We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, got ill.”
Review of Maggie McFly's

Maggie McFly's
Ranked #15 of 64 Restaurants in Brookfield
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Connecticut
Level Contributor
289 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Poor service, got ill.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I do not have joy in writing a poor review. I do not know any of the people who own or work in this restaurant, and we have been here before for drinks and appetizers, we know what to expect. It's a chain/franchise style venue, pre-prepped food.
Last Friday evening, 4 people for drinks and dinner. We were seated swiftly, no wait at all. A server greeted us, took our drink selections, and disappeared for over 20 minutes. Nothing. Nobody. They were not short staffed, it was not jammin'. Finally, the server came with a tray of 3 drinks - 4 people, 1 beer, 1 scotch neat, 2 martini's right off the menu, Our server made an excuse for the busy bar. We asked to please place our food order. Another 10 minutes, and still no martini. I finally flagged down a different server, ordered a rum and ginger, cancel the martini ( if it ever had been ordered) she brought it right away.
Our food was delivered in reasonable time- Dim Sum, 2 orders do taco samplers, a Cuban. Dessert was lava cakes and Godiva cheesecakes, with coffees.
Bottom line, sketchy, poor service and 3 of 4 diners felt queasy later that evening, ill feeling the next day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babbettandcaptbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    37
    36
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
533 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Slow service, but food OK”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Actually we liked the noise and activity of a busy restaurant. People having fun! But sometimes staff seemed to get involved in the fun with the guests and forget they were working. We stood at least five minutes at the hostess table waiting to be seated at a very slow time for business. Staff were talking to customers at the bar rather than waiting the tables. Once we were seated it took forever to get waited on. We were afraid it would be forever until we got food at this rate so we ordered food and drinks at the same time. Big mistake since the drinks were delivered with the food--eventually. Food was fine and a 14 page menu certainly should be able to provide something for everyone. There were old favorites as well as some new wrap combinations. In summary, not bad, not good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CyndyandByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but so noisy it's hard to enjoy it!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I love your wraps and your salads. But I will never go there on a busy evening or weekend because of the noise level it's really hard to have a nice conversation with your partner!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gizzie419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gag me”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Will not go here again. Food is really bad.
Will not go here again. Food is really bad.
Will not go here again. Food is really bad.
Will not go here again. Food is really bad.
Will not go here again. Food is really bad.
Will not go here again. Food is really bad.
Will not go here again. Food is really bad.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrZippy2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This used to be one of our favorites”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

While we have not been in recently, we have noted the last two times we were there service had deteriorated. We actually went back the second time to make certain that the prior experience was not a fluke, Unfortunately it turned out to reinforce our prior visit, to say we were disappointed is an understatement.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maggie McFly's also viewed

 

Been to Maggie McFly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing