We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely furnished; rooms need some updating”
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights recently while teaching in Westchester county, NY. The best force this place has is their staff. Room service, front desk, and other staff were very nice and helpful. The rooms are well appointed with nice furnishings. But the rooms need a lot of attention to update them. In other words, some of the sleeping rooms have seen better days. Compared to the cost of hotels in New York, this was very reasonably priced. At night, it seems to have a bare-bones staff. There was a large group of teens on my hotel wing that were very loud and running back and forth through the hallways at night. Also, I noticed that the exterior doors on the sides of the building are very heavy and not handicap accessible. If that is important for your stay, keep it in mind. The main lobby door is accessible, though. If you have children, there is a McDonald's and Dunkin Donuts across the street. Plenty of free parking.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank cw413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Front Office Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

CW413,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I am not sure if you had stayed at the correct location. We just finished a full renovation of all our guestrooms in May 2014. The renovation was a multi-million dollar renovation in which we got all new furnishings, wall paper, and carpet just to name a few new features in our newly renovated rooms.

Please consider us again as your travels bring you back to the area.

All the best,

Joe Howley
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Beautiful courtyard/pool area; and lovely lobby. But price for room was higher than Hilton, Marriott and Westin all of which had complimentary coffee in the lobby and/or complimentary continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Room was poorly lit. Closet door was off the track. Bath tub drain was not flowing properly. A/C noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Front Office Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

jjf71,

Thank You for staying with us this past week. We are glad that you found our outdoor courtyard and pool beautiful and useful.

I am sorry to read that you found our rooms too highly priced compared to the other hotels you mentioned. The hotels that offer the coffee, are "limited service" hotels and do not offer the same amenities we have here at our property. For example, we have a bar, restaurant, live entertainment (Friday & Saturdays from 9pm-1am), outdoor pool, room service (for breakfast, lunch, & dinner), full gift shop, on-site laundry, fitness center, and free wifi, just to name a few. In regards to coffee in the lobby all rooms are equipped with a one touch coffee maker in each room, in which the coffee is free. All of our rooms are also newly furnished with brand new Ethan Allen Furniture in which we completed our most recent renovations in May2014. Our hotel has a lot to offer in all aspects. As we may be priced higher than these other "chain" hotels we are a special product and would want everyone to come and see all of our amenities, product, and services.

Although our hotel appears not conducive to your needs, when your travels take you back to the Danbury area, there are numerous smaller roadside chain hotels/motels which offer clean and simple rooms without the need for our amenities and outdoor recreation.

All the best,

Joe Howley
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed overnight during a long road trip. We were just looking for a clean place to rest before resuming the drive and were very happy to find the Ethan Allen Hotel. The room was beautifully decorated as one would expect, but we were also very impressed by the friendly staff at the front desk and at the buffet breakfast in the morning. There was a very large wedding party at the hotel that weekend and the staff managed to still make us feel welcome and well taken care of.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sarah_GSO_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Front Office Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Sarah,

Thank you very much for being our guest this week and for sharing a terrific review online. I am very happy to know that our team was able to make a positive impact on your stay.

We look forward to having you back with us again in the future and thank you again for staying with us!

All the best,

Joe Howley
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Let me start off with the good- My bed was very comfortable and the room was fairly nice. The staff wasn't unfriendly, but I would say the least friendly of any at the other Hudson Valley area hotels I've stayed at during this 2 week trip. The internet worked, but was only around 1M speed wise. The bar inside is pretty nice too but there was some obnoxious drunk wedding party there so I didnt stay long.

Drunk at a bar, no problem, that's where they should be, but when I went back to my room I didn't expect 40 of them right outside my window in the courtyard. The last time I looked out the window was about 1 AM. I was going to call the front and see if/when/why they didn't shuffle everyone inside to the bar or ballroom because of the close proximity to guest rooms but I noticed there was a staff member still serving them & figured it was a waste of time. Apparently the wedding parties are allowed to go on for as long as they want with zero regard for other guests who may actually have to get up and work. The irony is that apparently they are affiliated with some Dr office because there is special parking out front for those guests visiting to have a sleep study done!

Next up-housekeeping. The doors have neat sliders on the outside that say 'privacy' when the door is locked (sort of like an airplane restroom). They also have the regular 'do-not-disturb' hang tags. Neither stopped the maid from beating on my door twice and beating on all the doors around me as loud as humanly possible all morning.

Room Tip: Maybe it's fine through the week, but between the drunks outside at night and maid disrespecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lothar34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Front Office Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Johnathan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your recent stay at our beautiful hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for the constructive feedback regarding your nights stay & housekeeping as we use this to continually better our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

All the best,

Joe Howley
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

As you would expect of a hotel next to the head office of a major furniture manufacturer and retailer, the hotel is quite stylish and well designed. Also on the positive side, the front desk is staffed with exceedingly helpful and friendly people. But I would avoid staying there again for reasons that are important to me, but perhaps not to others:

1. Its a great location if you want to be next to the Ethan Allen headquarters, but otherwise it is a horrible, run down neighborhood. There is even an "adult" pornographic book store on the next block.
2. You can not walk, or run, anywhere from there - it is right on the main road without any sidewalk. I wanted to go for a run, but was advised that the best I could do safely is run around the parking lot. The hotel gym is also very basic.
3. The breakfast buffet is an OK, nothing kind of a breakfast experience.
4. The shower in my bathroom did not work. As I was trying to get through the shower and leave in a rush, I did not report it and experience how the hotel might respond to the problem, but the fact remained that I was unable to take a shower.
5. I asked the hotel to arrange a taxi for me. The taxi company, "A Cab Company" is to be avoided, they sent a cab without working air conditioning, that charged $35 (plus tip) for a trip of less than 10 miles. The hotel should have confirmed with me that this kind of over charging was acceptable to me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Front Office Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Johnathan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your recent stay at our beautiful hotel. We are located in the desirable western part of Danbury. As there are plenty of businesses, hotels, restaurants, and luxury car dealerships all along Lake View Ave (less than a mile away.) It is actually a very popular location for businesses all around as it's very hard to gain real estate in this location.

Walking and running is very limited, because of the busy street below. I wouldn't suggest running on a busy street such as Lake View Ave, because it is such a highly populated area with a lot of traffic, and blind turns. We are looking out for the safety of our guest when we suggest other running routes. Our staff here are very familiar with nice locals areas to go for a run, where there are beautiful gardens, and other trails.

We hope that if you return to the area, you change your mind about coming back to our location as we strive for excellence here. I'd like to personally invite you back to show you what a great location, and property we have. For a future reservation please contact myself as I will personally create your reservation. (203) 744-1776 EXT 230

All the best,

Joe Howley
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have stayed at the Ethan Allen Hotel in Danbury, Connecticut over twenty times in the last several years, most recently this week. For me, I want a hotel that is stylish, upgraded, comfortable, and even a bit elegant. This hotel delivers in all those areas. The upgrades that have been done this year raised the overall quality, and I like that. As I single traveler, I always choose a hotel with room service, and the room service here is superb; including real silverware, cloth napkins, and helpful staff. Plus there are fresh cookies available upon arrival in the main lobby. What I especially like is the responsiveness of many of the staff. The best part of my stay is when "Patty" is working at the front desk. She recognizes me as soon as I walk in, has my room readily available, and asks sincerely if there is anything extra I may need. When I call her with a question, she promptly finds the answer to my question and calls me right back with workable solutions. I always stay in one of their "king suites" because I like the extra sitting area. Additionally, the bed itself is luxurious and the sheets white, crisp, and clean. This is my favorite Danbury area hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms all have individual coffee and tea making apparatus. If you like cream, rather than those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmliveyourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Front Office Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

CMLiveyourlife,

Thank you very much for being our guest this week and for sharing a terrific review online. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your company!

As you mentioned our hotel is fully renovated, and is a great place to get a way too! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

All the best,

Joe Howley
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I wrote a review of this hotel on the Holiday inn Danbury by mistake. The review is actually for the Ethan Allen in Danbury on Mil Plain Rd. Patty at reception was terrific. She called us when our room was ready on our cell. Had a great room and a great time. Thank you.

Room Tip: Watch out for the shower control. .... very weird.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auctional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Front Office Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Auctional,

Thank you very much for being our guest this week and for sharing a terrific review online. I am very happy to know that our team was able to make a positive impact on your stay.

Thank you for mentioning our staff member Patty. I love reading reviews such as the one you posted. As we pride ourselves on our wonderful staff here. I’ll be sure to share this review with her and give her the proper acknowledgement she deserves. It is a pleasure having Patty on our team!

We look forward to having you back with us again in the future and thank you again for staying with us!


All the best,

Joe Howley
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Danbury hotels
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#3 of 15 in Danbury
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Danbury
Crowne Plaza Danbury
#8 of 15 in Danbury
200 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Danbury
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethan Allen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethan Allen Hotel

Address: 21 Lake Avenue Ext, I-84 at Exit 4, Danbury, CT 06811-5286
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Danbury
#2 Business Hotel in Danbury
#4 Family Hotel in Danbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Danbury
Price Range: £79 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ethan Allen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ethan Allen is fully renovated Landmark Boutique Hotel that welcomes it's guests with a unique blend of warm hospitality and the legendary comfort & style of Ethan Allen Home Interiors. With it's spacious guestrooms, Ethan Allen supreme comfort bedding, Keurig coffee makers and Gilcrest & Soames bath amenities a year round relaxing and cozy escape awaits. Experience a culinary dining delight in our award-winning restaurant, or feel free to unwind in our lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ethan Allen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethan Allen Danbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing