We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Miss Thelma's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Miss Thelma's
Ranked #75 of 368 Restaurants in Bridgeport
Restaurant details
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Love this restaurant. They have the best soul food in town. Had fried catfish that was out of this world.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank girl714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Soul Food in Connecticut”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very good food, affordable and good service Downtown Bridgeport. If you visit Bridgeport, you don't want to miss it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank E L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

A friend and I were traveling back from NYC to Boston, and we made a pit stop in Bridgeport. We saw Miss Thelma's place and decided to give it a try. We were rewarded with a fantastic lunch. The fried catfish was very good. But, I would have been content if I had just eaten the sides. I would go again just for the black eyed peas and collard greens. Unfortunately, the daily specials were not available. They all sounded very interesting. Now I know why they call it soul food. Beautiful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xosgul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Soul Food that is clearly from the Heart!”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

As local resturants go, this is a hidden gem. Located directly across the street from the Court house in downtown Bridgeport.

This is a definite must if you're in the area and looking for a bit of southern style soul food. Everything from Fried Chicken, Collard Greens, Candied Yams, Macaroni and Cheese is delcious! Service is quick (unless you go during a busy lunch day) and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PAJ-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miss Thelma's also viewed

 

Been to Miss Thelma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing