We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sandwiches”

The Funky Monkey Lounge
Ranked #36 of 51 Restaurants in Cheshire
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Funky Monkey lounge pairs delicious small plates with craft beer, specialty wine and creative cocktails in an inviting atmosphere with live music every weekend~
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
120 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We visited here in the summer, and found the food to be very good at a good price. Great selection of drinks options.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MATTfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lunch is Better Than Breakfast!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have had so many great lunches at Funky Monkey. But, breakfast today was a disaster. An egg and cheese panini took so long my coffee got cold waiting for it. the cheese was not melted, the bread was way over done. I'm sticking with lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KiddieLit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great place for locals to gather!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Funky Monkey has been a local favorite to Cheshire residents for years. I enjoy going with my family or my friends to enjoy salads, soups and sandwiches. The owner uses the finest ingredients with many of her dishes being organic, vegan and/or all natural. The food is fresh and really, really good. The atmosphere is casual and quiet. Customers come to read, work on their laptops (FREE WiFi) and just take in the beautiful artwork that adorns the walls. I love this place and I keep going back. It's been a great addition to our community and it's no surprise why not only our locals but people from surrounding towns keep returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoshPrincessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

I've been coming to The Funky Monkey since it opened. The food and coffee is great. Food is made fresh and to order so sometimes it can take a while to come, but its worth the wait. Call ahead if you are in a hurry, that has worked for me in the past.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
145 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location - nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We have not been here in a while. We used to stop by after finner have a coffee and share a dessert. Lats few times the coffee tasted old, service inconsistent and the dessert selection was limited. Good news - coffee was fresh, service was good and the desserts choices plentiful - including our favorite lemon cake!

it looks like the menu board was freshened up - looks good.

What we like the most is the artwork exhibits which change regularly. We need to come back more - I hope they add more artwork and move out some of the items and use more wall space for the art. Looking forward to the nice weather and enjoying the outside eating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3nicks27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Funky Monkey Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Funky Monkey Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing