We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Managing expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Owenego Inn & Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Owenego Inn & Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Branford B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Managing expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This review is for the Inn:

Pros -
Time travel back to the '40's
Terrific views
Perfect if you want to completely disconnect
Helpful, friendly staff (with one exception, see below)

Cons -
No air conditioning
No luggage assistance and a steep flight of stairs to rooms
Over-priced given the shared bathroom, lack of ac
Breakfast is coffee, juice, yogurt and Costco muffins
No beach to speak of, mostly rock.
One cocktail, served in a plastic cup is $15.
Noise from weekend events

As you can tell, I've got mixed feelings about this inn. It is a throwback to a quieter time with no tv, no phones, no wifi, spotty cellular reception and no air conditioning, and a shared bathroom down the hall. I imagine this is what inns were like back in when my parents were young.

Unfortunately, the prices are very 21st century. The rooms are too expensive for what you get. The rooms were clean and tidy. Furnishings were clearly recognizable as courtesy of Chez Target. The cost of one cocktail, served from the food truck parked on the premises, is exorbitant. I took off a star for for the prices & breakfast.

The breakfast, as a previous reviewer mentioned, is uninspired. It is especially unappealing when you roll down on a Sunday morning to see an extensive spread laid out (salmon, fruit, pastries, ham, etc.), only to be harshly told by the woman in charge "THAT'S NOT FOR YOU!!!" in tones suitable for warning off a seasoned criminal. The breakfast for in residents was off in another room, and featured muffins from Costco thrown into a basket and yogurt.

All this said, the staff were terrific (with that one exception). Would I stay there again? No - there are better options at the same price point, and with air conditioning. However, for the right person seeking to time travel a bit in the more temperate months, this may be the perfect spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Attended a anniversary party for friends. Food and service were outstanding. Location is simply one of the best views of Long Island Sound. Grounds are lovely and inviting. You just can't miss this!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethietwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were recently here for a few days and thought we were checking into a Bed & Breakfast; it was just a bed, and a small one at that. My wife and I had to share a double bed, which we haven't done in a very long time, and it was just too small. The staff was very nice and accommodating but there was no breakfast served other than some coffee and rolls on Sunday only. Rooms were small.
The view of the Thimble Islands was beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room with larger beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike4mula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hightstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Our experience at the Owenego could not have been better. First, this is a place that belongs to a different time. Its a family run beach club with a small inn operation. If you're expecting a full service luxury hotel, look elsewhere. And, even though it is a beach club, I wouldnt take the kids--its a B&B: smaller rooms, no TV, shared bathroom.

But, if you want a place with great views and sea breezes, awesome staff, (Bartender Kristen was awesome! Took excellent care of us
all weekend.), located in a very low key, down to earth area, I would highly recommend the Owenego.

Thanks for a terrific time!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

I calle in person to make the reservation and received a long notice that there would be a wedding the night we were staying and we would probably hear noise from the wedding till 10pm. That was ok. Afer waiting for the lone staff member to finish a personal call before check me in , I was shown to the remove( could barely get the door open) to find it had no air conditioning. There was an old looking fan thatI wouldn't wanted tohave on around my daughter and 2 very small windows. We left on seeting this since it was 90 degrees that day. Given the amount of money they were charging I was stunned that there was no air conditioning. The beach areas wasn't that nice either.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelerj1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We had an absolutely wonderful time during our stay at the Owenego Inn. The rooms and the grounds are extremely well-kept and absolutely beautiful. The water was a little chilly for swimming that early in the season, but we didn't let that stop us! The fee for the room was very reasonable, and we found all of the staff very helpful. Nearby Branford has an array of cute shops and restaurants--plenty to keep busy with, and nice for walks around the town's green. It was such a perfect beginning to our getaway, and we hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aureolinlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branford
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
10.2 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 7 in Branford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
7.2 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
6.9 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owenego Inn & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owenego Inn & Beach Club

Property: Owenego Inn & Beach Club
Address: 40 Linden Ave, Branford, CT 06405-5237
Region: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Branford
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Owenego Inn & Beach Club Hotel Branford
Owenego Inn And Beach Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing