We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful boutique Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melasa House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melasa House
Canggu, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful boutique Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our stay last week at the Melasa House was very memorable and we have fallen in love with the place, the people there and the atmosphere. The service was outstanding! We booked directly and called Pak Dodhik - he was very helpful on the phone and even organised airport pick-ups for us. The staff was very helpful and attentive on site too.
The garden and pool are clean & well kept and our room was in a top condition & very comfortable. We felt well taken care of and will always book again when we plan our next Lombok trip.
The owner is Western but wasn't there when we stayed but there was really no need to communicate with anybody else apart from Pak Dodhik who was on top of everything.
The hotel has a pretty view over the coast line and is about 4 km outside of the busier Senggigi and getting around in Blue Bird taxis was not a problem.
We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Book directly - it worked out cheaper for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Melasa Hotel and Melasa House are the same place, don't get confused.
I stayed for 4 nights and felt quite happy there. The rooms are clean and stylish, the breakfast lovely, the pool refreshing. Is it a quiet place? Yes, absolutly. Except in the early morning hours. A lot of cocks are crowing and soon afterwards the muezzin starts singing. The mosque is near and the cheap loudspeakers are really loud. Better use ear-plugs.
The staff is helpful and friendly. Thank you, Yana, for the trip to the north of Lombok.
Unfortunately the access road is really rough and dark. You better make sure where you are because no taxi driver knows the place and you can't see the sign at night.
A taxi to Senggigi costs only 20'000 and takes 5 minutes.
The WiFi works only in the pool area.
.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61hitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I chose to stay at the Melase after reading the reviews, the location provides easy access to and from the new airport as well as being only ten minute away from the speed boats to Bali and the Gili isles. I stayed at the Melasa four nights, moving on to Bali and then Singapore. I then returned for a further five nights, I was very impressed with the beauty of the infinity pool and the gardens were very well laid out and impeccably kept. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean, Breakfast was traditional and served on a purpose built balcony with amazing views of the volcano. The staff and owners where really nice and made me feel very welcome. I would highly recommend the Melase and cant wait to return

Room Tip: This is a new building with spectacular views from every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggyk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I chose to stay at Melasa House after reading reviews and was wanting a base for my stay in Lombok that was "off the beaten track" but near Sengiggi. I stayed for 7 nights with a break of one night on Gili Air staying at the Bel Air Resort. The house is a couple of hundred metres away from the Sengiggi road and approached along a steep and rough track.The Melasa Guest accommodation has been fitted out and furnished to a very high specification, (the first floor rooms have a great sunset view in the evening) the building is located away from the House in landscaped gardens which is walled surrounded by coconut trees and patrolled by security staff on site and despite being not far from the road very quiet and sheltered. The swimming pool was clean and welcoming for a dip to cool off and the area has comfortable furniture and Gazebo for shade. If you are a Liverpool football fan ( I'm not!) ask to have a look in "Franks bar" and see the memorabilia on display. An excellent choice of Breakfast was served in the covered dining area adjacent to the guesthouse. All the staff were courteous, helpful and pleased to answer questions or advice about getting around the island and places to visit. It is worth having a walk up the track from the house as there are some good views to be had towards the sea and Bali and to the other side across towards Materam and green farmed areas. I had the pleasure of meeting the owners whilst I was there; Mr Frank, Lady Tinni and son Panji a great kid who loves to engage in conversation and will go far! I am planning to return to Lombok and surrounding islands next year with my wife for longer and look forward to revisiting Melasa House during my vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyandHagrid_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
229 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

It is not a hotel, but a B&B. Reception/staff leaves at 17:00.
We stayed 8 nights in the family room, with 1 extra bedroom, rooms are new. Room 06, is spacious, clean, bright and comfortable. Nice, big terrace and we had a great view on the vulcano, sea and trees.
Quiet surroundings, nice graden and a small, but nice pool area. A lot of English tv channels, fridge, safe, big cupboard and very nice smelling towels and sheets.
Bathroom was rather small, especially for a family room, and almost no water pressure for the hot water. Mosque is quite loud and earplugs are a good option.
No phone or internet in the room. Internet is availible around the pool and worked well enough for gmail.
It is a bit from the main road, shops and restaurants, and it is up hill. Great for the noise, but transport is needed. If you have problems with your legs, feet, everything is up hill and with stairs. The road to the main road is in a very bad condition.
We had the problem that there was almost no staff the first few days, we were the only guests, nothing was explained, had to search for staff members, they had their holidays. The quality of the breakfast was very disappointing! English/Continental, nasi/mie goreng (we didn’t try). Every day the same, pineapple and melon, canned juice? No fresh (aways warm) milk for cereal/musli. No tomatoes, tiny, processed sausages. Toast was that cheap, white, sugar industrial bread, that tastes like carton. Very uneccesary because fresh bread, fresh milk, tomatoes and good sausages are available. At Lombi Bakery and Taman bakery you can find tasty bread. Breakfast it till 09:00 am, we were the only guests? that we found very irritating.
I'm not sure if you can eat lunch/dinner there. I don't know about the "neighbor noise" because we were the only guests that week.
Overall we had a pleasant stay, a little overpriced, but after seen a lot of hotels in and around Sengiggi, this is a good choice in its (Lombok) price range, it is quiet, comfortable rooms and a beautiful view. I do hope they will improve the breakfast and switch to fresh products.

Room Tip: Room no 6 is on the top floor and has a beautiful view. Rooms on the first floor they can't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessavanweelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We picked this hotel for our stay in Lombok over New Year's Eve. And we made our choice based on the reviews we read. As it is off the busy area of Senggigi town, it took the driver awhile to find the place. We were looking for Melasa Hotel but the only signage we saw was 'Melasa House'. I think they need to make their signage more visible. Anyway, it's a private villa located up the hill and the road is not in very good condition. I think the driver must have felt sorry for the car's suspension! Hope they will fix the road soon. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the security guard! Sorry forgot to ask for his name. We saw him playing many roles in the hotel even though he's supposed to be the security guard. He helped us carry our luggage to the room and we saw him teaching another staff to put towers on the sunbathing chairs around the pool. The housekeeping staff were friendly and always greet you with a smile. At night we needed transport to go to Senggigi town for dinner and countdown, so the security guard helped us to call a taxi. However, we waited for some time and was told no taxi, probably because it's peak hours. The security guard actually offered to take us to town with his motor cycle as well as his friends! There were 3 of us, so he called another 2 friends to give us a ride to town. We were really grateful with his gesture! We did offer some petrol money to them to show our appreciation. The security guard even told us to call the hotel or him if we needed transport back after the countdown! So sweet of him! Breakfast at the hotel was great. There were 3 menus to choose from and there were cereals and fruits as well! It was the best breakfast we had in the entire trip! And I also had the best sleep with their comfy mattress and pillows. The room was spacious, clean and well kept. I just want to commend the staff for their exemplary service, and their passion in their job. Pls keep up with the great work & spirits!

Room Tip: They have rooms for 4 persons if you're traveling in group/family. There's a king sized bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early November and were pleasantly surprised by everything we encountered. Being the only 2 guests we were worried we'd be in the way but how wrong we were, everyone was only too pleased to help us with every request, even dropping us into town to rent a moped and offering to ride it back to the hotel for us!

The rooms are beautifully presented, spacious and well looked after by the extremely friendly and polite staff. No expense has been spared in kitting the rooms out. Breakfast was excellent and again served with friendly polite efficiency. The grounds and pool are to die for, a mini resort of their own and the ground staff always greeted us with a smile whilst going about their work.

If you're looking for a quiet location where you feel as one of the family this is the place for you.

Thanks to Dodi who manages Melasa House with an air of efficiency that is refreshingly friendly in this day and age.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Layar
3.8 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#11 of 30 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
3.9 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#10 of 30 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Jayakarta Lombok, Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melasa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melasa House

Property: Melasa House
Address: JL Nascafe no 4 | Dusun Melasa, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Batu Layar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Batu Layar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melasa House is a Private Villa with 6 boutique apartment rooms set within our superb grounds. Located on a hillside 5 minutes from the popular resort of Senggigi Lombok and 300 meters from the sea. We are dedicated to providing luxurious surroundings and facilities offering far more than is expected from the usual B&B experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melasa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing