We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Checked in a bit late into the evening but the front desk was very accommodating and pleasant. Cory checked me into my room, very nice lobby, loved everything from the cookies, water and the little stand of veggies and crackers. Had a long flight and travel that day so I decided to order room service, the staff who took my order/delivered my food were very nice and the food was terrific. I stayed for a few nights for business, my room was comfortable and clean, I was informed the rooms are newly renovated, they're very nice! Second night I decided to go down for dinner, I had the option of sitting in the bar or dining in the restaurant. Dinner in the restaurant was very calm and relaxing, dinner was great service was wonderful and attentive. Jackie, my server told me all about the specials & had a smile the whole time, also Linda the bartender was very sweet, great staff. I will definitely stay here again if I ever get the chance to come back up this way. Keep up the nice work.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ara1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Front Office Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
ARA1980,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your recent stay at our beautiful hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for your positive feedback about our awesome staff here at our property. I will be sure to inform our amazing staff that we have here about your positive comments and great stay. We pride ourselves on hiring and retaining the "best" staff in the marketplace.

We welcome you back for the summer as our pool opens this weekend!!! We hope to see you back again in the area!

All the best,

Joe Howley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    170
    69
    30
    20
See reviews for
235
124
48
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Rooms are unique mini-suites outfitted with Ethan Allen furnishings. Great bed...great bath...2 flat-screen TV's! Gym is good and both bar and restaurant were very good ! Often have "welcome events" at check-in including happy hour. Great people with a special shout-out to Patti Williams at the front desk. Free internet/wi-fi/desk in room with plenty of plugs! Good function facilities! The ONLY place to stay in the Danbury CT area!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NHJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Front Office Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
John,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your recent stay at our beautiful hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We love our business travelers as we have multiple special rates with companies in the local area. We hope that you are able to return to the area and enjoy yet another stay with us.

I love to hear from guest feedback about our staff, especially by name. We have a great team at the Ethan Allen Hotel, and one of the main reasons for this are employees like Patty. She is a terrific employee and were happy to have her on our team. I cannot wait to share this review with her the next time she works!

We look forward to having you back with us again in the future and thank you again for staying with us!

All the best,

Joe Howley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

From the front desk check in to our room, everything was perfect. We were a little nervous as there was a party bus loading many folks for a wedding that would be returning later on in the evening. We never heard it arrive back to the hotel. The restaurant was tremendous, food delicious and Jackie our waitress was exceptional as was the bartender that evening who told us about the town of Danbury. Wonderful visit and if we drive next year to Boston for the marathon we will definitely stay here! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Everything was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettylynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Front Office Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Bettylynn,

Thank you very much for being our guest this week and for sharing a terrific review online. I am very happy to know that our team was able to make a positive impact on your stay.

Jackie is a great asset to our team, and I can't wait to share this terrific review with her!

We look forward to having you back with us again in the future and thank you again for staying with us!

All the best,

Joe Howley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hotel is beautiful, staff are nice and helpful! Our overall experience was wonderful. Our trip was great and our stay at the hotel made it better. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandiceTennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Front Office Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Candice,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your recent stay at our beautiful hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are happy to inform you that our outdoor pool will be opening up May 23rd!!!! It will be a perfect reason for you to come back and enjoy another delightful stay!

We look forward to having you back with us again in the future and thank you again for staying with us!

Joe Howley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have been staying at the Ethan Allen Hotel 5 days a week for the last 8 months. I can not say enough about the staff here. They made me feel very welcomed and were more than accommodating to anything that I needed. The place is extremely clean and the new renovations are absolutely beautiful. The Fairfields restaurant, in the hotel, has some of the best food in town with great bartenders and waitstaff. They made my stay there feel like I was at home. I recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the Danbury area. You will not be dissappointed!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with the King Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Front Office Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Jeff,

Thank you for taking the time to write a terrific review! We are glad that our family here was able to make the past 8 months a terrific 2nd home! We will miss seeing you come in every Monday and unfortunately departing every Friday.

We know you will be back in the area sometime in the near future and we hope that you stop by and say hello!

All the best to you!

Joe Howley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed at Ethan Allen for a friends wedding. Our toilet clogged and flooded the bathroom in the middle of the night. They came up changed our room apologized and gave us free vouchers for breakfast. A week later I discovered an unauthorized charge made by the hotel for 150$. I tried to reach the hotel over and over each time they claimed the manager was "in a meeting" and refused to tell me what the charge was for or do anything about it. I eventually had to dispute the charge and cancel my debit card. I have never had such a poor experience with a hotel in my life. Beware, do not stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I had a one-night stay in Danbury, driving home from a business trip. The gentleman at the front desk (who was there the next morning!) was very, very nice. He checked me in quickly and let me know that the refurbishing of my room had just been completed a week before. After dropping off my bags, I had dinner in the full-service restaurant downstairs. The food was truly great - higher end, upscale cuisine. My waitress was very friendly and attentive. I'd thought I'd grab lighter fare in the bar/pub, but I was the only chick in a room full of men drinking beer and watching sports. Normally, I'd love to be surrounded by men, but I was absolutely exhausted. The room was very quiet, got a great night's rest and checked out early the next AM. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobrow458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Front Office Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Lobrow458,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our TripAdvisor community!! We were thrilled to host you during your recent visit to the area and happy to hear we did not disappoint.

We are excited to hear about your great experience at our Fairfields restaurant! As you may or may not know, our restaurant is open to the public as well! We hope to have you back sometime for dinner, or hopefully as a guest of our hotel!

Please consider us again as your travels bring you back to the area as we would love to welcome you back.

All the best in your future travels!

Joe Howley
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Danbury hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#3 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Danbury
Crowne Plaza Danbury
#8 of 15 in Danbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Danbury
Residence Inn Danbury
#9 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethan Allen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethan Allen Hotel

Property: Ethan Allen Hotel
Address: 21 Lake Avenue Extension, I-84 at Exit 4, Danbury, CT 06811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Danbury
#2 Business Hotel in Danbury
#4 Family Hotel in Danbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ethan Allen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ethan Allen is fully renovated Landmark Boutique Hotel that welcomes it's guests with a unique blend of warm hospitality and the legendary comfort & style of Ethan Allen Home Interiors. With it's spacious guestrooms, Ethan Allen supreme comfort bedding, Keurig coffee makers and Gilcrest & Soames bath amenities a year round relaxing and cozy escape awaits. Experience a culinary dining delight in our award-winning restaurant, or feel free to unwind in our lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ethan Allen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethan Allen Danbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing