We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not much special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Conference Center Branford / New Haven
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Branford
New Haven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not much special”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

When I first arrived for checking in the gentle men wanted to charge me additional for being under 21 however for online booking there is no verification stating what age you should be this causes inconvenience because once you're card information is already given only then are you told because you are under age there is an additional few I did not appreciate that it felt like a scam. Also once checked in I was given a room already occupied when corrected there was no apology for myself getting embarrassed and walking into another guests room while they were still occupying the room. When I was given a different room it was pretty disappointing to see how the carpet didn't look vacuumed, but who after the third inconvenience would keep wasting time? I did not enjoy much of my Valentines day due to this hotel I feel I did not see my moneys worth I think the personnel running the place were arrogant as well and had no manners. I was interrupted and told to check out as well a good five minutes before checkout time I feel I was rushed out and it was very rude!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    45
    43
    79
    105
See reviews for
120
69
34
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here while traveling for business related reasons and never again will I make that choice. The room smelt of musk, I think it must have been mold, and smoke. It is to my understanding that smoking rooms were provided at this facility but you would think they would keep them far away from one another. While the room was a decent size it was outdated and the carpet had an immense amount of stains and what looked like ciggarette burns. The sheets on my bed also had stains one which was of a brownish color, I don't even want to know what that was. The metal fixtures in the bathroom were all fairly rusted and the towels provided in the room are very tiny and could never accomodate a full sized man. I then had a problem with the remote to my television not working. When I called the front desk the man working could not understand my problem and was very rude and quick to brush me off. He called maintence to try and fix my tv and while he got to my room very quickly, the language barrier was even worse. The so-called breakfast in the morning is a joke. The creamer I used for my coffee was actually chunky and the bread seemed rather crispy, this is before putting it in the toaster. All in all I did not enjoy my stay here whatsoever. I would not reccomend this place to friends, family, or even a complete stranger.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffery H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The first thing you notice when you pull into the property is that it is quite dated, the parking lot is in dire need of paving and the doors of all the rooms open to the outside. There are no indoor corridors. The motel is 30 feet from I-95, so you can hear the traffic noise very well from the room. The front desk staff was friendly and check-in was fine. We stayed in room 132 which was on the second floor. The first thing I noticed upon entering the room was the foul smell. It is hard to describe the aroma, but it was not pleasant. It was not so bad that I could not stay there, but it took a little getting used to. The room decor was dated and dark. The carpets needed to be cleaned. One of the lamps in the room was missing a bulb which caused the room to feel even darker. There was plenty of dirt and cobwebs behind the nightstand and the phone jack behind the nightstand was coming off of the wall. The sheets on the bed, however, appeared to be clean. The A/C - heater unit was fairly new and, while somewhat noisy, did heat the room up fairly well. The thermostat was a bit off because I had it set to 69 and it must have been 79 in the room. The bathroom did have a granite counter top, which was nice. Most of the metal items in the bathroom - shower curtain, towel rack, outlet covers - had a good deal of rust on them.

The motel offers breakfast in the lobby with the price of your room. It is not a fancy breakfast - cereal, bagels, donuts and breads - but is is adequate. The coffee was fairly good though. Don't try the apple juice from the juice machine - it had fermented and was nasty.

The motel was far below the standards I usually set for accommodations, but I am picky when it comes to where I will stay. The lodging arrangements for this trip were made by another family member, so I had no choice in the accommodations. Had it been up to me, I would have stayed somewhere else in the area. If you are not picky about your accommodations, and need an inexpensive place to stay while in the New Haven area, this place will probably do.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPFEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona City, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I really enjoyed the hotel. It exceeded my expectations in terms of quality and service. The owners were very friendly and helpful.Cleaning staff was great (the woman inparticular! very friendly with my girls).
Breakfast was awesome .. Muffins, Bagels,pasteries, Cereal, Coffee, Tea & Juice. All fairly fresh. Our room had mini fridge, microwave, coffe/tea maker, bathroom had hairdryer, toiletries, decent towels. All very clean.
I definitely recommend this place!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naveen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I took a recent trip down to Branford to visit family & friends. I wanted my personal space so chose to stay at a hotel and with a budget, Days Inn was my choice. They've definitely spruced the place up a bit, so after reading some of the reviews I had hope. The entire parking lot has been repaved and the exterior has a fresh, bright new color. The front desk clerk was especially helpful & welcoming. My room was a decent size and looked clean & a bit updated, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the free wi-fi was a definite plus. I got a very good nightly rate and was satisfied with my stay, I had no problems, no noisy neighbors and breakfast in the morning. I think this place is worth taking a second look at.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank layla r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed room after attending a performance at the Yale Rep Theatre. Beautiful, modern, the staff is friendly and service oriented. Very convenient to the Rep. Great counter to work at with real desk chair and lamp, small but very sufficient bathroom; quiet,feel good atmosphere.
Beds very extremely comfortable, Iphone speaker charger, real business style phones at bed and desk. The elevator responded immediately which is something you don't see all that often in an urban hotel.

Room Tip: Room service is EXCELLENT!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudhakar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2013

worst place ever!
This is an old and beat up motel, very noisy and skimpy with any amenities. If I had known that, I wouldn't have booked it. The person who checked us in was just short of rude. At least someone tried to make the room clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branford
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 7 in Branford
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Guilford
5.3 mi away
Days Inn New Haven
Days Inn New Haven
#8 of 12 in New Haven
272 reviews
7.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Conference Center Branford / New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Conference Center Branford / New Haven

Property: Days Inn Conference Center Branford / New Haven
Address: 375 E Main St, Branford, CT 06405-2939 (Formerly Branford Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Conference Center Branford / New Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Conference Center Branford / New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Branford
Days Inn And Conference Center
Days Inn Branford
Branford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing