We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
471
28
11
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
28
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la escondida on arrival first class attention to detail indoor pool spa treatments nothing is too much trouble hidden gem boutique hotel stunning views beautiful hotel corner suite second to none small hotel evening meal excellent food peace and tranquility
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2016

The Treasures start with the caring and truly delightful staff that help you to become enveloped in the peaceful and timeless atmosphere. You are seduced by the food, the tranquillity, the ambiance - and the red squirrels that play amongst the trees. For R&R there is nowhere to better this hidden gem.

Room Tip: All rooms have quiet, rural views. ?accessibility on the upper floors.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette V, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2016

Dear Anthony,
This is what we love to hear....and what we have aimed for since opening, to have this type of review is very rewarding...peace, tranquillity, good service and great food all surrounded by beautiful countryside....this is what my husband and I look for in a hotel and this is what we hoped to achieve here.
Thank you
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Where else can you find an intimate and immaculate hotel in this part of Spain? The charm is the small number of rooms available coupled with young an polite staff and quality food.

4 of us stayed the night for Valentines and enjoyed a very nice special menu. Ideal for a treat night away with prices similar to Paradores, but much more intimate.

Although the outside temperature dropped to below 5C overnight, our rooms were very warm (28-30C) despite turning off all heat and leaving the windows open. We suspect the hot water pipes, under the floors, heat the rooms as well?? The pool was very welcome, but all the wooden doors are now badly swollen in the humidy, and are unable to be closed - making changing and the toilets a bit tricky!

We'll be back, El Tel. Oh, the welcome bubbles were nice ;-)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Vanninman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette V, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2016

Dear Vanninman,
We really enjoyed St.Valentines weekend too! Now I suspect one of your party was the 'leap year' proposer....which was great!
We have now resolved the problem of the swollen doors as the heat in the pool created the condensation which is now under control, so hopefully no embarrassing moments in the changing room now!
Thank you for the lovely review and we hope to see you back soon....maybe the wedding??
Kind regards
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

La Escondida is an superb place for a peaceful break we took advantage of the "Three Kings" package after spending Christmas there, we had the "Cosy Rooms" (5 &10) both the rooms were comfortable, warm & well appointed in all aspects, all the staff are friendly & efficient & attend to all your needs, the food is first class with plenty of choice & very well presented. The views are stunning. We often go just for lunch but these were our first experiences of staying there & we were not disappointed. Thank you everyone.

Room Tip: Back f the hotel overlooking terrace, grounds & pool
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoynPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette V, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear Reviewer,
Wonderful to hear that after visiting us for lunch you decided to stay and experience one of our special packages, they are very popular. We do have another coming up for the famous Moors & Christians festival in Alcoy in April so maybe you will join us for that too!
We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.
Kind regards
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

We are regular visitors to this hotel for meals but this was the first time we had stayed overnight taking advantage of the "Three Kings" package in Alcoy. Hotel staff were their usual excellent selves, the room (Number 4 corner suite) was immaculate, spacious and brilliantly appointed. Dinner after the Three Kings was excellent with plenty of choice. Overall a high quality hotel which we're struggling to find any fault with. Very personal service. Thanks to all the staff for looking after us and making it a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the best views
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DRTSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette V, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you....to tell us that you were struggling to find any fault about your stay with us is music to our ears! The reviews which we have been receiving have been fantastic and when we opened just over a year ago we could not have hoped for such consistently wonderful ones. These make us strive even harder to make our guests stay a memorable one.
We look forward to you visiting us again.
Kind regards
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

The Spanish word Escondida means, quiet, hidden, out of sight. A description truly representative of this excellent hotel hidden in the mountainous region of Alicante province. Owned and personally managed on special events by football icon, Terry Venables and his wife Yvette, the hotel lived up to its advertising spin on all counts. Excellent kitchen, friendly, attentive staff, comfortable rooms, and above all, a complete adult break from this present sordid world of death and destruction. One of my highlights was relaxing over a five star lunch on the hotel terrace overlooking the vast panorama of Font Roja National Park, whilst savouring a glass, or two, of fine wine. Lovely quiet evenings, more superb food, then priceless time spent bonding with my family playing cards, board games or just catch-up chat. No television service, so make sure you time record 'Corry' or EastEnders beforehand.
This review is based on my personal experiences over the New Year2016 break. If you want the big picture, go to the website and believe all you read.

Room Tip: Main hotel rooms on two floors, could be a problem for older or less athletic folks. Cabins a short walk away.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BennyDavis723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette V, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Dear Benny,
It was lovely to meet you and your family and great to see you all enjoying yourselves. It's rare in this day and age for children just to sit with adults and talk and play games it is very refreshing and lovely to see. Thank you for all your lovely comments about all the areas of our hotel.
kind regards
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews