We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect get away”
Review of The Puncak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Puncak
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Beautiful small resort , have just returned from our 5 night stay at Jean Paul's secret at the top of the hill , the views from the pool deck are just amazing , the staff are wonderful and very helpful , the walk down the hill is great exercise or you can simply get a cab which only costs about 20,000 rupee into Senggigi or about 2 dollars aus. Thanks for a great stay and hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: Ask for room No 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Gary S.,

We as well as our committed staff are very glad to reading your great comment !
We are situated in a somehow secluded spot making views and environment very
special. Senggigi can be reached easily, or by walking, or by taxi as you have mentioned in
your review.

We are looking forward to see you again in a may be next experience to Lombok.

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul & Nury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spent our last four nights in Lombok at The Puncak and it was perfect. The rooms were nice, all with a view and there's only five rooms so it's super peaceful...no kids there. The staff are super sweet and helpful. They do some awesome food too, the breakfasts were ridiculous. We always saved some for a snack later. God knows who can put away that much food first thing in the morning. The servings of their other dishes are also quite generous. Try the fish curry. Everything else we ate there was really good also. A bit pricey, but it's to be expected. The rooms were simple but with all the mod-cons.

The only con is that it's a bit out of the way. But the staff will call a taxi for you any time you want and it only costs about 25000 rupiah to go into Senggigi.

My only regret was I didn't pat any of the dogs!

I would recommend The Puncak as the ultimate chill out place for those who just wants to hang out and do nothing, but look at amazing sunsets and lounge around in the pools.

Room Tip: All five rooms have ocean views. They're all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Hai N,

Thank you for your great review and for recommending The Puncak as the ultimate chill out place.

We would be happy to welcome you again as well as your relations to whom you have recommended us !

Warm regards,


Jean-Paul & Nury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just returned from 5 nights at the Puncak after doing the Rinjani hike. Perfect place for R&R. Jean Paul and the team were amazingly helpful from pointing us in the right direction to hire a scooter to get around the island (a must in our opinion) to also giving directions to the pharmacy for us to get antiseptic cream for badly bruised toes! People had criticized the model of the hotel saying that it should position itself as a B&B and even said the breakfasts are too big but we thought everything was lovely and our evening meal on arriving was fantastic. One thing I was also pleased to see is that WiFi is now free and worked very well. If you want 2 mins to the beach then maybe Quincy but if you want an amazing base from which you can explore the (other better) beaches like Nippah and also head down to Senggigi by scooter or taxi for the evenings then we think the Puncak was perfect! Simon and Trudy.
PS - forgot to mention, the bed was just about the most comfortable we have slept in - beautiful!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TW_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Hello Tw_Travel,
Dear Simon and Trudy,

This is a great appreciation from experienced travelers . Thank you !
It is always a pleasure for us to pointing ways and habits in a personal way to our guests and
nice to reading that it was helpful and making your stay in Lombok even better.

Wifi is indeed available without charges and working well.

Thank you also for your few suggestions in private contact - We are keen to observe discerning suggestions from our guests in order to make from any stay in The Puncak a great and memorable journey !

Warm regards,

Jean-Paul & Nury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just got back from a quick 2 night trip to Lombok, stayed at the Puncak and couldn’t have asked for anything more, the location and the views were out of this world, the photos really don’t do it justice. Jean-Paul and his staff were amazing, always there to offer advice and recommendations if required, but definitely not over the top and in your face. The breakfast was fantastic, served to the table outside your room, the most scenic breakfasts I have ever eaten. The attention to detail, the lanterns at night, the power adapters, mosi repellents, small first aid items which luckily weren’t required all added to the perfectness of this hotel. It is not a private villa and is not promoted as such, there are only 5 rooms which were not all occupied during our stay, we did not feel that we lacked privacy as mentioned in some reviews. The fact that there are only 5 rooms allowed for a personal service from Jean-Paul and his team which you just don’t receive in the larger resorts. I would take a stay at the Puncak over a private villa in one of the larger resorts any time, I wouldn’t change a thing about the hotel and would definitely recommend the Puncak as the first choice for anyone visiting Lombok. Thank you Jean-Paul and your team, top job!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_ko577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Jo_Ko577,
Valued guest,

We are happy to read that you are willing to recommend The Puncak according to
the high satisfaction factor you have experienced during your stay.

It is always great to receive such a feedback. Pictures are telling already many things but
our place is such a special environment that you really need to stay to enjoy all dimensions
and senses -

Knowing that the line between Excellent and Very Good is fragile, we are staying
aware and concentrated but without obsession as the natural touch and the reality of life
in this fragile environment is sometimes also influencing the experience of a stay -

We are thanking you for your great review and wishing you all the best -

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul & Nury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Nice boutique hotel perched on top of a hill overlooking Senggigi. One infinity pool per 2 rooms, and rooms have lovely full window. Unfortunately if in first few rooms, people will walk past your window to get to the reception/to their room, therefore less privacy.
Lovely extensive breakfast!! However limited lunch and dinner options, which have to be booked hours in advance.
Wifi excellent. Great attention to detail in the rooms with regards to all additional touches such as mosquito repellent, nail clippers, headache tablets,...
Overall very pleasant and relaxing 2 night stay. Jean Paul is an incredibly helpful mulch-lingual host!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Liz V,

We are thanking you for your review -

Just note that we are a small boutique accommodation - we never have more than
a few persons in the same time on spot - there are no children - The Puncak is known
because of the tranquility and the secluded atmosphere - there is never a traffic of guests - and
thus rarely a lack of privacy -
Our staff has been trained to observe and to make the general atmosphere as intimate and private as possible beside the already natural existing boutique environment and the great configuration of suites and panoramic infinity pools -

We are a real Boutique place, means small & charming and cozy -

We are very concerned about the high quality of food - we are only working with daily fresh
ingredients - focusing on this important issue and serving our guests with an intention
of high quality , we are kindly asking our valued guests if possible to order
at least 1 or 2 hours in advance - this is not taking away the main facility that lunch and dinner are available on request, our dishes being prepared with devotion -

Kind regards.


Jean-Paul & Nury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

the best boutique hotel I ever stayed in. It has been now nearly 2 years that my girlfriend and me stayed at the Puncak, but we still dream about it. As those dreams just kept haunting me I decided to finally write a long time awaited review.

Everything was just perfect at our stay - the owners, the staff, the food, the exceptional rooms, the bed, the infinity pool directly infront of the room, the view at the beautiful sunset, and and and .......

We will definitely come back again and if YOU are still looking & comparing where to stay in Lombok...STOP it and stay at The Puncak !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Stefan T.,

It is of course a boost for us to see that many guests are contacting us several months after their stay to share their ' memorable' souvenirs staying in The Puncak.

We had the pleasure to have you with us about 2 years ago, meanwhile we have even more experience ;-) to make from your stay in The Puncak a real enjoyable and tranquil holiday.

We are a small and intimate boutique place and thus we are receiving lesser feedback's comparing with most of bigger resorts.

Even a later appreciation is encouraging us to stay in the running,

We are looking forward to meeting you again.

Thank you & warm regards,


Jean-Paul & Nury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I should start this review by stating that this is a BEAUTIFUL property with 5 star service, food and ambience. That being said, this is not a family resort. This is not because the owners are not "kid friendly" (they have a wonderful daughter) but because this is a boutique hotel that caters to couples and honeymooners.
We arrived at The Puncak in the afternoon with our 2 children. We had booked this hotel using Agoda and at the time of booking Agoda had made no mention of this being an adults only hotel. Even though we brought our 2 children the owners welcomed us with open arms and even closed out the openings that they had for the following day to protect both my family’s privacy and to make sure that couples did not arrive for a honeymoon to find out 3 year old in their gorgeous infinity pool. This service is really above and beyond what they had to do...many other hotels would have turned us away.
We stayed for 2 wonderful nights and enjoyed the welcome drinks, food and desserts immensely. The rooms are well appointment with a nice TV, a great sound system, and large comfy bed. Breakfast has already been raved about here on Tripadvisor, but I think it is important to mention dinner as well. Make sure you have at least 1 dinner here and order in advance. This allows the owners time to get the very freshest ingredients and prepare a 5 star culinary adventure for you.
Even though the food is wonderful, it is the view that really steals the show. On clear days you can see the volcanoes on neighboring Bali and the beautiful beaches on Lombok while enjoying a dip in the infinity pool.
The owner is also a wealth of information on the surrounding town and pointed us to 2 different restaurants that we adored.
I want to thank The Puncak again for welcoming our family when they really did not need to and for providing us with a much needed weekend of relaxation. The Puncak is the rare 5 star boutique hotel that has as much HEART as it has STYLE.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Nick H,
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your great feedback.
You are right, because of the extreme location and the fact that we have mainly honeymoon couples, we have a policy of no accommodation for children (0-12).
Apparently Agoda did not point enough this policy according to your experience, however it is mentioned on our website and our Facebook pages.
We had no other guests the day of your arrival and yes we closed out the availability of other rooms to make your check in possible with your family. Note this kind of service is only possible in our place. We are always trying to find creative and happy solutions.

But as we need to be consequent toward other guests and toward our policy we just underline this was an unexpected and exceptional case.

The goal of The Puncak is to provide guests privacy - intimacy & tranquility in a charming and stylish atmosphere with breathtaking views.
It is only by implementation of a policy that we can provide such a comfort and memorable experiences to our high valued guests.

As you wrote with heart and style we like to welcome discerning guests to The Puncak.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Layar
2.8 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,617 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
3.2 mi away
Katamaran Hotel & Resort
4 mi away
Living Asia Resort and Spa Lombok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Puncak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puncak

Address: Jl. Semilir no 13 | The Hill - Bukit Batu Layar - Senggigi, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia (Formerly Villa Atas Bukit)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Batu Layar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Price Range: £81 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Puncak 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PUNCAK, Lombok is a small, cozy and exclusive Boutique place, situated in an idyllic setting on a hill near Senggigi, island of Lombok at about 200 m above sea level with a panoramic view to neighboring island Bali. The service-minded owners and their skilled staff will receive you in a refined comfort and cozy atmosphere. All 5 full air conditioned and luxury suites open onto the infinity pool which seems to hang suspended in the sky. This stylish accommodation will provide you a complete well-being journey. The scenery of this place is close to heaven and a world top location spot. Maximum 2 persons/suite, the extreme location is not fitted for children (0-12). Please contact us directly for the most accurate availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Puncak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puncak Hotel Senggigi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing