We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are fishing for a good meal, this is a good place.”

Saybrook Fish House
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Canton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Connecticut
Level Contributor
156 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If you are fishing for a good meal, this is a good place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Saybrook Fish House has been around for years. The servers are friendly, the food is good and the portions fair. The menu has a few too many offerings. I had Shrimp Cocktail followed by Broiled Scallops. Very nicely done. For my part, they can skip the community salad bowl. Not everyone requires salad. For some, the community aspect could be a turnoff. We did not try deserts. Drinks are fairly priced and generous.

This is a very good restaurant for better than average food and cheerful service. However, if you are looking for gourmet, this may not be your cup of tea.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoboReviewer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    21
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A friend from out of town was visiting and we went to Saybrook Fish House for lobster. The lobsters were very reasonably priced. She had the 1 1/2 lb steamed lobster and I had the 1 1/2 lb stuffed lobster. Both were very good. We ate dinner out on the patio and it was a very relaxing evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ctconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service and spectacular food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Visted her with a group of family members and friends. First time here and I was really impressed with the service and great food.
To begin with we made a reservation for 10 people turned into 14 so we called to increase the number. In the end we haf 18 people walk in at once. Without hesitation we were accomadated and given extra tables and chairs. The place was already busy and we did not expect all of us to be able to sit together but they made it happen quick. I had the fried shrimp and scallops and my family ordered various other items including drinks and specialty dishes. We all were very happy with our meals not one person complained everybody raved about each dish and the service of our servers. The main server went out of her way to make us happy and ran her butt off. The enviroment was great the location is nice and the staff is genuine and happy. Not a bad thing to say about this place.

Helpful?
Thank jrkaosvenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I may not eat fish often, but this is where I go when I do....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I admittedly tend not to eat fish. This restaurant always has alternatives to fish. However, the fish is very good when I do have it here.

The food is not prepackaged. If you don't want something on your swordfish (or whatever), just tell them and they will leave it off. If you just want it grilled and nothing fancy on it, they will accommodate you.

What I REALLY like about this place is the salad. They will give you as much as you want in a communal bowl. The garlic dressing is wonderful. They should sell it because I eat salad just to have their dressing!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HPLowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Have gone there for years and within the last two years, this place has gone down hill. Don't bother getting the surf and turf b/c they do not have a cook that can properly cook steak. I am certain there is not a Chef on duty. It is sad too b/c it is so close.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saybrook Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Saybrook Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing