We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good alternative to staying in Newport”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozrah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fitch Claremont Vineyard Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Bozrah B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed here on our road trip through New England and enjoyed the night we spent at the B&B. We had been planning to stay in Newport, but it was a holiday weekend and impossible to find a room for just one night. This isn't far away, but there is really nothing in the area to do if you're planning a longer stay. However, the scenic drive north from Connecticut was brilliant.

The B&B is very traditionally decorated and the couple that run it were very friendly. They also grow their own vines on the land and you get a bottle of wine to enjoy for your stay.

Enjoyed the visit, but have to say we stayed in a series of B&Bs on our trip and this was a bit on the expensive side. Minor point, wifi only really worked for me in one place for those also addicted to their smartphone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

We also decided to take a last minute trip to the casinos and found this little gem on TA. We absolutely loved sitting out on the patio surrounded by vineyards and sip both Warren's own wine and a bottle of champagne we had brought. It was super peaceful and relaxing. Fox woods was more like 20-25 min away but not a big deal. Our room downstairs had a large king bed and cute furnishings. Bathroom small but adequate. Nora was very welcoming and suggested we hang out with Warren in the vineyard but he was busy wine pressing so we just watched. Breakfast was very filling offering more variety of foods than usual B&B stuff including fresh squeezed OJ, just baked bread/bun with Nutella, eggs, sausage, some sort of quiche, fruit salad, etc. We really enjoyed our stay, bought 2 bottles of Warren's wine (and my husband is a wine snob) and plan to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My husband and I made a last minute trip up to Mohegan Sun last night and I found the Fitch Claremont on TripAdvisor. It's about 10 minutes from the casino and easy to find. The house is lovely and the room was very cozy with a comfortable bed. Nora and Warren were very welcoming and the breakfast was delicious. Freshly baked muffins and fruit followed by bacon, eggs and french toast. We would not hesitate to return for another stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We wanted to revisit Mystic and actually enjoyed our 2 night stay at the B and B more than our visit to Mystic Seaport. The rooms were large and comfortable, clean and updated. The breakfast was fabulous and plentiful, probably the most amount received in a B and B.Nora and Warren work hard to present the best B and B and it was one of the best we've stayed in. We enjoyed the patio overlooking the vineyards and after Warren got done with his chores he and Nora did a wine tasting for us as we wanted to taste the various wines. Their was a lot of noise from nearby roads but it did not disturb our sleep!!!

Room Tip: This is the place to go for sure!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank local87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Spent a weekend with very good friends - we booked the entire B&B. All the rooms were appointed very well! The bed was extremely comfortable! Breakfast was awesome! Nora and Warren are wonderful hosts and make you feel very welcome. Their wines are very very good. They truly love what they do!! The patio area overlooking the vineyard was relaxing as we enjoyed our cocktails and appetizers into the wee hours of the night. Close to Mystic (where we enjoyed a lovely afternoon), and also to Mohegan Sun. Nice break for all of us! Would definitely return for many many visits!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Spent a weekend at the Fitch Claremont that was spectacular! The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable! Breakfast was delicious and Nora and Warren could not have been better hosts. Warren gave us a tour of the vineyard as well. The place is close to Mystic, Mohegan Sun etc but still feels a world away! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timetorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We booked 2 rooms at the Fitch Claremont for my friend's bachelorette weekend. The location will take you by surprise. I've lived in CT my whole life and never heard of Bozrah, but it's so close to the casinos and Mystic (which is where we went for our night out on Saturday). Nora and Warren were beyond accommodating. We arrived late Friday night, and had packed a dinner, which they helped us set up outside on the gorgeous patio overlooking the vineyard. When we came inside, we were able to relax in a lovely sitting room and enjoy the complimentary wine that was left in our rooms. Warren even gave us an early sampling of the sweet wine that was served with breakfast. Speaking of breakfast - I wish I could move into the Fitch Claremont just so I could have that breakfast every morning! Each morning featured AMAZING potatoes and two delicious pastries (Saturday morning was a cinnamon roll and dutch apple pancakes, and Sunday morning was raspberry peach coffee cake and french-toast croissants - incredible). You would never know that Nora had cooked it all by herself just in the other room. I'm still have convinced she was hiding a pastry chef somewhere! Saturday morning, we went on the tour of their vineyard, and Warren can speak so in depth about the grapes that he grows and the wines he makes it's obvious that it's truly a passion of his, and he's good at it! The wines are delicious. It's wonderful to see people who are so dedicated to and happy with what they do. The rooms were pristine and every decorative detail around the house was flawless. It's really admirable to welcome people into your home every day, and I'm so glad that you do! Hospitality is obviously a calling for the two of you. Warren and Nora, thank you for hosting a fun, relaxing and out of the ordinary girls weekend, we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bozrah
11.8 mi away
Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn
8.8 mi away
Roseledge Country Inn and Farm Shop
7.3 mi away
Captain Grant's, 1754
Captain Grant's, 1754
#2 of 3 in Preston
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitch Claremont Vineyard Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitch Claremont Vineyard Bed and Breakfast

Address: 83 Fitchville Rd, Bozrah, CT 06334-1109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Bozrah
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bozrah
Price Range: £67 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four room unique B&B on the Old Fitch Farm Vineyard. We work hard on our 30 acre farm vineyard, to provide to the traveling public a home away, with all the things we would expected, if we were to stay. See our many reviews, enjoy the farm, barn and acreage, and you too will come back time and again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing