We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice and Clean.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My stay was for business in the area. This hotel as you can tell what an older one that has been upgraded. It is clean and neat. Walls are paper thin. I had a female in the next room who spent the night talking to everyone on her phone and if I put my ear to the wall, I was able to hear every word of her conversation. That was annoying when it was 11 pm and you want to sleep. The breakfast was what you expected from this hotel chain. The only other issue is there is one elevator and it is very slow. This hotel only has 3 floors, but that makes a difference when you have to lug your luggage. On my last day of my 2 night stay, the elevator stopped working..so yep, I had to carry my suitcase down 3 flights. Thank God I only had a carry-on size to carry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Cabrill,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am happy that you noticed the cleanliness of our hotel. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience about the noise by some of the staff. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    68
    29
    17
    22
See reviews for
71
33
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our family of 4 had a recent one-night stay at this hotel when we were visiting Branford for the annual Branford Festival. Being past residents of the town, we were familiar with the area. The hotel has been well-kept and the rooms were spacious with attractive decor. The front desk staff was very helpful, providing service with a smile. They were very accommodating and flexible with our need for a late check-out as we were participating in the late-morning Branford Road Race, and suggested we keep the room until we could shower and clean up after the race, before traveling back home. We would stay there again, and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a friend's wedding. Location and parking were very convenient. Room and bathroom were clean although lacking some toiletries. There was a continental breakfast but it was quite bad. Good value for the price- you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGrindrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear RGrindrod,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am happy that you found our location convenient. I am truly sorry to hear that the breakfast served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were highly impressed with the hotel staff. The front desk clerk, Heidi Meagher was especially helpful in helping us get a crib for our son and helping us find other things we needed. The breakfast was nice and the serving staff was helpful in answering questions about ingredients for our dietary needs.

The pool was nice and clean and the exercise room had nice, new equipment. We also liked the Nautica theme around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haledon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stay at this hotel frequently when visiting relatives in the area. One of the better Holiday Inn Express hotels I've stayed in. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location. Clean and well kept. Do not hesitate to stay here when you are in Branford.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

It's odd - all of the surrounding towns seem to have a much better selection of hotels, but when I visit Branford for work, all I want to do at the end of the day is get to the hotel. Which is why I've been exploring the hotels of Branford.

The Holiday Inn is hands down the best. If you need a hotel in Branford, this is the only place to stay. Trust me - the other options are worse than dismal.

I don't have anything bad to say about the hotel, other than the fact that they seem to be quite overpriced based on their competitors. They seem to always have similar rates as the 4 star Omni Hotel in New Haven, even though this is definitely not a 4 star property.

Everything was clean, recently updated, staff was polite, check in was easy. The room I was in was quite large - I think it was a King Executive. It was a corner room with tons of light from windows on 2 walls, spacious enough to comfortably have a king bed, gigantic TV cabinet, queen sleeper sofa, coffee table, desk, and mini fridge. The bathroom was clean and recently updated.

Decor was interesting - all the furnishings were newer, but the motif was like something out of a Spanish hacienda boudoir.

USA Today was delivered in the mornings.

Breakfast was expanded from the usual continental: pancakes, scrambled eggs, biscuits, sausage gravy, bacon in addition to the usual.

The pool area was clean. The fitness room was lacking, but clean and the equipment was new.

But - it's a Holiday Inn Express. A 3 star hotel at best. That overcharges. I can't give it a rating better than "Average" for those reasons.

Room Tip: get a corner room. bigger, more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dansoleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear dansoleau,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I am very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and comfort at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Branford.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Windsor, VY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I was shocked to discover that this is a fairly new hotel. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. However, it was impossible to sleep. First of all, the beds are rock hard and then there is the constant noise from the halls and neighboring rooms. Walls are paper thin and you can hear the TV and conversations of other guests. We had to call the front desk at 2:00 am to help with noise control, which they promptly did. The bathroom was large enough but lacked a magnifying mirror with night light and also no working ceiling fan. We spent two sleepless nights at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the morning breakfast was sufficient. Doubt I would stay here again due to the noise level. Obviously the construction of this hotel is substandard but I do commend the staff as they were always attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: If you are staying at this hotel, pick the highest floor for your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Barb H,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our amenities continually.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Branford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branford
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 7 in Branford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven
6.8 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Guilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
19.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
7.2 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven

Property: Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Address: 309 East Main Street, Branford, CT 06405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT. This beautiful, newly built hotel is conveniently located off I-95 at Exit 55, just 1 mile from Downtown Branford. Situated 10 miles from downtown New Haven, 35 miles from the Hartford Convention Center & 45 minutes from Bradley International Airport, this property features 96 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms. The hotel features a Complimentary Express Start Breakfast along with the most up to date amenities and facilities including an Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, On-site Laundry Facility, Fitness Center, Business Center and Free High Speed Internet Access. Ideal for business or leisure, the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT hotel is only minutes from local businesses and attractions. Free WiFi & Ethernet High Speed Internet throughout the hotel!Visiting on Business:The Holiday Inn Express makes doing business easy, located just minutes from: Harley Davidson, Wal-Mart, Home Depot, Lowe's, HondaVisiting Area Attractions:Be close to all that this area has to offer, including the Branford Festival, Branford Town Center, Thimble Islands, Yale University, Lighthouse Point, Ocean Beach State Park, Trolley/Peabody Museums.'STAY SMART' at the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT and Experience this new hotel with outstanding services and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven Hotel Branford
Holiday Inn Branford
Branford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing