We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“late holiday”
Review of La Foret de Glenne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louvigne-du-Desert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Foret de Glenne
kingston upon hull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“late holiday”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

returned in october of this year (2012) with my 25 year old daughter, we both had a fantastic time, we were really lucky with the weather, better than the uk, yet again.there was still plenty to do in and around the area. we went sight seeing, went for walks, bowling, lots of eating and drinking, but most of all lots of chilling out in the fab farmhouse and outdoor areas. the hosts cannot do enough to make your stay the best ever, they are so welcoming and helpfull, nothing is to much trouble for them. cannot wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: each room is great, the hosts will advise the best for you, trust their judgement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Family of 10 (6 adults and 4 kids ages 2 to 4) plus 1 dog.

Great farmhouse with excellent facilities. The setting and facilities are great for those with children. The games room, swings and gardens provided plenty of entertainment for the children (big or small!!). Often we left the children to wonder off and play on their own knowing that they were safe (Something we would never do in the UK). Pool was a great size, nice and warm and securely fenced with an alarm so kids could not get in without an adult.

First time we had taken our dog abroad and it was a home from home.

Accommodation was ample for the 10 of us. We arrived on the Saturday and Kev and Lynda provided a great welcoming pack. Location is in a peaceful area, but within easy drive of some great places including a lake, mini fairground/waterpark (20mins away at good price), fougers and Laval (great boat rip on Mayenne). The area has so much to do and explore that we will be back.

Kev and Lynda were great hosts, although they live next door they never interfered but when we needed them for assistance or advise they were also willing to offer.

Overall a great place and we all had a great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We arrived a family of nine of us and found a great place to base ourselves for a week in France.We travelled via eurotunnel and used the motorways so there are the toll charges but managed to get from the farmhouse back to Calais in about 4.5 hours, took a bit longer going as we stopped off more frequently.
Nice welcome pack helped make out late arrival a very pleasant surprise. Shame only one ensuite upstairs.
The Farmhouse is near coast, about 40 minutes from Mont St Michel, nice but busy & touristy too.
We went to St Malo and that is a nice town to walk around and have lunch and do some shopping.
Nearby Fougeres has a lovely old castle with good tourist info. and nice eating places nearby.
The Farmhouse is very well equipped and Pool was lovely, lots of flies and wasps though.
Kev and Linda are friendly but discreet, a quick shout and they were available if required as they live adjacent to the property.
BBQ was great success, local SuperU, supermarket supplies all your needs but you have to drive there, about 10 minutes from property.
Overall, lovely place to stay for peace and quiet and great for families as you make your own entertainment.
Ducks are sweet and they swim on the fairly small pond next to the pool which has some fish in so take a rod/reel - carp were good size.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TookyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Lovely French farmhouse, which is easily accessible but blissfully quiet. Lots of facilities with a private pool and games room. Driving in the area is unhurried and not at all like the frantic traffic in England. Kevin and Linda are excellent hosts. Really enjoyed our week.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozzylisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Owners so helpful with local advice , beautiful surroundings will come again.thanks KEV and Linda And Ducks!great BBQ!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nbsesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

11 of us - large family party stayed 6-13th August - owners Kev & Linda are very welcoming and hospitable. We were delayed with traffic arriving, took us 12 hours but Kev called and offered to get provisions for us before our arrival. The farmhouse itself is extremely well equipped and very comfortable. The children loved the games room. Our weather was mixed but we enjoyed a couple of days around the pool which is kept very clean and at a good temperature. Lovely to see the ducks wandering every morning off to the pond. All in all a lovely stay and couldn't fault the place - oh except the doorways (warning to tall people - DUCK) !!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaW33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The whole family decided to descend on this beautiful place . 8 adults and 4 children (ranging from 10 weeks to 3 years) all gave it the thumbs up regarding the great amenities ,rustic accomodation and lovely countryside.
The hosts were completely unobtrusive and helpful if needed and the very clean swimmimg pool a great place to chill ( even when it was raining).
The covered barbeque area was very good and I admired the self confidence of one of the ducks sitting in there!
I would reccomend this place to people who appreciate a rural getaway but the nearby Fougeres forest bathing lake was another great place for all the family.
The Games barn provided a myriad of sporting opportunity and provided the opportunity to be better than my sons-in -law at table tennis.
All in all a lovely place to stay

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DangelaBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Foret de Glenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Foret de Glenne

Property: La Foret de Glenne
Address: la Foret de Glenne, 35420 Louvigne-du-Desert, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Louvigne-du-Desert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Louvigne-du-Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious beamed Breton longere and studio in 3 acres of tranquil countryside, the perfect setting for family holidays all year round. Bed and Breakfast also available Sept to May. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing