We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old time engines... A toddlers paradise”

Danbury Railway Museum
Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old time engines... A toddlers paradise”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

While visiting my parents, we took my 3yo to this museum and he had a blast. There are quite a number of engines and caboose to explore and take pictures with.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sharky852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    39
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Enjoyed my visit”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I wanted to take pictures of trains, that's how I originally found out about this place. The museum is staffed by volunteers and were extremely helpful and full of knowledge. The place isn't huge, but it was still an interesting visit. It would be a great place to take young kids. There is a short train ride as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Guided Tour a Highlight”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The inside part of the museum itself, inside th eold station, is not much to talk about. There are some nice artifacts and a few really nice model train layouts but it is not large. Even the rolling stock and locomotives outside are pretty standard for a railroad museum, though there are some gems. The real hit of this stop was the wonderful guided tour of the yard with one of the museum volunteers. Very, very knowledgable, and you got to go inside a lot of the equipment--and not just passenger cards and cabooses. We got to visit he cab of their steam locomotive--and even better--go through one of the diesel engines--the cab *and* the body of the locomotive sowe could also see the diesels engines themselves. The key to the collection is the RPO (mail) car. It has been lovingly restored and is in excellent shape and tells the story of when the mails went by train and were sorted on board. On weekends there are rides available, but we were there on a weekday and missed that. Kids will enjoy climbing in and around the yards. Note that the yard is not that accesible for the handicapped. It was a spur of the moment stop and I'm glad we went.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kgilbert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We have been a few times and love it enough to go again and again.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A fun and educational time for an individual or family. A place to go without spending obscene amounts of money and making a full day of it

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect For Younger Kids”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We took our kids to the DRM when they were 4 and 5.5. They loved it. It's a really nice, bite sized museum. There are several exhibits for the kids to look at and lots of interactive opportunities. They also got to take a quick train ride, which they loved. Their favorite part was climbing in and out of the various railways cars parked around the facility and climbing into the tiny bunks the conductors had to sleep in. You can definitely spend 1.5 - 2 hours here and then go have lunch or dinner at Rosy Tomorrows, which is perfect for kids and has a train that circles the whole restaurant!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HVTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Danbury Railway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Danbury Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing