We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special and secluded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Food was delicious, and beautifully presented whether at breakfast or dinner, staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms and grounds very well maintained and clean. Great place to stay, and a good base for exploring areas nearby. You can't really walk along the road very comfortably however if you want to walk into town/to another restaurant. There are paths, but not along all bits of road, and traffic is on the erratic side - and of course it can be sweaty work! Some restaurants arrange free shuttle buses, so you could take advantage of this, although taxis are really cheap into town.

Only other minor annoyance was that people would come selling their bracelets and other ornaments on the beach right in front of the hotel - which is fair enough, they need to make money, but they were quite persistent. The hotel staff did have to ask them to leave customers alone a few times while we were there. I don't think this was just particular to this hotel though. Make sure you wear something on your feet in the sea as there is lots of coral even in the shallow areas. There is quite good snorkelling off the beach - I saw lots of nice live coral and varieties of fish.

The massage I had was really awful - they didn't have an actual spa on site, but would draw curtains across one of the sun lounger areas, which was pleasant as you got a nice breeze. However the girl that came to do my full body massage did not do a good job and I actually had one really tight calf muscle for about a week after which had been fine before she'd touched it. Apart from that we really enjoyed our stay. The room had a/c and also a fan and the 'outdoor' bathroom was brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fishflung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a wonderful place , a quiet and romantic place. Clean and staff is helpful. A stunning sunset and wonderful temperatur. It was exactly like the pictures. Stayed there for 6 nights and would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristin22042204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

having just spent 3 nights at this resort I feel compelled for the first time in my life to write a review, although really I want to keep this place a secret and keep it all to myself .. but I promised the very lovely manager 'Wire' that I would tell the world just how totally perfectly fabulous his hotel is.
This place is amazing, beautiful location, the nicest most helpful and friendly staff we have ever met, nothing .. nothing is too much trouble and all done with a smile.
Amazing rooms, I NEVER wanted to get out of the shower .. looking up at the blue sky and palm trees.
great food.. the best pool ever.. peaceful.. quiet and romantic ..
I could go on but I think you get the idea we LOVED this place and cant wait to go back

Room Tip: treat yourself and go ocean view its only a few dollars more and you only live once ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WendyandPaul188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful hotel last week .Can not fault this place .Stunning hotel this is.We had Ocean View room .. Pool is clean and positioned on the the ocean with stunning sunset views . Staff so helpful and made us feel right at home . Mr Wire the manager is a lovely gentleman with a great sense of him humour . Komang in reception is also a helpful young man . Highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzie2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of our holiday in Lombok, had read previous reviews and looked forward to our stay. We were in an Ocean view room which was nice and airy, with all mod cons. Food and service was hit and miss for both breakfast and dinner.......waiters seemed to forget what you had ordered and on occasions we received either something we didn't order or our order arrived incomplete. The beach is not great but it is used by the locals on a daily basis so would be difficult to keep perfectly clean. We weren't troubled by the road noise as we were in an ocean view room however we had several very early morning calls from the cockerel that wonders around the grounds!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChandiBoutiq... R, Manager at The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear valuable guest,
I apologize that the experience I our hotel was not as expected for you. I read about your experiences with our service team, we are working constantly on improvement of English skills. Of course this no excuse for any mistakes that were made. I will do my best that you will receive an excellent service during your next visit.
Yes the beaches in Indonesia are public area. We clean our beach 3 times a day to make sure our guest enjoy there sunbath in a clean environment. If you made the experience that our beach was not clean I will take it thankful into consideration and will take all actions to ensure cleanness at any time.
I apologize for the disturbance by cockerel, our neighbor village have some chicken and there have the luck to live free. Because our property is open to the beach the chickens have the opportunity to enter, yes.
I thank you for your review and I promise you we will do our best to give you an 100% satisfaction during our next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This relative new Boutique resort is an oasis at the beach site of Lombok. Located about an hour from the airport in Sengiggi to be reached by taxi for Rp. 250.000. The (Lombok) Kuta beach close to new airport seems to be more beautiful and will develop over the years. Now only e.g. Novotel. The place to be is the other side, Senggigi where the old airport was. The Boutique Hotel and whole design set up is very nice in many details. Beautiful rooms, garden and reception. The Bar, restaurant and pool area are overlooking the beach and sea. The resort is not so big and massive as other very nice onces. The resort is suitable for the traveller looking for a smaller quite resort with more privacy. Location is a little outside town as most of them are which I did not experience as a problem and you do not want to be in Sengiggi unless you want to jump the different bars and walk back home... even then .... This resort is not one to lay on the beach but you do not need to with the sun beds offered overlooking the sea. There is only one connecting room type of bungalow which is comfortable with kids. The rooms are nicely designed with an open outside bathroom with shower. Beds, pillows, mini bar, safe, AC, wifi all nice and convenient and of high quality. All have a small terras to relax or read and plan new travel adventures. Excellent luggage service and friendly staff. The pool area offers enough quality sun beds, towels and parasols to relax. It is difficult though to catch the sun as most sun beds are located under the many palm trees. The pool service can be more pro active as people sometimes claim a sun bed early without using it, just arriving very late/limited or just leave the towels not knowing if you can take the bed or not. The hotel is outside the small town Sengiggi and can be reached by taxi for Rp 15.000 ( $ 1,5) only, as well many restaurants offer a free shuttle service like “ Square Restaurant” by far the best in town. Good location for taking a private chartered boat to the Gili islands from Sengiggi beach. Very nice snorkeling at the 3 Gili’s a full day costing total US $ 70,- Easy to rent at agency across “Asmara restaurant” or rent a motorbike for $5 a day. Food and drinks are priced in line with quality of the resort. You would expect that such a resort offers a real espresso/cappuccino at breakfast. Unfortunately this was only offered when you would pay an additional $5++ This was the only missed opportunity to make the stay excellent in the smallest details.

Room Tip: When you travel with kids, you may want to ask for the only connecting room available !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Chandi is a lovely resort, with gorgeous villas, good location, and very helpful and friendly staff, the chef goes out of his way to prepare your choice of food, very well maintained, and the massages are located close to the sounds of the sea waves, and the restaurant is unbelievable close to the sea, the manager Mr Wire is doing a very fine job with the upkeep of the property, I recommend it to all, its my destination resort in Lombok at all times.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niloufer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Layar
3.1 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,594 reviews
3.0 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
1.6 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#11 of 29 in Senggigi
912 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#7 of 7 in Mangsit
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Senggigi Km 5, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Batu Layar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Price Range: £73 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life … Situated in a beautiful coconut grove on the west coast of Lombok Island, The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa offers it´s guests an exceptional level of comfort and tranquility. Guest satisfaction and unforgettable holidays are our vision; personalized service and privacy for our guests is our mission. Our hotel is only a 5 minutes’ drive from Senggigi, Lombok’s tourist and shopping area, 20 minutes’ drive to Mataram (capital of Lombok) and 40 minutes’ drive to Lombok´s international Airport (Bandara International Lombok). The Chandi Boutique Resort and Spa offers: 15 Generous Villas All villas are furnished with exclusive interior in a modern minimalist style and feature a furnished outdoor veranda, king-size bed, spacious bathroom with open garden shower, dressing area, flat screen TV, DVD- player, telephone, free Wi-Fi access, minibar and air-conditioning. The hotel provides complimentary amenities, such as daily bottled mineral water, tea & coffee facilities, thoughtful toiletries, bathrobe & slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing