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here.
There are many cats running around and they are so friendly! Be sure to give them some milk, because then you'll have a friend show up at your door often!
The horses are in good condition and friendly. You can hand them carrots and they will take it gently, making it a safe place for kids.
The service is friendly and cares about their customers. If you have any issues, then you can just ask them and it will be solved the best way they can.
This was one of the most fun trips I had! There was so much to do, such as basketball, archery, horseshoes, volleyball, a pool, and more. One of the best activities are the horserides. The trail you go on is very scenic, while the horses are gentle and know where to go, allowing you to sit back and relax.
I'd definently recommend going here for a place to take life easy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChunkyLover52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historic T, Manager at Triple B Ranch, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I'm glad you had a great stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We hope you can come and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    8
    3
    6
    7
See reviews for
33
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loveland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I would discourage anyone to stay here. The cabin we stayed in was extremely dirty!!! We signed up to do a dinner/horseback ride, but due to a lightening storm we ate the dinner at the lodge and did a shorter ride the next morning. We had to clean the bathroom, floors, stove (NASTY), etc. before we could even stay there. We tried speaking to the actual owner, who was not on site numerous times, but she has NEVER returned any calls. The pictures you see on line are NOT what this place looks like. It is run down and not worth your money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historic T, Manager at Triple B Ranch, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I'm sorry for the slow response to your review. I am just now figuring out the ability to respond to our reviews on here. I'm sorry to see that you had such a bad experience at our ranch. I'm sure the storm put a damper on your steak dinner ride plans and that is never good but unfortunately out of my control. I'm sorry that you felt that our place was not up to your expectations, I wish that we could have taken care of it for you right at that time. We of course have it set for our rooms to be cleaned thoroughly after every check out so I am sorry to hear that is not what you found.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

After reading some negative reviews, I had to write and remind the "nay sayers" that the ranch is rustic!! We experienced a wonderful stay, with friendly staff members, and awesome sights!!! If you want the Hilton, stay at the Hilton. If you want to experience a ranch, rustic style stay, with awesome sights and amenities, you stay at triple b ranch!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovehorsses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historic T, Manager at Triple B Ranch, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I'm glad you had a great stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! We hope you can come and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Trible BBB may love their horses but they do not take care of the facilities. They over-promise and under-deliver.


Our cabin, "The Homestead" had two gaping holes in the deck large enough for a leg to drop in to thigh level. One hole was cleverly covered by a welcome mat. Flies are common around horses but they did not bother to repair torn screen doors. The spa did not work the whole time were were there.

The food was boring and often served cold. They are very rigid about when they will serve food. It seems to be more about the convenience of the employees than the desires of the guests.

The archery activity consisted of three arrows and a cheap bow. The styrofoam target was falling apart.

On the other hand, the employees were quite friendly even though a little inept.

They in-room documents made it quite explicit that the kitchen was to be left spotless yet was filthy on our arrival. They did not even provide dish soap for cleaning. The staff suggested we should drive into town and buy some. Likewise coffee.

The bear mentioned in other reviews still comes by every night to raid the trash cans although the staff told us he had just started in the last few days. Hmmm.

Room Tip: All rooms are underwhelming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelor321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historic T, Manager at Triple B Ranch, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I'm sorry for the slow response as I am just now figuring out how to respond on here. I'm sorry that you were not pleased with your stay. If there is ever anything wrong we strive to fix it right away. I'm again sorry for your lack of enjoyment from our food, its is something generally raved about. We do have set meal times that we serve at and it is told before making your reservations so if it was an inconvenience for your plans we don't recommend reserving those. Yes, we do reside in the mountains and bears are common but we try to keep the trash cleaned up and the dumpsters tied down so that they don't get much enjoyment from being here. If the staff told you they just started seeing them it may have been for that personal staff member or for the season and there was just a communication error. Again, I just want to apologize for you not fully enjoying your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Before you consider traveling to this beautiful location to enjoy the peace and quiet of the Rocky Mountains, you need to know why you are visiting. This is a rustic, historic horse ranch run by passionate people who love their horses as much as they love their guests. It is not a high end hotel with maids at your beck and call or room service accessible by phone. In fact, there is not a TV or telephone in sight (although they do have Wifi for those who need to stay connected). This is a genuine western experience, and there is a certain amount of independence that you should expect to demonstrate when you arrive. If you need something, ask, and Karina or any of her friendly staff will be more than happy to help. Keep in mind, they are simultaneously caring for you and their stables of horses, and we are all equally important.

In order to get the most out of this experience, you have to throw yourself into it. Bears? We were hoping to see at least one, and we stayed right next to the locked down trash cans for three nights in a cabin called Beartrap. Horses? Not only can you pick the ones you want to ride, and most of them were born right on the ranch, you are taught to ride by experienced wranglers like Leslie and Sierra who are always helpful and friendly. They are there from sun up to sun down caring for every horse. The owner of the ranch, Ron, even rode along with us and shared the history of the ranch. This place has been around since 1936, and as you walk around the property you can feel its rich history.

One of the best activities you can do as a family is the steak dinner ride. We did this the night we arrived. You get to ride up to the highest point on the ranch for a steak, corn-on-the-cob, baked potato, and baked bean bar-b-que specially prepared for you by the staff. The missing roof on the pool just means that you get to cool down after your ride under the beautiful blue Colorado sky. It was wonderful to be able to take my children to a place where they could explore and create their own fun, not something pre-planned and overly-controlled. The archery, complete with a full quiver of arrows, and frisbee golf, complete with a map and score sheet were available just by asking. It is good to know that there is a place where we can find the rustic spirit of the west, reconnect with family, be still, and enjoy God's creation. The views of Pikes Peak from everywhere on this ranch are unbelievable, and you will never see more stars anywhere else at night.

One special tip:
This resort offers an all-inclusive option that raises this adventure to a whole new level. Imagine having a home-cooked breakfast and dinner served in a lodge each day (biscuits and gravy, pancakes, french toast, ribs, and lasagna), up to two included excursions (rafting, golfing, biking, ATVing) to anywhere you would like to play around the region (they got us tickets to the Pikes Peak or Bust Rodeo), and all the horseback riding you can handle. We went on two one hour rides and one two hour ride in one day and rode at least once every day we were there. Add to all of this the steak dinner ride and you are looking at one of the best all-inclusive dude ranch deals in several states.

You can choose to come up here for the day and ride a horse for one or two hours, or you can rent a cabin and rough it yourself for a few days (paying for each ride separately if you choose to ride), or you can just dive into the experience and go all-inclusive. Our family had a wonderful time and would recommend this to anyone who loves to ride horses and wants to feel the freedom and independence of the west surrounded by some of the nicest people you will meet in long time. Thanks Triple B. We will be back.

Room Tip: The Beartrap cabin is perfect for a family of four or five. It has a great covered porch, and maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historic T, Manager at Triple B Ranch, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to our ranch! Thank you for taking the time to give a review! We hope you can come and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

How do I begin? We made reservations for a large group based on the pictures of the web-site and the friendly people on the phone. The web site says they have basketball, horseshoe pit, sand volleyball quart, indoor/outdoor pool, archery etc. Basketball court was all rock due to not being resurfaced in 10 years or more. Horshoe pit dirt was so hard the horshoes bounced out, the "sand" Volleyball quart was so abbrassive that our feet were scared the next day and it was on a hill, not level. The pool had a cover over the top in the picture, guess what? It was ripped off and gone. The spa was so dirty we didn't dare get in it. The room next to the pool with a ping pong table had mold in the ceiling as well as the weight room. Archery was 1 plastic bow and 1 arrow that was bent. They did have some hay to shoot at. The grill was so dirty we had to clean it ourselves and look for propane from an outdoor space heater. The screens in the windows were missing or in disrepair. A door lock was broken and needed to be repaired. In one unit the bathroom leaked into the living room floor. The shower handles were broke in one unit. They had to shut down the water in order to fix. The website says kitchenette. That included a 4 cup coffe maker, we had to clean, a 2 foot frig and a small microwave. We had to use the bathroom sink to clean anything. The horses looked as though they had not eatin in weeks. We fed them instead of riding them. If you want new sheets or towels, you need to take them to the office for clean ones. The owner and his wife drove by several time to their nice homestead but never once waived or stopped and said hello. Did I mention that a Bear comes into the property every night and raids the trash cans. We found out after the first night that its like a pet to this place. Could you have mentioned that before we rented. The web site shows a bear on a dumpster but who would have guessed it comes every night and makes a huge mess of the trash cans. We made the best of it by going to town and site seeing or shopping or eating lunch or dinner. Friends and family saved the trip by having fun gathering for dinner and enjoying what we could but this place needs a total makeover and some interaction with the staff, management and owners. Good Luck Triple B, we will only waive when we pass by the next time were in your neck of the woods.

Room Tip: Don't choose one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helendale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The triple B ranch is a wonderful place to relax, have fun, and enjoy all the horseback riding you want. The horses are well-bred, beautiful, and safe for even the novice. The ranch hands were wonderful and friendly and helped us choose the right horse for the right rider. The cabins are nice and have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. Last, but not least, the staff was truly awesome!!! They spent time getting to know our family, shared some of their own experiences in their lives, made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable, and were so incredibly friendly and likeable. We had the best vacation of our lives and you will too, especially if HORSES are the main focus of your enjoyment. I would go back to the Triple B ranch anytime I wanted a truly special horse vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassie28320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historic T, Manager at Triple B Ranch, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I'm SO glad you had such a great experience at our ranch! Creating new and great memories is what we LOVE doing! Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodland Park
14.7 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.1 mi away
Woodland Park Country Lodge
Woodland Park Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Woodland Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
14.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#2 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
3.5 mi away
Eagle Fire Lodge & Cabins
Eagle Fire Lodge & Cabins
#4 of 6 in Woodland Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bristlecone Lodge
Bristlecone Lodge
#5 of 6 in Woodland Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triple B Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triple B Ranch

Property: Triple B Ranch
Address: 27640 State Highway 67, Woodland Park, CO 80863-9709
Region: United States > Colorado > Woodland Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Woodland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a horse ranch nestled on 80 beautiful scenic acres on the edge of Pike National Forest. We can sleep up to 87 people and we are the home of multiple World Champion Stallions. Why not stay on a horse ranch? We have numerous on site activities for all of the family to enjoy, as well easy access to the Pikes Peak area attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing