We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful bed and breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coventry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Daniel Rust House
Ranked #1 of 4 Coventry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2012

While on a trip to see colleges with my son recently, we stayed at the Daniel Rust House. It was such a great experience and the Innkeepers, Cathy and Germaine quickly felt like family. Their historic home is beautiful (and clean) and the breakfast is fabulous. Cannot wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacagirl773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Daniel Rust House is a lovely old inn set in a wooded area about 15 minutes from campus. We had one of the two large rooms on the second floor. It was beautifully decorated, the ensuite bathrooms well appointed and the bed comfortable. We were very happy with the accommodations. Breakfast was served in a lovely room on the first floor and the food was superb as well as plentiful. The proprietors were anxious to please and seemed to enjoy having guests in their home - we felt very welcome. We plan to stay at the Rust House when we visit UCONN in the future. The other 2 bedrooms are smaller but less expensive. The only caveat we had was that the Inn is situated next to a road and the road noise was somewhat intrusive. But with the windows closed and the AC on, it was not a problem for us. The road is also lightly trafficked. All in all, we highly recommend the Daniel Rust House.

Room Tip: The two large rooms upstairs are best , but all rooms share the wonderful breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmsacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We were in Storrs visiting family, and found the Daniel Rust inn almost by accident. We stayed only one night--wished it were longer! Germaine and Kathy are gracious hosts who truly love their historic home and seem to genuinely enjoy sharing it with guests. Our room (the Mary Rose room) was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and had everything we needed. Breakfast was exceptional. The grounds are gorgeous, beautifully maintained and very peaceful. We were sorry to leave and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jansean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband, myself, and our son had the pleasure of staying at this lovely B&B for the weekend of our daughter's graduation from UCONN. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this excellent property. Cathy and Germaine went above and beyond in taking care of all of our needs while we were there. The setting was idyllic. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. The three course gourmet breakfasts were out of this world. We did not want to leave. It was also only five miles from the UCONN campus. We will definately return to the Daniel Rust House. Cathy and Germaine you are the best.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy-Raff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drhouse1731, Owner at The Daniel Rust House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

To all of our wonderful guests who stayed with us and have written such lovely reviews...Thank you from the bottom of our hearts. Germaine & I truly enjoy sharing this old house as well as meeting such nice people from all over this world. To the 2012 Graduating Class of UConn families...it is always our pleasure to "spoil" you all on your special day!! Thanks again, we look forward to many years of innkeeping here at ye olde Danny Rust!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have been visiting our son at UConn over the years and stayed at various hotels near Hartford. With graduation, we decided to try closer to campus to avoid some of the traffic. What a surprise! The B&B was the best we have ever stayed at! Breakfast was phenomenal. The room was comfy with the fireplace and small kitchenette. My only disappointment is that I didn't find the place sooner!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Convenient to UConn for all visiting parents. With the owners' impeccable eye for detail and talent in the kitchen, a stay becomes a delightful spring back in time and every day begins with the biggest, tastiest breakfasts on the east coast. We have stayed in all three rooms in the main house, and each has unique charms and comforts - soft, plush bedding; a view of the grounds and gardens; bird songs; a jacuzzi; small items and large furnishings that fit beautifully in with the period of the house. The hosts are warm and welcoming, always making you feel like a guest, not an imposition. Last weekend, our three breakfasts included airy popovers, banana nut waffles, eggs benedict, chive&cheese omelet, mango pudding, quiche lorraine, and an assortment of coffee cakes and fruits with imaginitive sauces, such as blood orange and liqueur infused. In the winter, the fire is as warm as the hosts, and sitting on the comfy couch in front of it takes all the cold off a Connecticut winter night. There are excellent local restaurants, a great Farmer's Market, and walking paths. In sum, staying at the Danial Rust house is a perfect mini-vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband, son and I stayed here when we visited UCONN. I actually found this B and B on line and read a few reviews before we went. The reviews were great and we were not disappointed. The house is full of history and detail and the innkeeper Germaine shares all of the history with you when you walk in. All of the rooms are different and each one more interesting than the other. Germaine spent the evening baking banana muffins for breakfast but kept checking in on id as if we were family not guests. Breakfast was great with warm peaches, muffins and waffles. We had booked the largest room for three of us and we were to have a rollaway bed in the room for my son. When we arrived, the other rooms were vacant, so Germaine let my son sleep in his own rom which was a welcome surprise. You feel like family at the Daniel Rust House and if my son decides to go to UCONN, this will be our second home away from home. It is very comfortable and so full of treasures. Thank you Germaine!

Room Tip: Rooms in front are a bit noisy because of traffic on main road. Did not bother us but may be an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennytwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
3.9 mi away
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
10.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites East Hartford
11.2 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Manchester
10.5 mi away
Henrietta House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daniel Rust House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daniel Rust House

Address: 2011 Main St, Coventry, CT 06238-2034
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Coventry
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coventry
Price Range: £91 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pre-revolutionary center built chimney home. Filled with period antiques & the charm of colonial America but with the modern amenities to make your stay comfortable. Two acres of gardens & patio along with a large fenced in dog run for canine guests. Choose a room with a jacuzzi, a kitchenette or a "secret closet". Full country breakfast served. Coffee/tea always available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing