We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The emporers new clothes? A stunning eyesore or beauty?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ehrenhausen
Certificate of Excellence
Erl, Austria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“The emporers new clothes? A stunning eyesore or beauty?”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is situated in a lovely area of southern Styria. The countryside and general ambience of the area are perfect for a quiet and relaxing holiday. On one of the many hills overlooking valleys here someone has purchased a piece of land and built a hotel.
This hotel looks totally out of place with the rest of the buildings and fits in as much as a speedboat on a railway. It is supposed to have been designed but I am pretty certain that the architect was either drunk or blind or both or just blind drunk. It is simply an eyesore.

On entering the hotel you may be a little surprised as there are black metal shelving units with some Ikea chairs and sofas. The shelving units hold a few wine bottle …presumably because this is after all a wine region. The hotel lobby looks more like an old army warehouse or storage area with a few seats scattered about for effect.

Going behind the lobby there was a lovely dining room which was very well presented, but empty apart from one little girl being interviewed for a job by one of the many managers. The dining room was open and bright and everything was perfectly set out but it all looked kind of cheap and fake.

The path alongside to the lift and toilets was tiled with dark green tiles in a sheet form and white tiles running above. Very reminiscent of either a swimming pool from the 1950s or perhaps a butchers shop, simply without the meat.

We ordered drinks in the lobby just to get the feel of the place and basically had a look around.

The drinks arrived and the service was excellent and the prices I am told were actually quite reasonable for this sort of establishment. However I feel that in a wine region a glass of wine should be if anything cheap, and not cost per glass over the UK bottle price. No wonder they hardly ever sell Austrian wine in UK supermarkets anymore. 4.50 for a Muskateller and 5.50 for a glass of Muskateller Sekt ….you can make up your own mind.

However we all know the clientele type here and in the car park were the obligatory BMW X6 and Porsche 911s. Pretending that this was quality and how life should be enjoyed.
I enjoy life too and hence will not be returning here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete_Irving_511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    424
    136
    32
    12
See reviews for
109
673
74
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed at the Loisium for two nights after Christmas. Beautiful location next to a charming city, very comfortable rooms, great design, very big wellness area. Great breakfast buffet with eggs freshly cooked for you. Great wine choices. We stayed at a very busy period so when checking in not a single wellness treatment (massage or facial) was available within the next 48 hours. Very well heated everywhere including the gym (working out at 28 Celsius not possible). Very slow service at the restaurant due to waiter shortage. We dined the second night down in the village (15 min walk) which was more charming, better service and cheaper. Altogether a very good offer but better book at times when hotel is not so busy (eg. during the week).

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the city/castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roesslerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Loisium is a very modern design hotel in which one can see a lot of wine related things.
I was there on a bussines conference and beside work had a good quality time relaxing.
E-bikes are available for rent and they are the best transport for sightseeing of hotel grounds, wineyards and Ehrenhausen.
Personell is very polite, servis on a high level.
Recommendation for visit goes to all wine lovers..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoHuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loisium, General Manager at LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear GoHuc

first of all we would like to thank you very much for your Feedback and we are very happy that you've enjoyed your stay with us that much.
Indeed we are the perfect place for wine livers.

It is great to hear that what we do gives our guests the opportunity to relax, refuel and spend some joyful days. It would be our utmost pleasure to welcome you back in Austria and especially at the Loisium South Styria soon and we remain,

with best regards

Thomas Prenneis
Your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
190 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Everything Perfect! The rooms very stylisch, Good Food great archtecture, a paradise in the vineyards. The wine Shop is One of my Favourite Planes, as you geht wine from the Region for the Same Price you Pay Directly at the wineries. Great value is also the breakfast Buffet.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowrider11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loisium, Manager at LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear "flowrider",
thank you for taking your time to give us such a kind and positive
feedback on your stay in the LOISIUM South Styria. As a valued customer, your comments are very important to us. By giving us your feedback, your are helping us to understand what we do well, and what we need to focus on improving. Thus, we are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I am looking forward to see you soon at the LOISIUM South Styria.

Thomas Prenneis
Your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Very nice place to relax, despiite a rather small fitness room and slightly overheated saunas. Also, there was a bit of a musical clash between the pool area and the bar which had different music playing, but this only concerned a small area before the pool. The rooms was very nice and the after sauna chill out area even has waterbeds. Breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loisium, General Manager at LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear J.F,

first of all we would like to thank you very much for your Feedback and we are very happy that you've enjoyed your stay with us that much.

It is great to hear that what we do gives our guests the opportunity to relax, refuel and spend some joyful days. It would be our utmost pleasure to welcome you back in Austria and especially at the Loisium Südsteiermark soon and we remain,

with best regards

Thomas Prenneis
Your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berglern
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This modern hotel fulfilled and surpassed all our expectations we had before arriving there. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We loved the bright room with a view of Burg Ehrenhausen and the vineyards that surround it. And we especially appreciated its close neighborhood to the Südsteirische Weinstraße, a road that leads through the beautiful wine region of the Steiermark. We can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a Premium room on the third floor, which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonikaFuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loisium, General Manager at LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Ms. Fuchs,

thank you very much for the time you have taken to tell us about your stay at the Loisium Südsteiermark.
I am more than happy to hear that your stay at the Hotel fullfiled your expectations.
I hope to see you soon at the Loisium Südsteiermark.

With regards

Thomas Prenneis
Your Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Personally, I am not a great fan of this modern architecture which I felt was a bit out of place in the lovely surroundings of Southern Styria.

However, for what it is, the hotel really works. It has a wonderful view, a beautiful interior (although I did find the corridors a little gloomy and lacking in decoration), absolutely delicious food, and very helpful and friendly staff.

The rooms do need some stronger curtains, though, as the morning light wakes you up very soon. Also, some natural shade at the pool would be good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niris_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loisium, General Manager at LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Niris,
thank you for taking your time to give us such a kind and positive
feedback on your stay in the LOISIUM South Styria. As a valued customer, your comments are very important to us. By giving us your feedback, your are helping us to understand what we do well, and what we need to focus on improving. Thus, we are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I am looking forward to see you soon at the LOISIUM South Styria.

Thomas Prenneis
Your host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ehrenhausen
5.0 mi away
Winzerhotel Wurzenberg
Winzerhotel Wurzenberg
#2 of 5 in Gamlitz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gut Poessnitzberg
Gut Poessnitzberg
#1 of 2 in Leutschach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
5.9 mi away
Staribacher
Staribacher
#1 of 5 in Leibnitz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Weinlandhof
Weinlandhof
#1 of 5 in Gamlitz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Schloss Seggau
Hotel Schloss Seggau
#2 of 5 in Leibnitz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mond, Casino & Hotel
Mond, Casino & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sentilj v Slovenskih Goricah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark

Property: LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark
Address: Schlossberg 1a, Ehrenhausen 8461, Austria
Region: Austria > Styria > Ehrenhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ehrenhausen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Südsteiermark is the hot spot for wine lovers, connoisseurs and all those who are looking for a very special wine spa experience. Located at the beginning of the South Styrian Wine Route, you can enjoy a magnificent view from here. In the middle of the vineyards, guests can expect extraordinary architecture, design and a distinctive lifestyle. Fine and personal is the Wine Spa of the hotel. It extends over 1400 m² and offers a year-round heated outdoor pool, sauna area and a particularly high-quality range of the best Aveda and Comfort Zone beauty treatments as well as massages. You can also relax with the culinary variety that the Südsteiermark restaurant Weinkuchl has to offer. Fresh ingredients from the region make up unique compositions on the plates and harmonize perfectly with the Styrian wine. -- Das LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Südsteiermark ist der Hot Spot für Weinliebhaber, Genießer und all jene, die ein ganz besonderes Wine-Spa-Erlebnis suchen. Am Beginn der Südsteirischen Weinstraße gelegen, genießt man von hier aus einen prachtvollen Ausblick. Inmitten der Weingärten erwartet die Gäste außergewöhnliche Architektur, Design und ein unverwechselbarer Lifestyle. Fein und persönlich ist das Wine Spa des Hotels. Es erstreckt sich über 1400 m² und bietet einen ganzjährig beheizten Outdoorpool, Saunalandschaft und ein besonders hochwertiges Angebot an besten Aveda und Comfort Zone Beauty- und Winetreatments sowie Massagen. Entspannen kann man auch bei der kulinarischen Vielfalt, die das Restaurant Weinkuchl zu bieten hat. Frische Zutaten aus der Region zaubern einzigartige Kompositionen auf die Teller und harmonieren mit den Weinen aus der Südsteiermark. Zahlreiche Ausflugsangebote, Packages und Programme fur jede Jahreszeit, E-Bike und Radverleih, werden im Hotel direkt angeboten. Ein Konferenzzentrum mit 7 Räumen fur bis zu 200 Teilnehmer bietet darüber hinaus viel Platz für Meetings und Events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing