We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Very clean room, comfortable bed. Had issues with the wi-fi which was frustrating, they should invest in a better router or signal booster. Convenient location off highway yet room was quiet. Heater was rather loud. The owner was extremely nice and pleasant. If having the most modern amenities is important to you, this is not the place for you, but in terms of cleanliness, this place is top notch. Bonus was having the refrigerator and microwave.

Room Tip: Others have commented on the non-smoking rooms not being available - I had no problem getting one an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra M, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We are sorry for the inconvenience with the WIFI. Since you have been to our property, we have installed a special WIFI booster and router that has taken care of all the issues. We do hope you come back to see us again. We also updated our TV's to HD LED flatscreens...we are sure you will love them! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

There was a bed and plumbing TV and that was about it. Reception was less than -- Thanks very much for being our guest. Multiple times the WIFI was down and had to request reboot from office. And I believe it was shut down during the night.
Clean and neat room though I do suggest having hand wipes available as the TV remote needed to me de slimed. Toilet was not of low volume flush capacity which in this day in age it should be.
Over all a less than fine place to stay but what do you want for such an inexpensive cost.
Will look for something a little better next time.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else unless low price is your need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishdogface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra M, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We are sorry that you did not find our rooms to your liking...we have clean, quality rooms and are very proud of our housekeeping team (as noted in all of our other reviews). Since you visited, we have corrected the WIFI situation with proper booster and router and now everything is running great. We have just ordered our new contemporary bedding and are always updating to better standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Because of my job as a disaster relief worker I go through periods where I spend a lot of time away from home. Finding a hotel that is willing to work with your crazy schedule and isn't trying to take advantage of a time when people are in need is believe it or not difficult. The owner and his staff of this Americas Best gets my 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra M, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we are always trying to accommodate our guests schedules and situations. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you remember us when you are back in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have not actually stayed here but I apparently had reservations that were no where to be found. I then found the charge of this hotel on my credit card after the weekend was up and now could not get a refund. Spoke to the hotel and my booking agency that could not tell me prior to the weekend that I had reservation so I booked somewhere else, now they want to keep my money. After contacting the reservation line and dealing with the customer service I still can not get a refund because they leave up to the hotel itself. The Manager Patel says according to the booking.com I made reservations but doing more investigation I still could not find where it shows I made them so to me I got ripped off. I would never recommend or look at another chain fo American's Best Value Inn!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra M, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

This was a reservation made during the past ownership and we are not clear on exactly what happened. We are hoping you come by and stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My son and I recently went to Mass for a motorcycle race and came home through RI and CT. Had no reservations but looked up motels on the Garmin. This establishment had rooms available at a very reasonable rate so gave it a try. The gentlemen at the front desk was very pleasant and the room was the cleaniest I've stayed in for quite a while, cleaner than most hotel/motels who are much higher priced. I definitely give this 2 thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Second time I stayed here. The first time I tolerated it. This time we had a smoking room, ugh. Everything stunk. Cigarette burns on the blanket, toe nail clippings on the rug and the toilet overflowed. I had to mop it up with the thin towels we had. The TV was satellite and only got about 4 channels. No I will not be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVig629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I only stayed one night but the owners were friendly, the room was clean & quiet. It was a hot day & the AC kept the room cool but not like ice. Bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtlehead13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branford
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
2.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Guilford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Whitney Inn & Suites
Whitney Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Hamden
165 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
5.6 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Guilford
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 565 E Main St, Branford, CT 06405-2949
Region: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Price Range: £55 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just east of New Haven, the AAA-approved Americas Best Value Inn of Branford, CT is conveniently positioned just off I-95 for easy on and off highway access. This charming one-story property offers 22 spacious guest rooms with at-door parking, microwaves and mini-fridges in most rooms, and cable TV ESPN. Close to Hammonasset Beach, Yale University, outlet shopping, and casinos. Come and stay with the Americas Best Value Inn of Branford and enjoy family hospitality! Branford is located along the Atlantic Ocean shoreline where you will find spectacular views, boating, and other recreational activities. Discover the treasured Thimble Islands as you take a cruise from the town dock in Stony Creek, or enjoy more than 3,500 acres of woodlands and lush salt marshes on miles of hiking trails and recreational space. * Tourist Information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing