We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet winter weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Ranked #1 of 1 Colebrook B&B and Inns
Westport, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quiet winter weekend”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Rock Hall this past weekend to celebrate his birthday. The house was beautiful and well maintained to the historical period. We didn't get to meet Stella as she was away but Michael took excellent care of us. He prepared sumptuous breakfasts of fresh fruits, frittata, interesting cheeses and breads. Every detail was perfect (including all the serving pieces!) We also enjoyed cocktails and snacks prior to our going out for dinner each evening which we thought was an extra special touch! He was a wonderful host. They also had a cute, friendly dog that we loved having with us too! It was brutally cold while we were there so we didn't get to enjoy the outdoor grounds very much (it even snowed which blanketed the property and added another layer of serenity). Looked like it'd be nice to spend time there in warmer weather too. The location is good too as everything that you'd want to explore is just a stones throw away. Our only wish for this property was that there were more "cozy" seating arrangements in the room. We were in the renowned Chamber 2 (the old master bedroom) that everyone mentioned. The entire house was beautifully furnished, but as it was so cold outside, we wished there had been a sofa or lounging area in the bedroom where we could "cocoon" in front of the fireplace more in the freezing weather. The only place to lounge in the bedroom was the bed - not terribly horrible as the sheets and bed were amazing as previously mentioned as well. The room was big enough to handle a more comfortable seating area and really that was the only thing we could think of to make our stay perfect. We did also enjoy the game room available and the "movie theatre"! Oh - and my husband received a massage here as well. Go and visit and let yourself be surrounded by the luxury and pampering!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carman310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    4
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armonk, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I highly recommend staying at the Rock Hall Luxe Inn! The owners completely understand good food, good drinks, comfort, places to recommend in the area, and lodging. We were there in the winter, and I imagine it's even better in the summer with the wonderful pool, tennis and gardens. It would be a great place to go with another couple too. They have a pool table, ping pong, a cute home theater, and other nice activities to do in the house. There was also a wonderful path to walk in the woods. Activities that we mixed with the Inn were going into Stockbridge for lunch and attending a concert at Infinity Hall. What a fabulous small music venue. I'd highly recommend reviewing their schedule for something you like, and mixing it with a weekend at the Rock Hall Luxe.

Room Tip: They all were great and had working fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The things I have to say are in line with the others that have also left 5 stars. Rock Hall is a beautiful piece of history to enjoy a quiet weekend in and the Somers' hospitality, accommodations, drinks, and breakfast were fantastic. I would love to stay again someday.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband and I just spent a fall weekend, Saturday and Sunday nights, at Rock Hall. What a fun experience for us! It was my first time staying at a B and B. The large home was amazing and the grounds were beautiful! Plus our hosts, Stella and Michael, were very attentive to our every need.
In the morning an impressive bountiful gourmet breakfast was served in the dining room with a crystal chandelier above the large beautifully set table and a fireplace at the end of the room. It was fun to have breakfast with Stella and the other guests and discuss the prior day's adventures and plans for the new day. In the late afternoon appetizers and drinks were served in the "Pub" which was a fun way to wind down before then going out for the evening.
We would deinitely recommend Rock Hall to anyone looking to enjoy a beautiful getaway for a country weekend in Connecticut.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We just spent Saturday night in the Rock Hall Penthouse. Rock Hall is one breathtaking property. The owners Stella and Michael are extremely accommodating hosts and all details were perfect. Our room was large, and very clean. The bed and linens were top of the line. The outdoor property is lovely too, there is a gorgeous pool and tennis courts. The breakfast that was served on Sunday morning was delicious, lots of local fruits and fish, great coffee, and a ton of other options. We are in the process of planning our trip back up there in the fall.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We just spent three nights at Rock Hall in Chamber Two and loved our experience. The grounds are lovely and the house has the feeling of exactly what it is, a stately home, charmingly decorated with every thought given to the guests' comfort. We were warmly greeted at the door by our hosts, Stella and Michael, who immediately made us feel welcome. They were very sweet to our 17 year old daughter, as well. We loved our spacious, air conditioned room and pretty bath. The breakfasts were a foodie's delight and left us looking forward to seeing what Michael would serve the next day. The extras were very thoughtful; from the afternoon special cocktail of your choice and a delicious plate of jumbo shrimp or chips and mango salsa to the movies and candy or popcorn at no extra charge. When we left in the mornings, we were given bottles of cold water for the hot day ahead. We had interesting conversations with Stella and Michael and found we had much in common. When we left, we felt we had made new friends. We look forward to visiting them again and highly recommend their beautiful inn to all who appreciate fine accommodations. Thanks, Stella & Michael!

Room Tip: Stella will help you select the right room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looserein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I have the best of both worlds, living between Florence, Italy and New York City and when friends come from across the pond I find Rock Hall the best fit! Although some work was being done this week on the manor, nothing could stop us from enjoying this splendid get away. The tennis court was summer ready, and a quick dip was cold but fun for my European friends. My Italian agent who is the snob of life is still speaking about this property. We took advantage of the mixology class and are reaping the benefits back in the city. We each had messages and slept like a baby in the lap of luxurious linens and very comfortable beds. I had chamber 2 and felt like I was in the movie the princess and the pea, but the bathroom rivals all 5 star hotels. Thanks Mike and Stella see you soon, keep the light on.

Room Tip: Chamber 2 is my fav!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junknjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colebrook
14.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
82 reviews
17.6 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
18.9 mi away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,019 reviews
5.6 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
137 reviews
3.1 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#3 of 4 in Norfolk
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Hall Luxe Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Hall Luxe Lodging

Property: Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Address: 19 Rockhall Rd, PO Box 312, Colebrook, CT 06021-3918
Region: United States > Connecticut > Colebrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Colebrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rock Hall Luxe Lodging 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rock Hall Luxe Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging Hotel Colebrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing