We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll keep going back”
Review of Kibberia

Kibberia
Ranked #14 of 277 Restaurants in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
Washingtonville, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You'll keep going back”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I started working in the area just about the time Kibberia opened. My first day on the job and I was taken to this wonderful place to eat. 3 years and counting and sometimes I go 3 times or more each week. The food is so fresh, flavorful and plentiful. Customer service is great as well. Some of my favorite foods are the lamb or chicken shawarma salads, the beef and lamb kafta pocket. The falafel is fantastic and I love it spicy too. The chicken soup is one of the best soups I have had. Spicy baba ganoush is great. Truth be told, I could name 95% of the items on their large menu and they are all my favorites. It really is so hard to choose what to have for lunch. The desserts are so delectable, I wish I wasn't watching my weight. They have really put together a very nice restaurant with top-notch food and a nice casual atmosphere. And it is right off of exit 2 on Rte. 84 in Ct. so it is easy to find. Even if you think you are not a fan of middle eastern food, you need to go here and try it out. You will be a convert.
Thanks Kibberia for some great eats!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ferrispata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    53
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good, casual dining, generous portions”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We travel the New Jersey to Boston run frequently. As such, we know there are numerous fast food places. Kibberia in Danbury is about a mile from Exit 2 of I84, so not really a fast off/on, but well worth the trip. We love the kibbe soup, and the spicy Baba Ghanoush is excellent. My wife ordered the Kibbe pocket, which is served in a pita bowl, and was very good. We found ourselves to be quite full, and brought a doggie bag to my brother in law, who is Lebanese. He pronounced it all very good, if not quite as good as his Mom's. Since we all know you can't beat mother's cooking, a fine compliment.
At kibberia you place your order at the counter, and your order is then brought to your table. The decor is simple, like a cafeteria, but clean and well kept. The staff is knowledgeable and efficient.
If you're looking for something a bit different in your routine, Kibberia fits the bill very well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great For Your Falafel Fix!!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I love going to this place for lunch. The food is excellent. I've spend some time in the middle east and this is super fresh and very authentic. It's a nice, funky, casual place for lunch. Service is reasonably quick, the prices are very fair. Definitely highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaStrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
79 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of my Favorites!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The food at Kibberia is fresh, healthy & delicious. Absolutely love their soups, lentil is my favorite! I also really enjoy theirs salads and their chicken tawook. I eat here for lunch a couple times a week and always enjoy everything I order. If in Danbury and you want a casual good place to eat, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHAWNAGCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food was ok”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had flatbreads and they were not flavorful at all. Need some salt or something. The falafel was very good and so was the humus. Otherwise it was nothing more than average middle eastern food. We will try it again and see how it goes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kibberia also viewed

 

Been to Kibberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing