We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
473
29
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
29
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la escondida on arrival first class attention to detail indoor pool spa treatments nothing is too much trouble hidden gem stunning views beautiful hotel boutique hotel corner suite second to none small hotel evening meal excellent food peace and tranquility
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Another excellent meal at our most favourite restaurant. Sad to hear one of the chef's has moved on, still the quality of food and presentation remains first class, and the service by all the staff is still at the highest level.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank horsey2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondida1, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Horsey,
Yes we were all very sad when Dan our Chef de Partie who had been with us for 4 years since opening moved on....falling in love was to blame and moving back to the UK...love can be very inconsiderate sometimes!!! Good news is we have a new chef whom you met and he has settled in very well. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch and it's always lovely to see you both.
Kind regards
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

I have stayed at some very wonderful locations over the years but La Escondida wins the day! - From the moment you arrive you are treated with great kindness. All the staff ensure that your stay is memorable and you leave totally relaxed and happy.
My wife Helen and I booked this retreat to celebrate our anniversary. We were greeted with glasses of Cava the moment we entered reception and our bags immediately taken to our stunning corner room. Large, airy (with 4 windows including our en-suite). The views are quite breathtaking.
Huge sweeping lawn leading to a very large outdoor pool, with plenty of shade and sunbeds on either side.
There is another heated pool under the extended sun terrace.
The joy of staying here is that you feel as though you have joined the owners at their home. Intimate dining tables both inside and out make for enjoyable relaxed meals which are served efficiently by this amazing team.
The menus covering breakfast, lunch and dinner is carefully planned.
If you are up for it, there are some beautiful walks, scenic drives and other activites nearby. But if like us you want to just relax. This is it.

Alan & Helen

Room Tip: Go for the best as you get what you pay for in life
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AIM24343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette V, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Alan & Helen,

Thank you so much for writing us this lovely review. We are a small hotel and we are able to give that extra personal service to our guests which is most rewarding as we all love to read reviews such as yours to know that you have left with good memories of La Escondida. There are, I agree, some lovely scenic walks if feeling energetic, also some great cycling routes too but a lot of our guests have, like you, every good intention of going out and exploring only to find once they experience the peace and tranquility around us they then only go out when they actually check out!

We certainly hope that we see you again one day.
Kind regards
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

A pleasant stay at this hideaway retreat. Welcoming staff and hospitality. A comfiortable room, although poorly lit (small window, small lamps). Excellent cuisine & wine. We were unable to enjoy any external facilities and the grounds as we arrived in and stayed during a prolonged thunderstorm. Am sure it would get 5 stars from us if were had been able to appreciate all the facilities.

Stayed: September 2018
2  Thank labarinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette V, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Reviewer,
What a shame the weather was so bad for you....it was torrential for a few days but then it seemed to be a freak storm as it did hit the coast as well causing lots of damage. There is nothing worse than being away for a holiday only for it to be ruined by bad weather no matter where you are.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay though albeit 'rained off'. By your description you must have been on our second floor as the rooms there are darker as they are in the eves and therefore the windows are smaller, but a lot of our repeat guests like these rooms as they feel more 'cosy' to them, the 1st floor have larger windows and higher ceilings.
Once again that you for taking the time to write us your review.
Kind regards
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Surprise 2 night stay birthday present from my husband and we were not disappointed. Wonderful friendly warm staff who go out of their way to make you feel so welcome with lovely touches like a complimentary glass of bubbles on arrival. Excellent dinner and breakfast from the superb chefs with lots of produce grown in their own gardens. Beautiful hotel with delightful bedrooms all with fantastic views and luxurious en suites. Comfortable lounge area and terraces and magnificent peaceful surroundings. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this fabulous hotel.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank GlobetrotterChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette V, Owner at Hotel La Escondida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Reviewer,
Great! Thank you so much. Many of our guests do come for special occasions and how lovely for your husband to surprise you for your birthday! We are all really pleased to hear that we made it a memorable one for you both.

Thank you too for recommending us, we rely a lot on word of mouth and it is very important to us.

We hope that we see you again.
Kind regards
Yvette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

We weren't really sure what to expect here so arrived with an open mind, just wanting a relaxing stay for 6 nights. Well, relaxing we got in bucket loads. We relaxed virtually from the minute we arrived. Lovely corner room with comfy bed and good quality linens. The pool area was great with lots of space and shade. Food was excellent and we loved the lunchtime snack menu - great choices! We hired a car for 3 days which we didn't use as we were too relaxed to venture out!! Says it all really!

Terry Venables is such a lovely chap chatting away to guests and engaging them with football stories! My husband was in awe. Terry made his holiday. We didn't see much of Yvette as she was in the kitchen cooking a lot. Both are a really hands on pair which makes for a great hotel as they really do care about the guest experience. We will definitely be back!

Just one small point though - quite a few annoying flies when we were there (seasonal I think) so a fly spray in the room would have been handy. We did however make good use of a rolled up Hello magazine!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews