We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thimble Islands Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Branford B&B and Inns
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfection?”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Location - on the water overlooking the Thimble Islands at the end of a private driveway with plenty of parking. Great views from every room. We fell asleep to the lapping sound of gentle waves and awoke to the noise of the gulls circling the creek for breakfast. Short walk to beautiful Trolley Trail (long boardwalk/bridges over salt marsh with osprey, snowy egrets and crabs all plentiful) which connects to Audobon property for more walking options. Easy walk to docks for island tour, markets, etc.

Accommodations - excellent. Home is beautifully appointed with lots of attention to detail like the use of pink granite for windowsills that was once quarried at this very site (and used in many famous places like the base of the Statue of LIberty). King bed very comfortable, nice hot shower. Good size room. Very quiet location.

Value - excellent for our Egret Room which even had a jetted tub surrounded by windows overlooking the water. Full breakfast of your choosing (owners did a great job of accommodating my restricted diet) and wine/beer and appetizers served for happy hour on the lovely terrace or enclosed porch overlooking the water.

Hosts - friendly, courteous without being pushy (even joined us for pizza Saturday night, at our invitation, at a place on the docks that we could easily walk to)

Room Tip: We liked the Egret Room which was a little less costly and had a jetted tub overlooking the water. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveler01534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our stay at the Thimble Island Bed and Breakfast was great in every way. The breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed them while looking at the fantastic view of the Thimble Islands and Long Island Sound. It's only a short walk to several great restaurants and to the Thimble Island boat tour. What was best - the hospitality of Julie and Tony. They are gracious hosts who made our stay a most enjoyable and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I wanted to take my wife to special location for her birthday: The Thimble Islands B &B in Stony Creek is the place to go. Julie & Tony were extremely friendly and made us feel welcome right from the moment of our arrival.

The Heron Room was clean, well-appointed and had an ideal view of the water. They offered us refreshments and then inquired about our preferences for breakfast(eggs, French toast, etc.)
We had our lunch right on their dock overlooking the water, then a nice walk along the "Trolley Trail" which is near the inn.

Upon our return, Julie & Tony provided wine and cheese before we headed out for dinner. The screened-in deck allowed for a gentle breeze without any bugs--and an impressive view of the Thimble Islands!

We discovered we had much in common and by the end of the first evening we felt like "family" visiting for a summer vacation. Next morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast that we prepared by Tony! We thanked them for their wonderful "hosting" and promised to return in the near future.

WE WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE THIMBLE ISLANDS B & B!!!

Room Tip: The Heron is ideal!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 of of the most pleasurable nights that we can recall at the Thimble Island B&B. We have traveled extensively throughout the country often staying at B&B places. This was by far the best experience we have ever had. Tony and Julie run a quaint, meticulous inn with intoxicating views. The breakfast is served on time, perfectly prepared. The time we spent on the screened porch sharing conversation, toasting to life, was a pleasure we will not soon forget. I find myself thinking of the friends we made often.
Go now!
You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie B, Owner at Thimble Islands Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 June 2016
This is our favorite review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

If your idea of a relaxing weekend is to sit with a soft breeze coming in over the water, satisfied after a delicious breakfast and gaze out over an incredible view of the beautiful Thimble Islands, this is the place to go! Tony and Julie are great and gracious hosts, the house is gorgeous and any stress that you bring with you simply blows away in that soft breeze.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 days at the Thimble Island B & B and completely agree with all of the comments in the positive reviews. In trying to express new insights I thought of Ralph Lauren linens, eggs cooked perfectly three different ways for breakfast on the screen porch, reading at the end of the dock enjoying Long Island Sound, a leisurely 10 minute walk to enjoy the low-keyed village of Stoney Creek, a fascinating boat ride to view 32 of the Thimble Islands each occupied by different size and style summer homes, a jogging/walking trail five minutes from the house where we saw an osprey nest with three babies, and so much more to explore. We plan to return once every season. We loved this
B & B.

Room Tip: Both rooms are very comfortable right on the water. The Heron room is larger and has a larger bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzmegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I would have to echo many of the other fantastic reviews of how Thimble Island B&B as a peaceful, lovely and gracious home.

The hosts, Julie and Tony, could not have been more hospitable and accommodating. Their interest in getting to know their guests while giving us the space to unplug & unwind is a tricky balance that they struck so well. Their hospitality was exceptional: from complimentary wine & cheese before we headed out to dinner, to greeting us with a roaring fire in the fireplace, to offering to recommend and make dinner reservations for us... you can tell they love serving their guests.

The breakfast menu catered to our various preferences and was set up right on time with hot coffee, the New York times, and a magnificent view of the Long Island Sound waiting for us when we awoke. Tony is quite a cook (ask about the Gorgonzola & caramelized onion omelet!) We are quite the culinary snobs and found the meal to be to notch.

When we stumbled upon Thimble Island B&B, my partner and I were looking for a place to retreat from New York City and this could not have been a better fit for our needs. Whether journaling out on the patio, reading on the sofa, or napping after breakfast back in our room, we felt so at home and comfortable unplugging from the world and finding some real peace and quiet. The space was clean and comfortable, and the amenities were top notch (ie the Jacuzzi tub in the Egret room ... what a view!) I think I took 3 bath in 18 hours and slept better than I had in months.

Of the many B&Bs I have stayed in, this one certainly tops the charts for me. Go with no plans or expectations beyond true relaxation and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlycreighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branford
21.0 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
720 reviews
7.6 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#3 of 7 in Branford
49 reviews
15.5 mi away
Angels' Watch Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thimble Islands Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thimble Islands Bed & Breakfast

Property: Thimble Islands Bed & Breakfast
Address: 28 W Point Rd, Branford, CT 06405-5732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Branford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the quaint village of Stony Creek, this secluded luxury B&B features magnificent views of the Thimble Islands and Long Island Sound right at your doorstep. It's a perfect location to relax and enjoy the beautiful Connecticut shoreline, 12 miles east of New Haven and 75 miles from New York City. Thimble Islands Bed & Breakfast offers two elegant guest bedrooms each with private bath and glorious water views. Amenities include a spacious living room with fireplace, dining room, family room with HD plasma TV, wireless internet, screened porch, large garden terrace, 30-foot pier, and parking. Town beaches, scenic village greens, quaint shops, nature walks, boat tours, hiking trails, fine restaurants, and vibrant cultural attractions are minutes away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing