We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs work” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BB Shack - CLOSED

BB Shack
Cuisines: Bar, American, Brew Pub, Grill, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs work”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Came in for a casual dinner with husband and 15 year old, while the Caesar salad arrived quickly and with a limp Parmesan chip, it took over 30 mins for the burger to arrive and my husband was still left waiting for his crab cake. Waitress was less than helpful. One and done.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Best Burgers in CT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Been here 4 times. Loved everything. I have to say that the expansion of the menu was a welcome thing. Now there are more choices for lighter eaters, and more kinds of burgers. Fries are improved, but those who expect tasteless crunchy fries like McDonalds might not appreciate them. They are definitely "frites" - they taste like potatoes. The sloppy joe and the pesto chicken sandwich are also awesome, and the beer list is the best outside of New Haven. Have not tried the appetizers, always saving my appetite for the sandwich and a shared dessert so I won't comment on those.
It's a family friendly restaurant and bar, so it is noisy. But when people are having a good time, they get loud!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great burgers and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The BB Shack is one of a kind. They have an excellent choice of beers - enough to satisfy any palate. The burgers are delicious and made to order with care.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mukund N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Second time changed my mind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I wrote a negative review of the BB shack about a month ago. I was contacted by the owner and manager, who apolized and asked me to give it another try. Any one can have an off night, so I went back with my husband and kids. I had the grilled chicken pesto sandwich and can honestly say it was delicious. The chicken was moist, the pesto was excellent, but the star of the sandwich was the smoked mozzarella. I would definitely order it again. The rest of my family all had burgers and all enjoyed them very much. The kids had deserts and all enjoyed them as well. I'm glad I gave them another chance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shell914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not returning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

visited the b&b shack last night with 6 friends. we all agreed we were not returning. started off with nachos with beef chile nd cheese, the meatw as so overcooked it dissolved like a powder in your mouth, the pico di gallo was nearly tasteless and not so much cheese. the worst offenders were the pommes frite or French fries which were more like sautéed potato slices, not a crispy one on anyone's plate! the cole slaw was cut in such a way that it was difficult to get it on your fork,much less your mouth and it was almost totally tasteless. aside from the food, the noise level was so bad that we had to practically scream at each other to be heard.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vivian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BB Shack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing