We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“where one can rediscover the meaning of 'sleep'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maya Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Constantine, Algeria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“where one can rediscover the meaning of 'sleep'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We booked at Maya by chance, we were just looking for some nice place to stay for one night near Sion. The guesthouse is well situated, not too far from the highway, but already in the mountains. The hosts are very warm and welcoming persons and they have set up a project that suits them very well. The quality of materials chosen, of the bedding, were remarkable and we slept strikingly well - the atmosphere in the rooms was very pure, it has to be the straw effect!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maillart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
126
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

I was simply looking for a place to stay during the Rallye du Valais...what I found was a fantastic and new B&B in a superb location and mainly for me, in the middle of one of the rally stages! The owners, Louis and Lisa made me feel truely at home with a fantastic evening meal, a great breakfast and overall great service. The room had everything I needed and the whole construction and Engineering behind was as well impressive. I am definetely taking the whole family soon.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

WOW!
We were one of the first guest in the newly opened straw bale hotel Maya Guesthouse in the Swiss Valais.

It is amazing! The walls were one meter thick, just the depth of the straw bale. The rooms were purely natural. The walls covered with clay, the sealing was made out of wood. The furniture was all hand made by local artist. They used local wood to furbish each room with a different type of wood. The bathrooms were very modern with italian design.
Never slept so good. Was it the fact that no noise came from the outside (even between the rooms they used 1 meter thick straw bales), or the fresh air in the Swiss Alps, or the fact that for the first time we experienced a completely chemical free environment? We do not know. What we do know is that they did not save money on the bedding. The mattresses were just right and the duvet the finest quality.

In the morning we were served local delicatessen for breakfast together with home made bread out of the wooden stove. Incredible, but the oven even produces hot water for our showers just by using the exceeding heat.

All in all it was an unique experience. The little village of Nax is very picturesque and the landscape around it just breathtaking.

We will certainly get back to the Maya Guesthouse for our next vacation. This time we will stay a little longer to benefit from the micro climate in Nax.

Lisa and Louis were the hosts one wants to have when being on holidays.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdaskal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wornderful stay at Maya guesthouse.
The hotel brand new and beautiful and eco-friendly (it is made with straw bales!).
The rooms are spacious with an awesome view on the valley and are furnished with taste (art rather than craft).
The hospitality is warm and professional. Dinner for gourmets.
The village of Nax is a gem in the Swiss Alps.
Thank you Louis and Lisa, we'll come back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We had a wonderful time in this new BB! The owners Lisa and Luis are very friendly and make their best to make your stay in Nax as unique. Food is excellent.The room are great and comfortable.

I can't wait to go back there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nax
19.1 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Nendaz 4 Vallees & Spa
20.9 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
12.3 mi away
Les Bains de Saillon
Les Bains de Saillon
#1 of 1 in Saillon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Boutique Hotel

Property: Maya Boutique Hotel
Address: Linzerbot, Nax 1973, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Nax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maya Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Maya Boutique Hotel is the first Hotel built entirely with straw bales. Nestled between fields and meadows it thrones on a high plateau just above the capital of the Valais, Sion. Enjoy the stunning view over the Bernese Alps and the nature around the hotel. Each of the eight rooms is dedicated to a different type of wood of which the furniture was made by hand. The straw bale walls create a very cozy living climate and get you rest and a pleasant sleep. All rooms have their private Italian designed glass bathroom.New! The Scandinavian Barrel SaunaEnjoy unforgettable and relaxing moments in the new Scandinavian barrel sauna with the round panoramic window.The Maya Boutique Hotel is the ideal hide-away for a romantic escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Expedia so you can book your Maya Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing