We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
477
29
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
29
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la escondida on arrival indoor pool first class attention to detail spa treatments hidden gem corner suite nothing is too much trouble stunning views beautiful hotel boutique hotel second to none high standard lunch and dinner excellent food peace and tranquility
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

A Winters Tale in a deep and dark December transformed itself into a Christmas carol of 2 nights bed and breakfast and festive goodies when we booked into La Escondida . We experienced no hard times or bleak house during our stay and our great expectations were royally met with no ba humbug in sight. Sitting by the log fire warming and with mulled wine in hand - nothing Scrooge like in this 'hideaway'. The evening turkey was no thin gruel fayre and there was definitely no need to ask for more. La Escondida does provide the ghost of Christmas present,welcoming, warming, cosy and the highest of professional standards from all staff and the owners. We enjoyed two great days for our special occasion and be certain Escondida is no mystery of Edwin Drood, it's the real deal and a wonderful wonderful life (times) experience. We were fortunate during our Drakes Duckling was in evidence but alas not on the menu. At the end of our stay as we drove down the long and winding road we were cheered by the early rendition of 'food glorious food, hot chocolate and custard ' drifting into the valley below from the wonderful La Escondida, as lunch was being served.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette V, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Dear Alan (although I feel like calling you Charles),
Your knowledge of Dickens novels is wonderful.....and what a fantastic review. You should be (if you are not already) an author! So poetic and so wonderful for us to read another great review....and what a review!
Thank you very much!
Charles Dickens also said 'Every traveller has a home of his own, and he learns to appreciate it the more from his wandering' we hope that when our travellers come to stay with us at La Escondida they actually feel as if they have arrived to their second home, and it sounds from your review this is how you and your wife feel too....we certainly hope so....why only have one 'home' in this World when you could have two!
We look forward to your next visit.
kind regards
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Fab room, lots to do , great hosts , fab food, ( Darren could we have a proper bird next Xmas!!) fab staff , location perfect . See you all new year this hotel is unbelievable, if you come to Spain you must visit. You will not be disappointed . Thank you Terry Yvette and staff

Room tip: All rooms are great
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette V, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Dear Diane,
It was a great Christmas wasn't it...we really enjoyed ourselves too...it's lovely to see people enjoying such a special time. We do buy the 'crown of turkey' but we will certainly look at buying whole turkeys next time so you could order your much longed for 'leg' now to avoid disappointment ...but now you are a master archer after your Boxing day experience you should be able to go out and shoot a few for us! It was also great to see you back for New Years Eve too!
Thank you once again
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night here over the weekend.
Every single second was magical and perfect!
We were greeted on arrival with Cava and shown around. We had a small snack and it was not only delish but also good prices (expected slight elecation due to location but its not).
We had a Cosy Room (no. 5) which had a balcony (unexpected) and Cava for our anniversary chilling in the room.
We used the indoor pool, good size and warmish water and we relaxed on the sunbeds in side in the sun. ( towels provided).
We also had a phenominal 3 course meal, mindblowingly devine - again at a very reasonable cost!

There are no TVs (but great Wifi) but we amused ourselves with the selection of games and this was perfect for us!

I would recommend here to anyone looking to relax, disconnect and be a romantic!

One last thing, the lovely Joseph couldnt be helpful enough... the beautiful fire sitting room had Christmas decs up and looked amazing, and i requested the fire to be lit (even though it was warm enough already) but bless him he got it done!!

Keep up the great work!

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rista1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette V, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear Reviewer,
The no TV's in the rooms came soon after we opened, as we had placed all TV sockets into the rooms but had not actually fitted any. As our first guests started to arrive all of them mentioned how lovely it was not to have them in the rooms, when we told them we were waiting to fit them they all persuaded us not to and this is how it evolved to be TV free, and now we are very happy that we did not as we believe it adds to the rest and relaxation our guests feel when they are here, and as you said with a good wifi and a laptop or ipad you can still watch TV if you really want too.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your one night with us and hope that you return next time for maybe a little longer to really be able to switch off completely.
Kind regards
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

This is a real gem of a place, an exclusive but affordable hideaway. The location is tranquil and the grounds are beautifully maintained. The main hotel is boutique style with many wonderful features including a log fire, snug bar and comfortable lounge areas. The rooms are very stylish yet rustic , some are charmingly cozy and the corner suites are very elegant. Beautiful English bedding and an amazingly comfy bed! Food is Michelin quality and the staff are wonderful. You are made to feel very special here - you must try it , even just for lunch. One of the very best in Spain.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sandarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette V, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear Sandra,
Well what can I say! To be classified as one of best in Spain is incredible! We certainly try our best to be professional and welcoming to all of our guest and to make their stay with us as memorable as possible and for you to say this about La Escondida is marvellous and we cannot thank you enough. Our chef has trained in Michelin restaurants he did spent some time at La Gavroche with Michel Roux, and I am sure Michel will be very happy to hear this too!
Kind regards
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2015

This hotel is just the perfect place to stay: the most friendly and helpfull staff, gorgeous rooms, terrace with 'rural view' and last but not least a restaurant with delicious meals. Just an-1-hour-drive away from the coastal skyscrapers, you'll experience a totally different Spain. Plenty of nice walks in the area, lovely little villages.. there's lots to do. And after a day hiking, what better place to come back than La Escondida!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enibasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette V, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear Enibasch,
It is amazing isnt it how we are so close to Alicante 35 minutes on a more or less direct road and 50 minutes or so from Benidorm you would think we were in a different world here. It is geat to be so close but to feel so at one with nature and the peace and quiet which is hard to find these days. Our Chef Darren will be delighted at your comments as we are very proud of our kitchen and crew where they consistently produce great dishes for our guests. Being in the Country it is difficult to find restaurants of a high quality and also to find them you may have to travel 25/25 minutes to get to them. This is why the kitchen of our hotel was so imporant to us as we did not want our guests to 'feel the need' to have to go in search of good food elsewhere.

Hopefully you will return and then you could try our new paragliding activity!
Kind regards
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews